Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 27 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Rocketbirds: Hardboiled Chicken builds upon the browser-based game Rocketbirds: Revolution! and expands the Rocketbirds universe with new characters, missions, puzzles, exclusive music videos, retro cut scenes and more. Set in Albatropolis, a land full of birds taken over by a totalitarianRocketbirds: Hardboiled Chicken builds upon the browser-based game Rocketbirds: Revolution! and expands the Rocketbirds universe with new characters, missions, puzzles, exclusive music videos, retro cut scenes and more. Set in Albatropolis, a land full of birds taken over by a totalitarian penguin regime, Hardboiled Chicken, the original Coq of War, must assassinate the evil penguin leader Putzki. His mission will unlock the secrets to his mysterious, hard boiled past and uncover the real enemies of Albatropolis. In single-player mode, take on the role of Hardboiled Chicken and destroy your enemies with a slew of weapons you collect and unlock in each chapter. Master fowl play in the co-op campaign as a pair of Budgie commandos on a mission to save the general's daughter. Many lives will be destroyed, countless penguins will die, and an astonishing past will be unveiled through a series of unlockable cut scenes and videos. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Mar 1, 2013
    100
    I should emphasize, however, that while these flaws exist, they're really fairly minor. They certainly didn't detract from my overall enjoyment of Rocketbirds and, I suspect, they won't hurt anyone else's enjoyment of it either. You'll forget about them pretty quickly, and you'll be left with the memory of a smart, funny inventive game long after you're done.
  2. Mar 20, 2013
    86
    A real gem for every game collection. We felt greatly entertained by its black humor, its sarcasm and the brutal comic action. The controls which are easy to pick up round out this enjoyable package which is already whetting our appetite for the second installment.
  3. Mar 17, 2013
    80
    Ratloop Asia's greatest achievement with Rocketbirds: Hardboiled Chicken is the successful combination of diverse 2D gameplay, dark story tones, atmospheric visual settings, and imaginative audio work. This delightful handheld port will surprise Vita gamers who wrongly anticipate a generic platformer or shooter.
  4. Apr 1, 2013
    75
    In the end, it feels like the externals were worked on more than the gameplay, making the game more style than substance.
  5. Feb 25, 2013
    73
    With some personality, a sense of humor and a new co-op campaign, Rocketbirds: Hardboiled Chicken presents an offer for the Playstation Vita that is hard to beat. When compared to the PlayStation 3 version, the new features are scarce and do not make a real different, but the fact that we can carry around this adventure and its fair price can very well justify its purchase.
  6. Mar 1, 2013
    70
    Rocketbirds: Hardboiled Chicken is a really interesting and funny platformer available for PS Vita, with amazing graphics and superb soundtrack. Control schema is a bit clumsy and integration with Vita’s hardware could have been better, but it’s definitely worth a try.
  7. Feb 25, 2013
    50
    What’s rather galling and confusing is the fact this is the third version of this game to exist after the PS3 and the original browser game.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Feb 28, 2013
    9
    wonderful game from start to finish, reminds me a lot of Blackthorne that came out in the 90's. tight gameplay controls, minimal touch screenwonderful game from start to finish, reminds me a lot of Blackthorne that came out in the 90's. tight gameplay controls, minimal touch screen usage (thankfully), beautifully drawn and animated graphics and a fun story really separate this game from the rest. a definite must own! Expand
  2. May 20, 2013
    8
    A good game for a very low price. I was shockingly impressed by the amazing cutscenes and music. I have yet to try the multiplayer, but theA good game for a very low price. I was shockingly impressed by the amazing cutscenes and music. I have yet to try the multiplayer, but the campaign has been top notch. I can easily recommend this to anyone who is a fan of action games on the go. Collapse
  3. Feb 15, 2013
    8
    Rocketbirds: Hardboiled Chicken is properly awesome! I'm only halfway through the campaign right now, and I'm yet to try the multiplayerRocketbirds: Hardboiled Chicken is properly awesome! I'm only halfway through the campaign right now, and I'm yet to try the multiplayer modes, but my early impressions are so overwhelmingly positive that I wanted to give those still sitting on the fence a very quick heads up: buy this game now!! I'll post more detailed impressions soon. Expand