Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 57 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 85 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Silent Hill: Book of Memories brings the Silent Hill series onto the Next Generation Portable.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 57
  2. Negative: 11 out of 57
  1. Oct 22, 2012
    82
    A much different Silent Hill game than the norm, which will infuriate some but intrigue others, myself included. Series veteran or not, every Vita owner should at least try the demo.
  2. Nov 7, 2012
    70
    Nobody could've predicted this when it was announced, but Silent Hill: Book of Memories is a dungeon crawler with some multiplayer options. No one also expected the following: as a Vita-game it is quite successful. It's lightweight enough to work on a handheld device and has just enough depth to keep players interested and have them come back for more.
  3. Dec 17, 2012
    70
    A competent, skillful attempt at a non-fantasy dungeon crawler game appears, courtesy of Wayforward. Unfortunately it's ultimately dragged down by the franchise attached to it - Silent Hill. Other than a few thematic nods and well-known enemies the franchise usage is handled sloppily and without any benefit.
  4. Oct 30, 2012
    60
    The gameplay of the new Silent Hill feels pretty good. It lacks in story and graphics though. The user-interface doesn't work like it should, and the multiplayer is a huge disappointment. Book of Memories could have been great but downright isn't.
  5. 60
    Dungeon action with online cooperation doesn't exactly fit into the Silent Hill universe but if you give it a chance it may surprise you. [Christmas 2012]
  6. Nov 27, 2012
    50
    A hack 'n slash/ action RPG Silent Hill? Yes, it's a major deviation from the survival horror genre and not a good one.
  7. Oct 29, 2012
    30
    A bad idea, poorly realised. Not only does this sully the already tarnished name of Silent Hill but it's a tediously poor dungeon crawler in its own right.

See all 57 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 28
  2. Negative: 10 out of 28
  1. Oct 17, 2012
    10
    So I picked this game up yesterday, after playing the demo I really liked it. So I started playing it and got past the demo and it is reallySo I picked this game up yesterday, after playing the demo I really liked it. So I started playing it and got past the demo and it is really awesome. at first its kinda slow but its just because its trying to teach you the basics because there are alot of different things to know. I also got a chance to play the 4 man MULTIPLAYER and that is also really smooth with no lag and also having more people helps you get through the zones faster. The voice while your playing is pretty cool to. I really have enjoyed this game so far and would reccomend it. I would give this game 9 but just because people are giving 0s which is not even fair to the game Here is my score Expand
  2. Oct 27, 2012
    10
    Actually surprised me! They tried something different and it worked, sure the horror isnt exactly there, but it still has silent hill elementsActually surprised me! They tried something different and it worked, sure the horror isnt exactly there, but it still has silent hill elements that will provide a fun experience well worth trying out! It may not be for everybody but i really enjoyed myself. Expand
  3. Oct 19, 2012
    9
    Silent Hill: Book of Memories is a welcome addition to the game library of the PS Vita and actually a good one. The game is more like aSilent Hill: Book of Memories is a welcome addition to the game library of the PS Vita and actually a good one. The game is more like a dungeon crawler in Diablo style with lots of elements of previous Silent Hill games. You will meet known Silent Hill enemies like the nurses, dogs, spiders, pyramid head, the butcher and lots more. There are different worlds which are divided in zones to explore with each having a final boss.

    The combat systems feels easy to manage and the karma systems adds some powerful extra moves. As it is more like an Action-RPG, you can level up your character to become stronger to have better chances against the monsters and enemies in the higher zones. Speaking of zones, the game has 100 zones to explore which means many hours of gameplay. And also the replay value is high as there are 6 different endings available. Additionally the game includes an online multi player mode where 4 players can explore the different zones of Silent Hill: Book of Memories.

    The controls are easy to manage and very intuitive and also the touchscreen of the PS Vita has been integrated very well.Technically the graphic look good on the OLED screen and the soundtrack reminds me a lot of former Silent Hill games, especially the title track 'Now we're free' is awesome.

    I am enjoying this game since the first day and can recommend this game to all PS Vita owners who are looking for a new gaming experience.

    If you expect something like Silent Hill 1 - 4, Homecoming or Downpour I am sure you will get disappointed and you better keep your hands off of this game, but otherwise Silent Hill: Book of Memories will offer many hours of fun and deep gameplay.
    Expand
  4. Sep 30, 2014
    7
    Ignoring the fact that its a very different game, more like Diablo than Silent Hill, Book of Memories is actually pretty fun. The controls areIgnoring the fact that its a very different game, more like Diablo than Silent Hill, Book of Memories is actually pretty fun. The controls are solid, graphics are good, sound and overall presentation is there. Honestly, download the demo like I did before purchase, and give a it a try :) Expand
  5. Mar 10, 2014
    6
    while i applaud silent hill for doing something new, this was a bit much. liked the customization (limited) idea but turning the series into awhile i applaud silent hill for doing something new, this was a bit much. liked the customization (limited) idea but turning the series into a dungeon crawler was not the way to go. the first few "zones" all ok but soon it gets pretty repetitive. story doesn't fare well either as many holes litter the plot. only pick this up if you are a huge silent hill fan and like dungeon crawlers. even then, wait for that price drop. Expand
  6. Oct 17, 2012
    2
    One user gave this game a perfect '10' and said "Ignore all the old Silent Hill fans that are Butt hurt that there (sic) game isOne user gave this game a perfect '10' and said "Ignore all the old Silent Hill fans that are Butt hurt that there (sic) game is changing"....That's nonsense. First, I call BS on anyone who would give this game a perfect score. A '5' or a '6'? Everyone is different, so maybe. But a '10'? No. He gave it a '10' to try and counterbalance all the 0s, 1s, and 2s this game will get. Second, the reason why people are calling this game garbage is because it's a bad game. Not because anyone is 'Butt hurt' over the series changing. It's a bad game. Period. No need to try and make up silly reasons for why people don't like it. Expand
  7. Oct 16, 2012
    0
    I'd advise playing the demo before buying it so you know what you're getting yourself into, because even as a mere spin off, there's not oneI'd advise playing the demo before buying it so you know what you're getting yourself into, because even as a mere spin off, there's not one thing it does right. Konami clearly don't get their own franchise if they're content with selling this garbage. I could rant, but the short version is that it's void of depth in every category, and not interesting in the slightest. Expand

See all 28 User Reviews