Unit 13 PlayStation Vita

  • Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Mar 6, 2012

Mixed or average reviews - based on 60 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 60
  2. Negative: 0 out of 60
Buy On
  1. Mar 17, 2012
    Unit 13 is a fun "pick & play" 3rd person shooter which offers a good number of missions, modes and challenges, albeit somewhat repetitive. It looks good and plays even better but you can't help feeling Zipper Interactive could have done more.
  2. Mar 12, 2012
    Despite the awful A.I and dull locations, this game offers an enjoyable challenge. Each mission is so finely poised that pre-planning and scouting ahead is an absolute must.
  3. Mar 21, 2012
    A good game. I have to say that again. It's "good" from the standpoint of a reviewer who can't really find any major glaring flaws, although there are obvious minor issues. The caveat is that those minor issues become far more irritating when you start to get tired of a military game that's too much rinse-and-repeat with no answer for "Why the heck am I doing this?"
  4. Games Master UK
    Mar 14, 2012
    Thoroughly playable with enough variety and replay value to lure the hardcore. [Apr 2012, p.78]
  5. Feb 20, 2013
    It’s not going to set any new standards in the genre, but it’s a fine foray into the third person shooter genre and proves that this type of game can, and should, exist on the PlayStation Vita.
  6. Apr 17, 2012
    The co-operative features are silky smooth with great voice chat and not a hint of lag and the inclusion of Daily Challenges keeps the content fresh and constantly evolving. It may not be perfect, but goddamn it's a hell of a lot of fun.
  7. Apr 15, 2012
    If you glance at Unit 13, you will see quite a boring game with repetitive missions. If you get more into it and try harder missions, your adrenalin levels will make the game entertaining for a long time. However, this type of game is not for everyone.
  8. Apr 2, 2012
    A tactical shooter that lacks in identity and presentation. But it makes up for its shortcomings with a smart use of score multipliers and missions that will make you come back for more.
  9. Mar 21, 2012
    SOCOM or MAG fans will feel at home and should seriously consider knowing the first step in the future of portable shooters.
  10. Mar 21, 2012
    Although Unit 13 has one foot deeply rooted in the past, the challenging missions and online connectivity will you keep you coming back.
  11. Mar 16, 2012
    Unit 13 showcases the strengths of the PlayStation Vita fairly well, with the quality of its core gameplay complemented by the accessibility of its mission design. Some of the objectives let the format down, but for the most part the game is perfectly suited to its parent platform.
  12. Mar 13, 2012
    When all is said and done, Unit 13 fills a void but not completely. It proves that shooters can be done well on a mobile device, and it proves that Zipper is the third-person shooter crutch that Sony can lean on whenever it needs a title to show other developers that it can be done.
  13. Mar 13, 2012
    The first look at Unit 13 might have been daunting, but now I don´t want to miss the game on my memory card. The elegance that's missing in the presentation can be found in the puristic, unpretentious flow of the game's design.
  14. Mar 12, 2012
    Unit 13 for the PS Vita is an interesting game that unfortunately doesn't try to move out of the safe zone. Games like this have been around for quite some time and if the developer's fine tuned the gameplay, graphics and more importantly, added a story, Unit 13 would have been a far superior title. However with the absence of a story, it does target the portable market as you can easily play a mission here and there without being drawn into the story. It's a little dated but it's a good attempt!
  15. Mar 7, 2012
    Unit 13 is a fairly good game, designed specifically for online co-op.
  16. Mar 7, 2012
    Unit 13 is not ashamed of what it is, and as long as you are good with that, you will enjoy the game. It is a collection of missions perfectly suited for a portable machine with no real reason behind them. The controls are elegant, and the ways you can tackle the missions are abundant.
  17. Mar 7, 2012
    Infiltrating enemy territory and tactically eliminating evildoers is tense and enjoyable in Unit 13.
  18. Mar 6, 2012
    This isn't SOCOM Vita. The storytelling is abysmal and the online is underdeveloped, but Unit 13 still manages to be a solid military shooter with an arcade edge.
  19. Mar 6, 2012
    In years to come, Unit 13 will likely not be remembered by a great many people, but for right now, it's a good indicator of what the future of console-equivalent experiences will feel like on Sony's newest portable. The future's looking promising.
  20. Apr 10, 2012
    Unit 13 is a great little shooter for playing "on the go". Don't be fooled by the look, this isn't nearly as technical or tactical as it looks. Zipper Interactive's swan song is a purely "arcade" experience from beginning to end where your one and only goal it taking out the bad guys with quickness and finesse.
  21. Play UK
    Mar 28, 2012
    Competent with some interesting features, but just isn't enough fun - doesn't offer enough of interest. [Issue#216, p.85]
  22. Mar 6, 2012
    Zipper has shooter mechanics down after years of making SOCOM games, but Unit 13's missions lack personality and the guard A.I. is downright awful at times. If you're dying to shoot some guys on your Vita, it may scratch that itch. Just don't expect anything you haven't seen ad nauseum.
  23. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Apr 11, 2012
    The problem is the level design in the game is absurdly old hat. While there are a handful of mission types, like Direct Action, Covert, and High Value Target, the levels they take place in and the related objectives are painfully bland. "Move to this point and activate this switch. Now go down the stairs and activate this other switch." Blah, blah, blah… [April 2012, p73]
  24. Mar 26, 2012
    In Unit 13, there's no confrontation. There's no challenge. There's pointless bloodshed, but it doesn't ask the player why they did it, why they wanted it; it just assumes that's what gamers want and moves on to the next setpiece.
  25. Mar 20, 2012
    A constant repetition of the environments and many shallow missions keep Zipper's latest from becoming the first great shooter for PS Vita.
  26. Mar 17, 2012
    Unit 13 has its shining moments, but there's an odd inconsistency to Zipper's execution. There are A.I. issues and, thanks to the lack of story, an air of meaninglessness to the proceedings, though the actual shooting is well-executed and fun.
  27. Mar 15, 2012
    Certain key aspects of the game don't feel like they've had enough time spent on them, so the result is a game that is on the right tracks but more of a taster of things to come than something Vita owners should celebrate.
  28. Mar 12, 2012
    Unit 13 has no real competitor on PS Vita, and that's why you may want to give it a try. Even if it lacks a real personality and real good ideas, it does the job with great application and some success. The result: nice gameplay, excellent controls, average graphics... all that in many missions that can finally takes a lot of fun to play. Do not expect anything huge, but at least the headshots series you need to wait until a real good shooter appears on the next-generation portable.
  29. 60
    Complete lack of story and odd AI keeps Unit 13 from being a memorable experience.
  30. 60
    Competent but personality-free third person shooter that's another good demonstration of the Vita's ability, but an instantly forgettable playing experience.
  31. Mar 6, 2012
    Zipper Interactive should be commended for its efforts to inspire replay value, but not necessarily for its level of imagination.
  32. Feb 17, 2012
    Yes, it is indeed a proper, grown-up third-person shooter. But not, alas, a particularly good one.
  33. games(TM)
    Mar 24, 2012
    We won't be playing Unit 13 repeatedly. [Issue#120, p.98]
User Score

