Sly Cooper: Thieves in Time PlayStation Vita

Sly Cooper: Thieves in Time Image
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 145 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Sly Cooper Thieves in Time continues to chronicle the adventures of the Sly Cooper gang from where Sly 3: Honor Among Thieves concluded. After completing their latest heist, Sly carries on with a case of alleged amnesia and dances off with gal pal Carmelita, leaving Bentley as the keeper ofSly Cooper Thieves in Time continues to chronicle the adventures of the Sly Cooper gang from where Sly 3: Honor Among Thieves concluded. After completing their latest heist, Sly carries on with a case of alleged amnesia and dances off with gal pal Carmelita, leaving Bentley as the keeper of the treasured Thievius Raccoonus, The Cooper family’s ancient book of master thievery. When Bentley discovers that pages of the book have begun to disappear in front of his eyes, he must round up the gang and save the Cooper Clan legacy from being destroyed forever. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Mar 1, 2013
    88
    In a Call of Duty world, Sly Cooper is 2013's first unexpected breath of fresh, universally appealing air.
  2. Apr 1, 2013
    80
    Sly's return to mainstream platforming action is a welcome one. It's a wise-cracking charm-offensive specifically designed to juxtapose the words 'madcap' and 'romp' in the same sentence.
  3. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    May 21, 2013
    80
    Basically, the same great PS3 title we reviewed a while back, but portable and with exemplary CrossPlay functionality. Being able to whip out your Vita and pick up from where you left off (by downloading a Cloud save) is an absolute godsend and the synching process is flawless. [June 2013, p80]
  4. Feb 10, 2013
    77
    With colourful visuals, a neat little story, and some great voice acting, the game is only hampered by its simplicity, a few minor camera issues, and some long load times. Sure, it doesn’t bring anything radically new to the genre, but it is a good game nonetheless.
  5. Mar 25, 2013
    75
    Sly Cooper Thieves In Time is a well made action/platform that effectively recovers the formula that belonged to the saga at the time of PS2.
  6. Mar 24, 2013
    70
    Thieves in Time resembles a mini game collection made for PlayStation 2. The rough graphics, ridiculously long loading times and at times tedious platforming moments are justified by a well told story and lovingly created mini games.
  7. Mar 26, 2013
    60
    On one hand, it’s a fun, colorful, hearty little game that employs throwback platforming and collect-a-thon elements to good effect. On the other hand, it features a jarring mishmash of gameplay styles, lacks challenge and suffers from enthusiasm-sapping load times.

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 28
  2. Negative: 1 out of 28
  1. Jan 9, 2016
    10
    This game has been an exceptional experience! It runs wonderful on the vita involving every function of play the system offers. The charactersThis game has been an exceptional experience! It runs wonderful on the vita involving every function of play the system offers. The characters and story line are both extraordinary with excellent personification. What I really enjoy about this game is that allows the player to hop on and accomplish continuous missions while following a story without consuming much of your time. The game is lengthy making it well worth my $8 lol! Nice job Sanzaru, I will be playing the rest of the series. Expand
  2. Feb 6, 2013
    10
    Easily the best game for the Vita yet; an immersive, nostalgic 3-D platformer that'll leave Sly Cooper fans and noobs engaged alike. TheEasily the best game for the Vita yet; an immersive, nostalgic 3-D platformer that'll leave Sly Cooper fans and noobs engaged alike. The graphics are gorgeous, the game play is intuitive, the script is witty, funny and not super cheesy like similar titles might be. Expand
  3. Jan 25, 2014
    9
    A great, family-friendly 3D platformer that you can take with you on the go. I've never played a game in the series before, but I instantlyA great, family-friendly 3D platformer that you can take with you on the go. I've never played a game in the series before, but I instantly loved the story and the characters. The gameplay is topnotch and features tons of variety. Repetition is barely an issue here as you are rarely doing the same thing twice. With multiple playable characters, a lengthy main story, and numerous side-content to complete, you can spend a lot of time with this game and not be bored.

