• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Mar 6, 2012
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 60 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 60
  2. Negative: 0 out of 60
  1. Mar 16, 2012
    77
    The presentation is definitely not the strong point, but Unit 13 offers well designed infiltration missions and a very entertaining coop mode.
  2. Apr 17, 2012
    70
    The co-operative features are silky smooth with great voice chat and not a hint of lag and the inclusion of Daily Challenges keeps the content fresh and constantly evolving. It may not be perfect, but goddamn it's a hell of a lot of fun.
  3. 76
    Unit 13 is perhaps the first competent cooperative shooter we've seen on a handheld device, but its repetitive environments and awkward cover mechanics keep it from reaching its full potential.
  4. Mar 19, 2012
    80
    Zipper Interactive has taken their experience with the PSP and cranked up their flair to produce an excellent hand held shooter. If you are a Vita owner and you love action games then Unit 13 is a must have. With great mechanics and a functioning online co-op there is a lot of fun and many hours to spend with this great title. I couldn't put the game down and I expect to keep revisiting it for a while.
  5. Mar 6, 2012
    70
    In years to come, Unit 13 will likely not be remembered by a great many people, but for right now, it's a good indicator of what the future of console-equivalent experiences will feel like on Sony's newest portable. The future's looking promising.
  6. Mar 6, 2012
    60
    Zipper Interactive should be commended for its efforts to inspire replay value, but not necessarily for its level of imagination.
  7. Mar 6, 2012
    80
    Look once at Unit 13 and you'll probably write it off as a non-entity. Look twice, and you'll see a game where some really smart ideas are lurking just beneath the surface.
  8. Mar 13, 2012
    70
    The first look at Unit 13 might have been daunting, but now I donĀ“t want to miss the game on my memory card. The elegance that's missing in the presentation can be found in the puristic, unpretentious flow of the game's design.
  9. Mar 6, 2012
    80
    An enjoyable and intersting SOCOM spin-off that offers a good amount of content and replay value. Perfect for mobile playing.
  10. Mar 21, 2012
    70
    SOCOM or MAG fans will feel at home and should seriously consider knowing the first step in the future of portable shooters.
  11. Feb 15, 2012
    80
    Unit 13 has great controls, lots of variety and content that may outlast many other shooters on the market - no matter what platform you're playing on. Not bad for a game that is released during the Vita launch window.
  12. Feb 17, 2012
    75
    An interesting Shooter, offering a solid amount of missions and a good replay value. Perfect for Pick-Up and Play, is spoiled by some issues regarding enemy IA and cover system.
  13. Mar 6, 2012
    80
    It may not be a full showcase of what your new handheld can do, but Zipper did a commendable job of creating a bite-sized modern warfare scenario for you to play with. Not must-own material for everyone, but definitely worth the time if you've been waiting for a Vita game with a strong focus on virtual military combat.
  14. Mar 26, 2012
    83
    This is my first retail game for my new Vita and I'm pretty happy with both the game and the handheld. The twin sticks are going to allow gamers to play our favorite action and FPS games in a way that was never possible on previous mobile platforms. Unit 13 is a great first effort for the genre and I can't wait to see what's next.
  15. Mar 6, 2012
    65
    Zipper has shooter mechanics down after years of making SOCOM games, but Unit 13's missions lack personality and the guard A.I. is downright awful at times. If you're dying to shoot some guys on your Vita, it may scratch that itch. Just don't expect anything you haven't seen ad nauseum.
  16. Mar 13, 2012
    70
    When all is said and done, Unit 13 fills a void but not completely. It proves that shooters can be done well on a mobile device, and it proves that Zipper is the third-person shooter crutch that Sony can lean on whenever it needs a title to show other developers that it can be done.
  17. Mar 12, 2012
    60
    Unit 13 has no real competitor on PS Vita, and that's why you may want to give it a try. Even if it lacks a real personality and real good ideas, it does the job with great application and some success. The result: nice gameplay, excellent controls, average graphics... all that in many missions that can finally takes a lot of fun to play. Do not expect anything huge, but at least the headshots series you need to wait until a real good shooter appears on the next-generation portable.
