Soul Sacrifice PlayStation Vita

  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Soul Sacrifice Image
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 71 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 294 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Soul Sacrifice is a brutal combat experience where every decision made will have consequential results.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 71
  2. Negative: 1 out of 71
  1. Sep 10, 2013
    90
    Soul Sacrifice is a heavy action-rpg with a great moral choice system. Even if the camera controls are poor and there are a few graphical quirks the developer Marvelous AQL delivers an awesome game with lots of replayability. If you own a PS Vita you owe yourself to play this game.
  2. Apr 30, 2013
    86
    It’s an original and moody action-RPG with fast-paced, energetic combat and layers upon layers of depth to explore.
  3. Apr 30, 2013
    85
    Soul Sacrifice is what you'd get if you smashed Phantom Dust and Monster Hunter together and added a meaningful plot, and it does what it sets out to do with aplomb.
  4. It’s a brilliantly well-structured handheld game, both offline and on, and despite the lack of a traditional hub world it never sacrifices depth for the sake of portability. Familiar ideas are wound up with fresh ones, resulting in one of the strongest games of its kind to hit the system so far.
  5. May 3, 2013
    80
    Like any great action RPG, the game is about tuning a character build, and shepherding it through increasingly difficult variations of the same things you’ve been doing all along, with friends, strangers, or an AI along for the ride. But unlike many such games, it’s got one hell of a story, insidiously barbed gameplay hooks, and the sort of infinite lifespan that makes your Vita worth the money you spent.
  6. May 3, 2013
    75
    It's not without its problems, but Soul Sacrifice's strong identity and rewarding commitment to the decision-making process are reason enough to try your hand at ridding the land of foul archfiends.
  7. May 5, 2013
    40
    Although there are some interesting ideas here and the Vita could benefit from a title like Soul Sacrifice, everything rides on how good the core game is, and to me, it just doesn't hold up.

See all 71 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 62
  2. Negative: 4 out of 62
  1. Apr 30, 2013
    10
    Absolutely blow my mind, awesome itemization, you get ways to play instead of irons to wear and only see it moving, 400+ skills to customizateAbsolutely blow my mind, awesome itemization, you get ways to play instead of irons to wear and only see it moving, 400+ skills to customizate your toon whith your own style, great longevity with the magics level up system, and a wonderful online! also the difficulty of the game is really challenging! Expand
  2. Apr 30, 2013
    10
    Ótimo jogo, vários monstros bizarros e uma jogabilidade impecável! Perfeito para quem curte Monster Hunter Like, e um coop com croos-chatÓtimo jogo, vários monstros bizarros e uma jogabilidade impecável! Perfeito para quem curte Monster Hunter Like, e um coop com croos-chat feito para as pessoas que querem longevidade no jogo. Expand
  3. Apr 30, 2013
    10
    Monster Hunter should take notes. Replace the magic with weapons and this is what monster hunter should be. When I hit X to dodge I DODGE, andMonster Hunter should take notes. Replace the magic with weapons and this is what monster hunter should be. When I hit X to dodge I DODGE, and when I heal myself it doesn't require a 45 min animation that leaves you unreasonably vulnerable. Expand
  4. Jun 19, 2013
    9
    My second favorite ps vita title for now. Love the gameplay only got a little annoyed for the same fights and repetition so i gave it a 9. ItMy second favorite ps vita title for now. Love the gameplay only got a little annoyed for the same fights and repetition so i gave it a 9. It would be a 10 if it wasn't repetitive. Apart from that it has a excellent story that will make you feel bad for the characters and for the main character too. Hours of fun are guaranteed! If you like fast paced RPG games you really have to play it and you will love it! One of the best ps vita games so far and i think it is a little under-rated but still consider it a great game with a big variety of weapons and spells and sacrifices and you will need to choose the good side or the bad side! Expand
  5. May 15, 2013
    9
    This game have a great storyline. In here death and life of the other people stay in your hand. It´s your decision. By the way, the systemThis game have a great storyline. In here death and life of the other people stay in your hand. It´s your decision. By the way, the system batlle and 400+ skills given longevity for this tittle. Is one must have in the ps vita system. Cry If you haven´t yet. Expand
  6. Apr 30, 2014
    8
    I gotta say, Soul Sacrifice is a good game. Good enough for me to make my own account on Metacritic to write this down. But now, I'll go intoI gotta say, Soul Sacrifice is a good game. Good enough for me to make my own account on Metacritic to write this down. But now, I'll go into detail:

    In SS, you play a prisoner in a bone cell. You've been imprisoned by Magusar, an insane sorcerer who imprisons beings for their souls, so he can remain immortal. However, there's a silver lining in the game: You come across a sentient book that allows you to relive memories of a late sorcerer, with quests and the like.

    Exposition aside, SS's gameplay is similar to Monster Hunter, but with more spells and fewer weapons. You have the capacity to hold 6 spells at a time, and each spell has a limited amount of uses. If you use a spell too much, it becomes locked and unusable, which can only be reversed with special droplets called Lacrima. Lacrima is obtained after quests, and finding enough lacrima wasn't a big challenge for me. Lacrima is also used to reverse permanent effects of powerful spells called rites and reviving fallen teammates.

    The world and story in SS is actually intriguing, but only just. It's easy to feel like you're in a dream, living the memories of the book. Librom, the magical book you talk to, is mildly amusing, but not hilarious.

    As an RPG, SS does well for a portable game. Character customization is good enough, but isn't even necessary to me. There's a crafting system which takes some getting used to but is fairly straightforward, and your teammates are decent, but can clash with your techniques. For every monster you defeat, you can choose to save or sacrifice its soul. Saving boosts EXP towards defense, and sacrificing boosts EXP towards attack. In boss battles, your teammates have their own reservations towards saving or sacrificing the boss depending on their moral state. If you do the opposite of what a companion wants, they can leave you and will be unusable. This can be reversed with lacrima however, so the choices don't seem too compelling.

    While having a single player experience, SS also has a multiplayer experience, but it requires an online pass, which is a huge downside. My experience with the Vita multiplayer on wi-fi is expecting latency issues already, but paying 10 dollars for a likely waste isn't something I want to do at all.

    Overall:
    +Good customization, combat and story
    +Good pick up and play
    +Diverse characters
    +Good experience system
    -Repetitive levels and quests
    -Online pass required for multiplayer
    -Occasionally annoying teammates
    -Reward system could be better
    Expand
  7. May 15, 2013
    0
    Enemies, and even your own friends will be knocking you around like a ragdoll the whole game, in a game where you have to stand still andEnemies, and even your own friends will be knocking you around like a ragdoll the whole game, in a game where you have to stand still and charge up to do pretty much anything. The locations look pretty nice but again, it's boring and void of depth. I mean that literally, every mission just spawns you into a big flat arena to fight enemies, and that's it Expand

See all 62 User Reviews