Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 52 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: A parody of the open-world action genre, Retro City Rampage takes modern game mechanics and mashes them into an authentic 8-bit experience. It's one half fast paced arcade game, the other half a hilarious story mode! It's all the driving and shooting you'd expect and a whole lot more! With missions that twist pages straight from classic game experiences, you get to re-live and rewrite history in a way only a modern anti-hero could! When it comes to enemies, weapons are only the beginning! Put on your boots and jump on their heads! Toss 'em around to knock the rest down! Become truly unstoppable with awesome power-ups! Through its world, characters and missions, Retro City Rampage lampoons the entire 8-bit era from its games to the TV, movies and pop culture! Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Oct 16, 2012
    100
    The attention to detail given here is admirable, and pretty unexpected, making Retro City Rampage a real treat for retro fans.
  2. Oct 17, 2012
    90
    Even if you managed to play the entirety of Retro City Rampage without understanding a single reference, you'll still find plenty to like about the game. However, if you've grown up playing video games and watching cult movies, your enjoyment will be amplified. This is a difficult type of title to pull off, but Vblank Entertainment's debut is the perfect parody.
  3. Jan 23, 2013
    90
    Retro City Rampage pummels you with fantastic video game and movie references throughout, and has the gameplay to back up the funny.
  4. Oct 12, 2012
    80
    Retro City Rampage is still worth playing for its simple, accessible gameplay and charming, lovingly crafted world that Provinciano created. It's the perfect game for gamers, an experience carefully executed to appeal directly to them.
  5. Oct 15, 2012
    80
    Retro City Rampage is a war between my heart and my head. It encapsulates countless tropes and references deemed special or significant by Nintendo-fueled 80's youth, but when Retro City Rampage gets down to business, when it's forced to operate in medium it so openly adores, it behaves as erratically as games from decade's past.
  6. Jan 23, 2013
    70
    It's very clear that the developers really do care about the project and all the sources which are parodied and that helps most of the games faults to be forgiven. Retro City Rampage is certainly a game that fans of retro gaming should play and you should have a great time – it's just not likely you'll return after finishing it.
  7. Oct 16, 2012
    60
    It's the clunky design that, in my book, fuels Retro City Rampage's undoing. This is a game that plays better on a design document than it does in reality. It is pretty much exactly what the trailers and previews have sold it as, for better and for worse.

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Oct 15, 2012
    10
    This game is halarious. Its a joy to play. It looks like a classic retro game but also plays like a new game. It has a lot of 8 bit refrences but plays basically like the 2d grand theft auto games. Expand
  2. Oct 12, 2012
    10
    I could never get into early arcade games, but I love this the way I loved Retro Game Challenge on the DS. The reason, in both cases, is that the game provides what those games themselves could not--story, choice, context, a persistent and interesting world to explore. In the case of Retro City Rampage, this is even more true. Not having played many of the games this game references, I'm sure there are a lot of inside jokes I am missing, but it doesn't matter. The game provides fantastic controls, options, variety. I have not nostalgia for the graphics, and I worried about this at first. However, for me, the graphics provide a perfect framework for my imagination to fill in the rest. The result it hard to describe--I only know that I have chosen to play this over my console several times in the last few days. It is awesome. Expand
  3. Jan 21, 2013
    9
    Great little game for the Vita. Lots of classic 8 bit references and nudges to the 8 bit era. Enjoyed playing every minute of it so far and now i'm thinking about it I will go play a bit more Collapse
  4. Oct 15, 2012
    9
    Retro City Rampage is loads of fun. That's all I really need to say. It plays like an old school GTA top-down view clone. It controls well and has a fair amount of content, but this is probably one of the most fun I've had with a downloadable title in a while. If you love the idea of open world games along with splattering 8-bit figures around an NES designed street as much as I do, give it a try. Even with the hefty price tag, I could see no reason for you to be disappointed. Expand
  5. Nov 26, 2012
    8
    This game is great - its really a great homage to gamings past. I wish it was more engaging... its a bit repetitive but it does surprise you with its level of depth. I know that contradicts itself a bit Expand
  6. Mar 12, 2013
    8
    Retro City Rampage on the Vita is the perfect on the go openworld game. Its arcade like fashion and nutty story is easy to jump into. And making the gameworld your own is easy. This all ties in together to make Retro City Rampage stand out in the Vita library. Expand
  7. Jan 9, 2014
    6
    Acting as both a love letter to all things 80's and a parody of modern video games, "Retro City Rampage" has a unique sense of charm but I don't feel that it has the gameplay chops to back it up. The 8-bit graphics and constant references to things like Back to the Future or Sonic the hedgehog help sell a sort a sort of retro feeling to the game, at least stylistically. As far as gameplay goes it's very much a modern feeling game and you can tell that it does so intentionally. It is part parody after all.

    It's open world structure that rewards you for plowing down civilians is clearly a well made parody of the GTA series. It makes fun of the "tailing" missions open world games have become known for, and even throws in a level dedicated to parodying Ms. 'Splosion Man. It hard to not crack a smile during sections like these, or when the game is making joke/reference to some 80's/90's related trend, but a lot of the jokes fall flat and the gameplay never really impressed me.

    There were a lot of times where the game failed to get so much as a chuckle out of me. It can be fun to mindlessly run over civilians in the open world section, but the game's missions never really excited me. The content here just sort of came off as generic to me. I also have to point out an outrageous difficulty spike that occurs at the end of the game. I never really had any problem with the game until I reached the final boss which is multi-staged and just comes across as cheap and frustrating. It's not a really big deal when you consider that it is only at the very end of the game, but this outrageously difficult final boss may prevent people from actually completing the game.

    I found this to be a somewhat underwhelming experience. It does well as both a parody and throwback to the things of yesteryear, but as a game it somewhat stumbles. It never truly impressed me and left me wanting more from it. Still, if you have any love of the era this game is constantly trying to bring back fond memories of, then this game may be worth a look for you. It might not be the most impressive gameplay wise, or have the most staying power, but there's something here for those who want the nostalgia. It didn't really impress me but I can see why people like it.
    Expand

See all 10 User Reviews