Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 44 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 116 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: TOUKIDEN takes Tecmo Koei's expertise in historically themed games to an expansive fantasy world influenced by historical and traditional Japanese elements. Developed by the same studio that created the famed Dynasty Warriors series, this all-new franchise casts players in the role of a demon-fighting Slayer. Starting from the Utakata Village headquarters where they will accept quests, players will venture out to battle monstrous and deadly Oni (demons) before they destroy all of humanity. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 44
  2. Negative: 0 out of 44
  1. 90
    Toukiden is the most beautiful and playable "Monster Hunter clone" to date.
  2. Feb 10, 2014
    80
    Though it is certainly not reinventing the wheel, Omega Force succeeds in proposing us a far better action game than the recent installments of the Dynatsty Warriors series have been. Toukiden will please all of the Monster Hunter fans who only own a PS Vita.
  3. Feb 20, 2014
    80
    While it doesn’t have the depth of a Monster Hunter game, it builds a great foundation for a potential sequel and due to its accessibility, it’s well worth checking out whether you’re a fan of the genre or not.
  4. Feb 10, 2014
    70
    Despite being somewhat linear and having a shallow story, this is a really nice game for fans of Japanese action with a full fledged fighting system and amazing boss fights.
  5. Feb 25, 2014
    70
    Overall Toukiden is an interesting experience, a little repetitive but downright fun if played together.
  6. Feb 13, 2014
    70
    Toukiden is fast and furious, but it also knows how to play up a complex leveling system to keep things fresh. It isn’t perfect, but you’d be hard-pressed to find a better Monster Hunter replacement in the interim.
  7. Mar 14, 2014
    58
    I wish I could say that this is the better Monster Hunter. But it isn’t. Where Capcom gives you depth and a meaningful daily fantasy business this is merely a collection of fast paced battles against a limited number of enemy types.

See all 44 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 38
  2. Negative: 2 out of 38
  1. Feb 11, 2014
    10
    Haters will always hate. Toukiden nailed the things that the popular Monster Hunter series didn't give to Vita. The story of the Slayers is definitely one of the things that surprised me, not expecting that a monster hunting game like this would have a decent one. If you're a gamer who's into graphics then Toukiden wouldn't also disappoint you. Far surpassing the graphics of any monster hunting game in any handheld device out there, this one is the best in my opinion so far. Don't mind the people who hates this game. A large sum of the Monster Hunter community would hate this game because it's annoyingly more appealing in some terms. Giving a very low score wouldn't change how good this game is. Expand
  2. Feb 16, 2014
    10
    Toukiden is currently the greatest monster hunting game for vita. Beautiful graphics, a good story (this is what Monster Hunter series doesn't have), many monsters to slay, weapon&armor XP, and mitama system that allows many combination of play style. Lobby system for online play is neat and quick. I have played another hunting games on vita (soul sacrifice, ragnarok odyssey, etc) but this is the one that looks very similar to (and as good as) MH series. The companion AI and revive feature is a great help for some people, but for me this makes the game too easy. Overall is a great game, i know there's not much great game for vita so now you can start cleaning the dust and then charge your vita for this 60+ hours adventure. Expand
  3. Feb 11, 2014
    10
    Toukiden is a great game.If you like this kind of games,you have to buy it.It's son fun and interesting.Psvita is a good place to hunting games as:Soul Sacrifice,Ragnarok Odyssey,God Eater 2,Freedom Wars and Toukiden.
    I recommend you this game.You will have hours and hours of fun,and Toukiden has online multiplayer too,.
    Expand
  4. Feb 15, 2014
    9
    Don't automatically hate this game due to it being very similar to Monster Hunter. Out of all PS Vita games trying to replace Monster Hunter after its movement to Nintendo consoles, Toukiden should easily fill that gap. Although it doesn't have as much depth as Monster hunter but it still holds it's own by having a more refined, slower version of the hack and slash gameplay from Dynasty Warriors. Also Toukiden has an actual story that unfolds as the player progresses much like in God Eater. The graphics are also AMAZING with the Dynasty Warriors look to it.

    So go ahead and check this out. Especially those who don't live in Japan or don't know japanese and want a MH game for the vita. For those who do know japanese and/or live in japan go and get Monster Hunter: Frontier G when it comes out (or just get this anyways :P)
    Expand
  5. Feb 19, 2014
    9
    I've played every monster hunting game for Vita released in NA that I know of, and I was a huge fan of MHTri on the Wii, and I can finally say that MH has some worthy competition now. To be clear, Toukiden's only competition is currently on another platform. On the Vita, there isn't a better monster hunting game than Toukiden.

    I feel that the main criticisms that one could make about the game is that most of it is too easy. I prefer the difficulty of Tri, where the game can be difficult because you choose not to grind for better gear and therefore face tougher battles, or you could choose to grind for better gear until the battles were easier, but you probably spend more time grinding that failing and retrying boss fights. I much prefer having that choice over what happens in Toukiden, where the battles are decidedly easy until the game is almost over, and on top of that it's not difficult to keep up on gear without repeating any areas at all.

    All that means the overall experience in MH comes down to long periods of challenge ending in elation: "WHOO HOO I FINALLY BEAT THAT GUY!!" In contrast the Toukiden experience is more consistent and measured: "Well, that was pretty fun. Let's beat up something else." I personally appreciate both, but I think others could be turned off by either one. Sometimes that stretch of challenge in MH where you are grinding or can't beat a boss turns into frustration, and sometimes that measured gratification in Toukiden from beating up monsters turns into boredom.

    I'll gladly buy a Toukiden sequel on the Vita, and I hope this puts pressure on Capcom to innovate and come back to Sony.
    Expand
  6. Feb 20, 2014
    9
    Great game which you can find many features from Monster hunter and Soul Sacrifice, tough it is not an ugly copy-cat. New weapons, air fighting, soul of warriors, and great graphics make this game fantastic. Any Monster Hunter fans or haters should give this game a try. Expand
  7. Jun 17, 2014
    0
    Just a terrible Monster Hunter ripoff on the worlds worst handheld portable gaming console nothing to see here. The people who give it good reviews are just trying to support a dead console. Expand

See all 38 User Reviews