Tearaway PlayStation Vita

  • Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Nov 22, 2013
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 82 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 76 out of 82
  2. Negative: 0 out of 82
Buy On
  1. CD-Action
    Jan 10, 2014
    70
    There are two problems with Tearaway. The game is too easy and poses no challenge whatsoever and is not as pretty as one would expect (the technical aspect is fine, but the colours lack intensity). Anyway – Tearaway is worth checking out but it’s not a must-have. [01/2014, p.69]
  2. Jan 2, 2014
    70
    In many ways Tearaway is a charming, fun and unique platform game. The use of Media Molecules world of paper feels fresh and different but also comes with a fair share of frustration. And not in the way of a challenge. In all a solid platformer worth the money.
  3. Nov 20, 2013
    70
    Though Tearaway could have extended its final levels to explore creation and identity, its depth isn't paper-thin, and the originality of its presentation alone is unique enough that Vita owners should consider ripping through the game once... but no more than that, or you might give the game its walking papers.
  4. Nov 20, 2013
    70
    Just about every Vita feature is fully utilized and combined they offer a unique and engaging adventure. Unfortunately, the adventure is quite short and the replayablity isn’t there. Once you finish the game and find all the collectibles, the only choices are to start over or move onto the next game.
  5. Mar 21, 2014
    60
    Tearaway may not be the best first-party game currently available on the Vita, but it certainly is beautiful, ambitious and worth a look, if you’re willing to weather the foibles mentioned above.
  6. Nov 20, 2013
    60
    Tearaway is cheerful, clever, and colorful, but never quite attains the masterful blend of art and gameplay exhibited by developer Media Molecule's previous efforts, the LittleBigPlanet games.
User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 397 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 69 out of 76
  2. Negative: 2 out of 76
  1. Nov 22, 2013
    10
    Quite possibly, one of the best handheld games I've ever played! It's as if you're involved in the game somehow with the many features on theQuite possibly, one of the best handheld games I've ever played! It's as if you're involved in the game somehow with the many features on the Vita. A very unique creative game that even makes Nintendo games look pale compared to Tearaway. I highly recommend this! Money well spent. Kudos to media molecules Full Review »
  2. Nov 22, 2013
    10
    Got a Vita just to play this! It was so worth it. If you do own a Vita, you owe it to yourself to play this game :D Really charmingGot a Vita just to play this! It was so worth it. If you do own a Vita, you owe it to yourself to play this game :D Really charming characters, world, art style, and it's really fun. Full Review »
  3. Nov 22, 2013
    9
    INITIAL IMPRESSIONS

    Having now spent a good couple of hours in the company of this wonderfully executed lesson in innovation and story
    INITIAL IMPRESSIONS

    Having now spent a good couple of hours in the company of this wonderfully executed lesson in innovation and story telling, from those crazy-talented folks over at Media Molecule, I feel obliged to wade in with some brief impressions for my fellow (and perhaps, future) Vita owners.

    I'm delighted (and more than just a tad relieved) to confirm, that having previously digested reviews from the digital pages of esteemed gaming sites like Destructoid (10/10), Pocket Gamer (also 10), IGN (9.3) and Edge (9), their overwhelmingly positive findings are indeed entirely accurate.

    The first chapter is a little slow to get going, and to a lesser extent, so is the second. However, it is in these early sections that MM holds your hand a little, slowly but surely endowing you with the skills required to negotiate many of the wholly unique underpinnings on which Tearaway's delightfully whimsical world (a world that is inextricably linked to the real one, might I add) is built.

    Furthermore, these skills take full advantage of the Vita's entire suite of input channels (front touchscreen, rear touchpad, gyro, camera's...) making Tearaway a genuinely unique experience. An experience that is genuinely only workable on Sony's otherwise oft-maligned pocket-rocket. With this in mind, as far as I'm concerned, Tearaway is Vita's first bona fide system seller! Yep, that good.

    Like I said, having played Tearaway for just over two hours, these are only my initial impressions, so I'll be sure to pop back in the next day or two to report more. HOWEVER, in the meantime, I really must get back to this frankly wonderful game!

    Happy gaming everyone!
    Full Review »