Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 44 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 117 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: TOUKIDEN takes Tecmo Koei's expertise in historically themed games to an expansive fantasy world influenced by historical and traditional Japanese elements. Developed by the same studio that created the famed Dynasty Warriors series, this all-new franchise casts players in the role of a demon-fighting Slayer. Starting from the Utakata Village headquarters where they will accept quests, players will venture out to battle monstrous and deadly Oni (demons) before they destroy all of humanity. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 44
  2. Negative: 0 out of 44
  1. 90
    Toukiden is the most beautiful and playable "Monster Hunter clone" to date.
  2. Feb 10, 2014
    80
    Though it is certainly not reinventing the wheel, Omega Force succeeds in proposing us a far better action game than the recent installments of the Dynatsty Warriors series have been. Toukiden will please all of the Monster Hunter fans who only own a PS Vita.
  3. Feb 20, 2014
    80
    While it doesn’t have the depth of a Monster Hunter game, it builds a great foundation for a potential sequel and due to its accessibility, it’s well worth checking out whether you’re a fan of the genre or not.
  4. Feb 10, 2014
    70
    Despite being somewhat linear and having a shallow story, this is a really nice game for fans of Japanese action with a full fledged fighting system and amazing boss fights.
  5. Feb 25, 2014
    70
    Overall Toukiden is an interesting experience, a little repetitive but downright fun if played together.
  6. Feb 13, 2014
    70
    Toukiden is fast and furious, but it also knows how to play up a complex leveling system to keep things fresh. It isn’t perfect, but you’d be hard-pressed to find a better Monster Hunter replacement in the interim.
  7. Mar 14, 2014
    58
    I wish I could say that this is the better Monster Hunter. But it isn’t. Where Capcom gives you depth and a meaningful daily fantasy business this is merely a collection of fast paced battles against a limited number of enemy types.

See all 44 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 38
  2. Negative: 2 out of 38
  1. Feb 11, 2014
    10
    Haters will always hate. Toukiden nailed the things that the popular Monster Hunter series didn't give to Vita. The story of the Slayers is definitely one of the things that surprised me, not expecting that a monster hunting game like this would have a decent one. If you're a gamer who's into graphics then Toukiden wouldn't also disappoint you. Far surpassing the graphics of any monster hunting game in any handheld device out there, this one is the best in my opinion so far. Don't mind the people who hates this game. A large sum of the Monster Hunter community would hate this game because it's annoyingly more appealing in some terms. Giving a very low score wouldn't change how good this game is. Expand
  2. Feb 16, 2014
    10
    this is one great game, monsters that are quite difficult to kill, characters you can really start to like and a story that is quite good, if you are a fan of Dynasty warriors or samurai warriors you will love this game Expand
  3. Feb 11, 2014
    10
    I will review this game with a grand 10. It is wonderful to see that there are still companies that put laziness aside to take full graphical quality of a modern video game device. Sure Toukiden was inspired from games like Monster Hunter, but in my opinion Tecmo Koei managed to cover a field that Capcom franchise failed to do, after all, I was getting tired of fighting and fighting monsters without a story in the background. However, I'm still a big Monster Hunter fan. Toukiden is agile, has beautiful graphics, good insights from the point of view of battles and the concept of Mitamas brought something very interesting for this kind of game. It must be a game changer for PS Vita, or at least, it should be. Expand
  4. Feb 19, 2014
    9
    Great hunter game. It actually has a story unlike monster hunter. Toukiden is really fun to play online with other people and definitely makes up for not having a Monster Hunter for the Vita. Graphics looks great and the music too. Get it if you haven't already. Expand
  5. Feb 24, 2014
    9
    I'm 30 hours into the game and I haven't finished the story and I don't know how much content this will give me, but I'm hooked with the game and I'm very happy to see it in Vita.

    It seems to me that in some departments this game have been held back by the PSP version, because the stages look good but a little bland and lack textures, specially water effects. That being said, the graphics are very good still, the armors and weapons have different and distinct designs which look very interesting while keeping a Japanese feel to them.

    The game has a story, which is not great but it's entertaining and gives interesting context to the missions in the game and make it fun and interesting. The game is better for having it.

    Combat is really good, specially when you get to equip different Mitama (they add buffs, bonuses and different abilities) to a weapon and you learn to combine types of mitamas with a weapon that makes good use of their abilities.

    I've had some problems with the online multiplayer. It's easy to get random players to do missions but when you want to play with players you know, you have to create a lobby and a friend of mine never seems to find the lobbies I create and I can't find his. It worked really well with other people I know, and I don't know what causes the issues. There was a patch for the game today but I don't know if it has anything to do with the online game.

    Overall, I recommend this game for anyone who is interested in a Monster Hunter experience on Vita. It's not the same thing but it's a lot of fun. It strips down the grinding and difficulty (in the beginning) in exchange of fast combat and steady progress of the ranks. The enemies sometimes feel repetitive (specially the small Oni) but the Big Oni provide different opportunities for strategies, weapons and Mitama testing. Good game.
    Collapse
  6. Feb 24, 2014
    9
    Toukiden far surpasses my expectations, and while it may need another iteration or two to reach the gameplay variety and depth of its Monster Hunter inspirations, it's off to a better start than any other "Hunting Party RPG" franchise thus far. The combat, character creation/customization, use of AI teammates for those wishing to play solo, and incorporation of new gameplay concepts like Mitama and Demon Eyes are all impressive advancements over its peers Monster Hunter, God Eater, Ragnarok Odyssey, and Soul Sacrifice. The graphics are among the best on Vita, and the story is more immersive and enjoyable than what you'll typically find in this sub-genre. I found myself actually caring about the NPCs and the village we were defending. There are plenty of things to do around town, from crafting weapons/armor and accepting side quests to growing a magical tree and bathing with NPCs for stat buffs. The affinity-based social system is more compelling than it probably deserves to be, and the ability to play through multiplayer missions using only AI allies is appreciated for those without Vita-wielding buddies (though online match-making is also supported). Detractors will cite some of the features of Monster Hunter Freedom Unite and 3 Ultimate that Toukiden doesn't boast - better mission variety, verticality in level design, fishing and mining mini-games, and a much-loved focus on food... But considering all the new stuff that Toukiden brings to the table, I would not be surprised if some hunting party fans come away liking this one better, especially if they're as irritated as I am about Capcom's leap to Nintendo platforms. No matter how you slice it, Toukiden is legit, and while the game already offers 80+ hours of content (about 40 for a story run, double that for all the side quests and challenges) it looks like there's plenty of DLC coming over the next few months to keep you in the fight! Expand
  7. Jun 17, 2014
    0
    Just a terrible Monster Hunter ripoff on the worlds worst handheld portable gaming console nothing to see here. The people who give it good reviews are just trying to support a dead console. Expand

See all 38 User Reviews