  18. Mar 20, 2012
    60
    A constant repetition of the environments and many shallow missions keep Zipper's latest from becoming the first great shooter for PS Vita.
  19. Mar 26, 2012
    60
    In Unit 13, there's no confrontation. There's no challenge. There's pointless bloodshed, but it doesn't ask the player why they did it, why they wanted it; it just assumes that's what gamers want and moves on to the next setpiece.
  20. Apr 8, 2012
    80
    On the outside, Unit 13 looks like an ordinary actiongame, but looks can be deceiving. The game has a few cool ideas, can be quite diverse and has a lot of content. The short missions are also perfect for when you're on the road. So it'll be a while before we'll get bored with Unit 13.
  21. 80
    Unit 13 takes the tactical shooter genre and serves it up in a way that can be enjoyed either as a snack or as the main course, whether you're playing alone or with a friend.
  22. 60
    Complete lack of story and odd AI keeps Unit 13 from being a memorable experience.
  23. Mar 14, 2012
    71
    Thoroughly playable with enough variety and replay value to lure the hardcore. [Apr 2012, p.78]
  24. Mar 24, 2012
    50
    We won't be playing Unit 13 repeatedly. [Issue#120, p.98]
  25. Apr 15, 2012
    70
    If you glance at Unit 13, you will see quite a boring game with repetitive missions. If you get more into it and try harder missions, your adrenalin levels will make the game entertaining for a long time. However, this type of game is not for everyone.
  26. Mar 12, 2012
    72
    Despite the awful A.I and dull locations, this game offers an enjoyable challenge. Each mission is so finely poised that pre-planning and scouting ahead is an absolute must.
  27. Mar 7, 2012
    70
    Infiltrating enemy territory and tactically eliminating evildoers is tense and enjoyable in Unit 13.
  28. Mar 6, 2012
    80
    There's a real attention to quality and portability that Zipper has put into Unit 13. From gameplay that combines the Vita's new touchscreen tech with the tight controls and solid gameplay of the best games in the SOCOM series to missions time-designed around commuting gamers and airport dwellers alike.
  29. Apr 3, 2012
    75
    Unit 13 is a solid final game for the company and is a unique experience as compared to the rest of the existing PS Vita library. It should more than satisfy most long-time fans of the SOCOM series as well as those who are fans of tactical military shooters.
  30. Apr 10, 2012
    67
    Unit 13 is a great little shooter for playing "on the go". Don't be fooled by the look, this isn't nearly as technical or tactical as it looks. Zipper Interactive's swan song is a purely "arcade" experience from beginning to end where your one and only goal it taking out the bad guys with quickness and finesse.
User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 149 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 52
  2. Negative: 2 out of 52
  1. Mar 6, 2012
    9
    I purchased this game at the midnight launch of mass effect 3. I have to say I was skeptical at first not being a fan of mag or socom nor any tactical shooter but my skeptism soon turned to a sigh of relief. The game looks, feels, and plays really solid. Being I just got it and I'm only a fourth the way through my review is based on what I've played and not on the entire game. But I've played the multiplayer and the single missions and I have to say I'm hooked so hooked I made this account just to write a review because the early reviews are knocking way lower than what it really is. I'm a tough critic.. A tough critic that don't like tactical shooters and I am saying it is an excellent gam. Especially for new vita owners who want more of a shooter and less platform or kid games. Voice acting:7.1 Missions 8.9 graphics: 8.7 gameplay: 9.1. Replay value :10- it's so high cause they always send you new missions, you can level up,play with a friend. Overall 9.1 Full Review »
  2. Mar 8, 2012
    10
    Awesome. Zipper and Sony are on the money with this title and hardware for hardcore gamers. Great controls, huge variety of game play and endless re-playability. This game is difficult, as all games of this type should be. Anyone who complains this game is too difficult should go back to playing angry birds on their iphone. It's great to see in 2012 Sony and Zipper still making awesome titles with a great depth in game play for hardcore gamers, and not just churning out rubbish for kiddies who just want everything easy. Sony all the way! Full Review »
  3. Mar 6, 2012
    10
    Wow, and awesome title, the gameplay of Unit 13 is fantastic, the graphics, the story, the sound, all is amazing, this is a great VITA title, and I never wait that. Full Review »