Terraria Image
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 111 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Terraria is a side-scrolling, action-adventure sandbox game with an emphasis on crafting and exploration set in vast and vibrant worlds.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Dec 30, 2013
    92
    Taking Terraria with you on-the-go puts an exciting spin on the absorbing formula, and the Vita version thankfully doesn't skimp on the goods. There's no depth sacrificed here.
  2. Dec 18, 2013
    90
    Terraria really is a joy to play, you can spend hours, upon hours doing things and seemingly get nowhere. But that works, it isn’t a stressful game, it is very relaxing and something that will become a permanent fixture in your gaming life. The possibilities are endless and the only barrier is your own imagination.
  3. Jan 7, 2014
    90
    Terraria is a perfect fit on the Vita. Playing this adventure on a handheld is a huge bonus to a game that was already incredibly well made.
  4. Jan 14, 2014
    83
    It's essentially the same, full-featured game that console and PC owners have been playing, only with the added bonus of being able to take your terraformed world with you wherever you go, in addition to being able to bring it online.
  5. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Feb 27, 2014
    80
    Looking for a content-crammed explore-'em-up for your Vita? Well, dig no further. [March 2014, p.92]
  6. Dec 30, 2013
    80
    Terraria on Vita is a joy to play and just different enough from everything else to stand out.
  7. Dec 23, 2013
    70
    Terraria proves a snug fit on the Vita.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 19
  2. Negative: 3 out of 19
  1. Mar 17, 2014
    10
    I am a huge fan. I own hundreds of physical games for PS3, Xbox 360, PS Vita and 3DS. I have dozens of games via digital for all thoseI am a huge fan. I own hundreds of physical games for PS3, Xbox 360, PS Vita and 3DS. I have dozens of games via digital for all those platforms but Terraria is keeping my attention something fierce. I didn't buy into the Minecraft phenomenon but was captured by Terraria's charming 2D 8Bit graphics, crafting, building and exploring. If you haven't had a chance to play this do yourself a favor and download the demo. Expand
  2. Dec 19, 2013
    10
    terraria is such a fun game i think every single gamer should own. must have game. the one thing take makes the game better is that eventerraria is such a fun game i think every single gamer should own. must have game. the one thing take makes the game better is that even though you can do what you want the game with throw random boss battles at you making it easy to move on in game Expand
  3. Dec 18, 2013
    10
    This is a game that I have played non-stop since its release. I completed V1 of Terraria when it was initially released on PC and haveThis is a game that I have played non-stop since its release. I completed V1 of Terraria when it was initially released on PC and have Terraria on iPad as well. This is the version that I have enjoyed playing the most. If you are a fan of Terraria and want the best mobile version of the game then pick up the Vita version.

    The controls work extremely well. The rear touchpad is a nuisance and needs to have an option to be able to turn it off. I have only experienced one crash so far with the game but this may be because I never save the game and always just put the Vita to sleep. I love the fact that I can do this with Terraria. It has allowed me to have brief five minute game sessions and be able to pick up where I left off with any dropped loot still in place.

    If you haven't played Terraria before then check out the free demo. Take that one hour of gameplay which will only let you do very few things and then imagine that you have many more hours still to go. I believe in the last week I have managed to clock up a good 20 hours gameplay already.

    Love the game.
    Expand
  4. Nov 7, 2014
    9
    Crafting, exploring, or fighting, whatever you choose player freedom is at the center of it all. It's up to you what you do in this world andCrafting, exploring, or fighting, whatever you choose player freedom is at the center of it all. It's up to you what you do in this world and that's what makes it so fun. Mining for new materials is a blast, and the more you find the more you can create. You can also tackle the various enemies about and hunt down some great bosses. Or you can avoid all that and just focus on shaping the environment around you and build a castle. Whatever you choose to "Terraria" is a constant source of player-created fun. Expand
  5. Dec 22, 2013
    9
    I've played the pc one for around 200 hours and I can happily say this one is great! The controls are pretty much just like the ps3's, butI've played the pc one for around 200 hours and I can happily say this one is great! The controls are pretty much just like the ps3's, but they added some touchscreen controls which are really great in menus. The fps is actually really good, you'd think it would lag in boss fights but nope! This review was just for the ps vita version, if you wanna know what the game is like go read the pc reviews. 8.5/10 which rounds to 9! It's a must have downloadable game on the vita. It's also gonna be getting a lot of updates! Get it now! Expand
  6. Dec 18, 2013
    8
    Ill try keep this short and sweet for you. The game is very fun and addicting completely worth the 15 bucks. The touch controls workIll try keep this short and sweet for you. The game is very fun and addicting completely worth the 15 bucks. The touch controls work reasonably well especially when you manage your inventory but the back touchpad feature sucks! You will know what im talking about if you get the game. But if you are even a little interested in the concept of Terraria got ahead and get this version you wont regret it. Expand
  7. Sep 25, 2015
    3
    Clever and addictive, this VITA port was outstanding.
    But since last update (may 2015), the game crashes every 10 minutes. I am not joking,
    Clever and addictive, this VITA port was outstanding.
    But since last update (may 2015), the game crashes every 10 minutes. I am not joking, every ten humpf minutes. It has been six months now and no correction has been applied despite the community anger. It is unbelievable to see how the developper '505 games' don't give a damn to this port nor the VITA players.
    Avoid this game at all cost, it is no more playable.
    Expand

See all 19 User Reviews

Trailers