• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Dragon Ball Z: Ultimate Battle 22 Image
Metascore
25

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 34 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Japanese blockbuster is here! An international smash hit, this vintage Dragon Ball Z® fighter features 22 famed DBZ® warriors for you to recreate epic, one-on-one Dragon Ball Z® battles. Easy to play but tough to master, this long-awaited classic offers matchups from the Buu™, Frieza® and Android Sagas. Experience the DBZ® game that has thrilled fans all over the world! Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 9
  2. Negative: 7 out of 9
  1. Outdated graphics, an unfriendly (but ultimately bearable) control scheme and a shockingly bad (i.e. incomplete) localization make Ultimate Battle 22 the lesser alternative to “Budokai."
  2. The control is stiff and imprecise; and the number of gameplay modes is pathetic. [June 2003, p.105]
  3. I have seen NES games that look better than this game.
  4. It's one of the worst-looking titles ever released on the PS1. [June 2003, p.107]
  5. The graphics are a mess, the special moves are unresponsive, the animation is less fluid than a flip book, and the combat lacks strategic incentive. [June 2003, p.114]
  6. 16
    About as simplistic a fighting game as you can get, with round after round of extremely bland, strategy-free brawling. [June 2003, p.47]
  7. A really, really terrible game, and it always has been. In fact, it's so bad that a longer review would only give the game more validation, which it simply does not deserve.

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 21
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 21
  3. Negative: 11 out of 21
  1. SonGoku
    Nov 20, 2003
    10
    Damn this game rocks!!! are you people nuts?
  2. EthenB.
    Jun 30, 2004
    10
    This game rocks the combos are the best especially gogetas combo.
  3. TrunksM.
    Aug 14, 2005
    10
    This game totally rocks.Its the best game i ever played.If you don't like it BITE ME...
  4. Jul 10, 2011
    3
    Not a cool fighter, is very unfulfilling in every way, the awkward control are a mess. The idiot character movement feel stupid. Not even fan of the series will love this. Expand
  5. PaulO.
    Aug 8, 2004
    2
    Only for serious DBZ freaks... Street Fighter 2 on the SNES played and looked better than this. Not to mention... The fighting in that game requred about ten times as much strategy as this one does. Once again, you'd really better like Dragon Ball Z if you're going to play this. Expand
  6. David
    Oct 4, 2006
    1
    As I sat down and played this game that a good friend of mine graciously lent to me for a weekend, it made me think; Why am I sitting here playing this when there is a perfectly good rope in the garage that I can hang myself with. Expand
  7. [Anonymous]
    Jun 3, 2003
    0
    Graphics = Sucky Gameplay = Sucky Strategy = Sucky Overall = Ungodly Terrible Hint: Don't rent, buy or even try this terrible, outdated, ugly game!! Expand

See all 21 User Reviews