Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 66 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Glowing vectors, explosive particle effects and a pulse-pounding soundtrack are core elements of many modern arcade shooters - a style that Llamasoft defined with its seminal 90s tube shooter. TxK is the spiritual successor to that genre-defining work and brings you 100 levels of score-chasing gameplay married to an outstanding soundtrack that will have your head nodding as you blast your way onto the scoreboards. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. Feb 21, 2014
    98
    TxK is essential to every PS Vita library.
  2. The pounding beats and explosions of colour that used to punch you square in the brain fade into the background as time slows and TxK arrests every second of your attention the way few games ever can.
  3. 90
    There might be some sensory overload at the start, but once you settle in, everything comes naturally. It is the ideal old-school arcade shmup that should appeal to nostalgic and contemporary gamers alike.
  4. Feb 17, 2014
    88
    One of the most polished experiences of the great trajectory of Jeff Minter, a new high for the Tempest-like games that it´s enjoyable for veterans and new players.
  5. Feb 17, 2014
    83
    What a rush! The assault on your retinas has to be seen to be believed. If you liked Tempest, you certainly don’t want to miss this.
  6. Mar 3, 2014
    80
    Playstation Vita gets a new arcade game which adjusts perfectly with short gaming sessions with the handheld. At a competitive price, it will give us many hours of fun and will bring back a small piece of the past that quenches our nostalgia.
  7. 50
    I found this to be a visually interesting, dynamic game, but not an especially engaging one.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 11
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 11
  3. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Feb 13, 2014
    10
    Reluctant to harp on too long, but this is a simply phenomenal offering. Aside from the stunning graphics and very effective soundtrack, the gameplay is so smooth. At the end of the day, you're not watching a graphics demo, you're playing a game TxK just so happens to be an amazing game that happens to have superb graphics as well. When you account for the price, just buy it, simple as... Expand
  2. Feb 12, 2014
    10
    Arcade gaming at it's very best, the game simply explodes off the stunning Vita screen. Turn up the music to 200%, put on headphones and get lost in the experience. It's really hard to put into words how good this game is. At last my Vita is being used. In fact I'd buy a Vita just to play this. Expand
  3. Feb 13, 2014
    10
    Brilliant game! The soundtrack and visuals combine to create a kind of hypnotic experience. It's also extremely cheap (really surprised it's not 10 quid). Expand
  4. Feb 12, 2014
    10
    This is the game the PS Vita has been created for - smart vector graphics, thumping soundtrack. Llamasoft have taken the tunnel shooter genre to a new high, if you thought Tempest 2k or Tempest X was as good as it can get, think again. You have got to buy this game if you have ever had a love of real arcade games. Collapse
  5. Feb 13, 2014
    10
    Amazing system selling game especially on the OLED screen. A great synergy of music, fx , graphics and gameplay. Cant fault it on any level and tough as old boots later but never unfair. More please LLamasoft Expand
  6. Feb 13, 2014
    9
    Another brilliant Vita Indie game! Following on from OlliOlli released a few weeks ago. The game is great and the music goes perfectly.

    Well worth a buy if you into arcade classics and want to kill some time and believe me it fly’s when you play this game!
    Expand
  7. Mar 3, 2014
    7
    If you like old-school, arcadey shooters then you might like this, but apart from the impressive visuals and above-average soundtrack, I feel there's something missing that I can't put my finger on.

    It might be too complex for its own good. There's the fact that the laser swaps "feet" depending on which direction you're heading, an obtuse leaning mechanism, jumping, and the fact that spray-and-pray more rewarded over accuracy.

    The designs of the enemies are so simple due to their vector nature that they don't seem to have any real character or menace. An 11x8 pixel space invader sprite is infinitely more threatening than a vector bow-tie.

    This isn't a bad game. At all. It's a solid, well crafted shooter. But it's missing something, and whatever it is, I just don't get that "just one more go" feeling that I do with other games of this ilk.
    Expand

See all 11 User Reviews