Mixed or average reviews- based on 162 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 55
  2. Negative: 3 out of 55
  1. Mar 6, 2012
    I purchased this game at the midnight launch of mass effect 3. I have to say I was skeptical at first not being a fan of mag or socom nor anyI purchased this game at the midnight launch of mass effect 3. I have to say I was skeptical at first not being a fan of mag or socom nor any tactical shooter but my skeptism soon turned to a sigh of relief. The game looks, feels, and plays really solid. Being I just got it and I'm only a fourth the way through my review is based on what I've played and not on the entire game. But I've played the multiplayer and the single missions and I have to say I'm hooked so hooked I made this account just to write a review because the early reviews are knocking way lower than what it really is. I'm a tough critic.. A tough critic that don't like tactical shooters and I am saying it is an excellent gam. Especially for new vita owners who want more of a shooter and less platform or kid games. Voice acting:7.1 Missions 8.9 graphics: 8.7 gameplay: 9.1. Replay value :10- it's so high cause they always send you new missions, you can level up,play with a friend. Overall 9.1 Full Review »
  2. Mar 8, 2012
    Awesome. Zipper and Sony are on the money with this title and hardware for hardcore gamers. Great controls, huge variety of game play andAwesome. Zipper and Sony are on the money with this title and hardware for hardcore gamers. Great controls, huge variety of game play and endless re-playability. This game is difficult, as all games of this type should be. Anyone who complains this game is too difficult should go back to playing angry birds on their iphone. It's great to see in 2012 Sony and Zipper still making awesome titles with a great depth in game play for hardcore gamers, and not just churning out rubbish for kiddies who just want everything easy. Sony all the way! Full Review »
  3. Mar 6, 2012
    Wow, and awesome title, the gameplay of Unit 13 is fantastic, the graphics, the story, the sound, all is amazing, this is a great VITA title,Wow, and awesome title, the gameplay of Unit 13 is fantastic, the graphics, the story, the sound, all is amazing, this is a great VITA title, and I never wait that. Full Review »