    The Vita is a great way to experience this game. It's not the best way to experience the story because not all of the cutscenes feature subtitles, which can cause problems in areas where you can't have the volume up. That being said headphones correct this issue. The only other complaint I have is the occasional shoe-horning in of the Vita's tilt controls during some hacking sections. These issues don't detract from what makes this game so much fun, but they are noticeable. Overall though everything feels great on the Vita, and the cross-save function is going to be incredibly useful to those who want to take their PS3 save on the go.

    It is very impressive to see a console caliber 3D platformer on a handheld gaming system. With it's wealth of content, family-friendly nature, and excellently designed gameplay this is a game I highly recommend. This is one of those rare games that will appeal to gamers both young and old. So if you're looking for an excellent 3D platformer to take with you on the go, "Thieves in Time" is sure to please.
    Expand
  4. Feb 10, 2013
    9
    I must say this really is a game that is part of the Sly Cooper series, it appears to keep to the same style and setting in the sense theI must say this really is a game that is part of the Sly Cooper series, it appears to keep to the same style and setting in the sense the first three, I like that it actually feels like one a sly game, rather then being altered to the point where there is no resemblance to the previous games, as so many other titles have suffered. I love the game so far, it was well worth the money.

    However, It appears that the Vita version of this game is or appears to be a port from the PlayStation 3 with little alteration, this is fine in the sense of keeping the games similar, but I have found that the game can lag and slow down on the Vita, and I have encountered quite a few bugs and glitches. Although the game did just release, and I am hoping that they release an update for this game to make it run much smoother on the Vita.

    All in all I must say that this really is a great game, if you played the previous titles you will love this one, it may even be good if you start out with this game! Some may say that they find it too childish, but really what does it matter? As someone once said, "A mature adult should not be afraid of childish things."

    So, to conclude, this game really is worth your time and money, but I must take my score down to 9, I do love this game, however it needs an update to fix the issues of the game lagging from time to time, as well as other bug fixes.
    Collapse
  5. May 13, 2014
    8
    Good old sly comes back with a bang, and the vita does it justice. Thieves in Time is a very fun game that anyone can get into. If your intoGood old sly comes back with a bang, and the vita does it justice. Thieves in Time is a very fun game that anyone can get into. If your into old sly games, then you will enjoy this game. The game keeps true to the sly 2 and sly 3 formula. The missions are fun to play, the game has a good seance of humor, there are many things to collect, the characters are likable, fun boss battles, and the game play is very good. There are some problems. I can tell that they were starting to run out of ideas around the end. There is not much innovation done. This game does not have to much replay value. The only replay is collecting the collectibles. Finally the final boss was very disappointing. Luckily for Thieves in Time, the good heavily out ways the bad, and I highly recommend picking this game up. You will not regret it. Also its a sly game on the go. Whats not to like about that. Expand
  6. Apr 23, 2013
    8
    Sly Cooper has been given another solid piece to add to the already beloved franchise, but players looking for innovation will beSly Cooper has been given another solid piece to add to the already beloved franchise, but players looking for innovation will be disappointed. The strengths still lie in the platform gameplay, quirky characters and fun story. The cross buy and save features at a $40 price tag leaves no excuse for fans of the series. Expand
  7. May 13, 2014
    2
    This game's difficulty level is designed for an extremely young audience. The voices are well acted but the script is poorly written and theThis game's difficulty level is designed for an extremely young audience. The voices are well acted but the script is poorly written and the jokes fall flat. You can play all three of the main characters but playing anyone other than Sly himself is really boring. Apart from the nostalgia factor there is really no point in playing this game. Even then its unlikely to hold your interest beyond the first few missions. Expand

See all 28 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2013

    The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2013 Image
    Published: January 15, 2013
    Take a look at nearly four dozen of the coming year's most-anticipated games, from returning favorites such as BioShock Infinite and Grand Theft Auto V to new titles like The Last of Us and Watch Dogs.