Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Dec 30, 2013
    92
    Taking Terraria with you on-the-go puts an exciting spin on the absorbing formula, and the Vita version thankfully doesn't skimp on the goods. There's no depth sacrificed here.
  2. Jan 14, 2014
    90
    A micromanager’s dream come true. It’s the perfect representation of addictive, in-depth gaming with a simplified visage.
  3. Jan 7, 2014
    90
    Terraria is a perfect fit on the Vita. Playing this adventure on a handheld is a huge bonus to a game that was already incredibly well made.
  4. Dec 31, 2013
    90
    An impressive port that, while needing to jury rig one or two things, does a most admirable job of putting Terraria in your pocket.
  5. Dec 18, 2013
    90
    Terraria really is a joy to play, you can spend hours, upon hours doing things and seemingly get nowhere. But that works, it isn’t a stressful game, it is very relaxing and something that will become a permanent fixture in your gaming life. The possibilities are endless and the only barrier is your own imagination.
  6. Dec 17, 2013
    90
    A wonderful 2D world, an almost infinite number of possibilities, an adventure full of fun and challenges: all in a portable version on PS Vita.
  7. A perfect port of what is effectively an emergent fun generator. [March 2014, p81]
  8. Jan 22, 2014
    85
    Terraria works even better on PsVita, thanks to an excellent control scheme and the usual catchy gameplay.
  9. Jan 14, 2014
    83
    It's essentially the same, full-featured game that console and PC owners have been playing, only with the added bonus of being able to take your terraformed world with you wherever you go, in addition to being able to bring it online.
  10. Jan 14, 2014
    83
    Terraria on PS Vita is a must buy game for every owner of the Sony's handheld. This is probably the best port so far, thanks to the dual control's nature of PS Vita, finally properly used.
  11. Looking for a content-crammed explore-'em-up for your Vita? Well, dig no further. [March 2014, p.92]
  12. Jan 2, 2014
    80
    Terraria is an enjoyable, combat focused alternative to Minecraft that doesn’t ape Mojang’s game for the sake of taking advantage of consumer confusion. It has its own spirit and soul, allowing it to stand on its own two feet.
  13. Dec 30, 2013
    80
    Terraria on Vita is a joy to play and just different enough from everything else to stand out.
  14. Dec 29, 2013
    80
    If you're okay with making your own fun, and delight in recounting homespun stories, then Terraria is the game for you.
  15. Dec 19, 2013
    80
    Terraria is an original action-platformer game. It is also a survival and rpg adventure. And above all, is a great 2D sandbox game with endless gameplay options.
  16. Dec 16, 2013
    80
    PSVita proves once again that it is a perfect hardware for almost every kind of game. The mix of physical and touch controls help Terraria to feel even better, since the game itself still holds all its fun and addictivity.
  17. Dec 23, 2013
    70
    Terraria proves a snug fit on the Vita.
User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 69 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 16
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 16
  3. Negative: 1 out of 16
  1. Mar 17, 2014
    10
    I am a huge fan. I own hundreds of physical games for PS3, Xbox 360, PS Vita and 3DS. I have dozens of games via digital for all thoseI am a huge fan. I own hundreds of physical games for PS3, Xbox 360, PS Vita and 3DS. I have dozens of games via digital for all those platforms but Terraria is keeping my attention something fierce. I didn't buy into the Minecraft phenomenon but was captured by Terraria's charming 2D 8Bit graphics, crafting, building and exploring. If you haven't had a chance to play this do yourself a favor and download the demo. Full Review »
  2. Dec 18, 2013
    9
    This is a game that I have played non-stop since its release. I completed V1 of Terraria when it was initially released on PC and haveThis is a game that I have played non-stop since its release. I completed V1 of Terraria when it was initially released on PC and have Terraria on iPad as well. This is the version that I have enjoyed playing the most. If you are a fan of Terraria and want the best mobile version of the game then pick up the Vita version.

    The controls work extremely well. The rear touchpad is a nuisance and needs to have an option to be able to turn it off. I have only experienced one crash so far with the game but this may be because I never save the game and always just put the Vita to sleep. I love the fact that I can do this with Terraria. It has allowed me to have brief five minute game sessions and be able to pick up where I left off with any dropped loot still in place.

    If you haven't played Terraria before then check out the free demo. Take that one hour of gameplay which will only let you do very few things and then imagine that you have many more hours still to go. I believe in the last week I have managed to clock up a good 20 hours gameplay already.

    Love the game.
    Full Review »
  3. Dec 18, 2013
    8
    Ill try keep this short and sweet for you. The game is very fun and addicting completely worth the 15 bucks. The touch controls workIll try keep this short and sweet for you. The game is very fun and addicting completely worth the 15 bucks. The touch controls work reasonably well especially when you manage your inventory but the back touchpad feature sucks! You will know what im talking about if you get the game. But if you are even a little interested in the concept of Terraria got ahead and get this version you wont regret it. Full Review »