Final Fantasy IX PlayStation
Final Fantasy IX Image
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 445 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The last Final Fantasy for the PlayStation, Final Fantasy IX returns to the pure fantasy roots that spawned the series. This latest installment features highly detailed characters, vehicles, and environments, and breathtaking cinema-graphics. The addition of brand new features such as the story-enhancing Active Time Event system and the return of minigames that grant additional gameplay make Final Fantasy IX not only a memorable gaming experience, but also a significant step forward in the series. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. 100
    It does, at times, go beyond expectations to give gamers a true masterpiece.
  2. Pushing the humble PSone to its absolute limits, Square have done the impossible and actually improved on FFVIII's visuals.
  3. The crystals return to the series, along with a four-member party, blue magic, and black mages. [Feb 2003, p.97]
  4. But for the feel of nostalgia bolstered by the still-capable technology of the PlayStation, this game can make you feel actual delight--something that's tough to do in these cynical times.
  5. 92
    Final Fantasy could go on forever re-creating its particular spin on the traditional heroic quest, and it would be a success every single time, but I can't help feeling as if something that features this kind of majestic visual craftsmanship ought to host a story built with equal care.
  6. A masterpiece of an adventure game. For anyone not to fall in love with it would truly amaze me. Everything is set just right and you are drawn into the story right from the very offset.
  7. Doesn't offer very much that is new. The game is more than a little formulaic at times, using rehashed bits from other Final Fantasy games and not taking them any further.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 9 out of 129
  1. DragonKnightofFinalFantasy
    Feb 15, 2004
    10
    Kings thieves and kingdoms stuff like that was what FF7 and 8 were missing which makes a pretty big difference in my book it has a good battle system great story my only problem is Zidane (main character) and Kuja (main evil dude) look like girls.Buy it NOW. Expand
  2. RaxsahW
    Jan 20, 2010
    10
    The most underrated Final Fantasy to have ever been made. I admit, the attention to character art during normal gameplay isn't the best (better than FF7 though) but the backdrops and sceneries are stunning. The storyline is captivating, surprising you with unexpected plot twists that intertwine with each other flawlessly. Each character also has his/her own story which leads you to a deeper understanding of them and how they have come to be where they are during the game. A masterpiece that was unfortunately released too late as by this time, the PS2 had already been in the market for a good year or so I believe, which diverted everyone's attention from the game. To anyone thinking of trying the game out, I can almost guarantee you won't be disappointed Expand
  3. Jul 4, 2013
    10
    The best game ever made after starcraft 2 this game to this day still effects me like no other game can, i have been searching for a game to equal this and after so many years still cant find anything.... this game is a real gem one in a million i just wish there where more games made like this one Expand
  4. Oct 14, 2011
    10
    The biggest mistake I ever made was waiting 11 years to play this game. It has everything you could want in an RPG. Mini games, a lengthy story, lots of beautiful cutscenes. The pre-rendered graphics are beautiful and make the game look like an interactive piece of art. The 3D graphics are comparable to Final Fantasy VIII, but the overworld looks terrible. Even the overworld in Final Fantasy VII looked good. This isn't really a problem, since the game doesn't force you to travel long distances in the overworld. I immediately fell in love with the characters. The pacing is excellent, and well into the second disc the game will continually be switching your parties for coinciding stories. It's very fun to see how they connect. I heard this game was easy, but I found it pretty challenging. I guess it's easy only if you spend hours leveling up before story events. One of my favorite things is tetra master in this game. It's a card minigame you can play with many different npcs. Minigames are always a welcome addition to an RPG, as they break the monotony of just killing. 4 discs shows how long this game is. It's great fun. Expand
  5. dk
    Jul 10, 2008
    10
    This is what Final Fantasy is meant to be. Instead of taking on a semi-realistic tone like ffvii and ffviii, it went back to Final Fantasy's original roots. It balanced everything out; it had a great story and great graphics, and it had a gameplay system that kept characters from becoming overpowered too easily. It also had a great soundtrack! This is easily one of my favorite games of all time, and definitely my favorite Final Fantasy of all time. Expand
  6. TweetyT.
    Mar 22, 2006
    9
    Very interesting RPG game, perfect story, but lacks creativity in battles and minigames (compared to FF VII) and is not that grafically special for the year it was released in. Expand
  7. MorganF
    Mar 10, 2009
    0
    Boring, boring, boring. The plot is so shallow that makes you doubt your intelligence, the gameplay makes you want to cut your hands ang the graphics sucs. It is the most overrated game ever. I want my spended hours back! Expand

See all 129 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Data Tracker: How Does "Final Fantasy XIII" Compare?

    Data Tracker: How Does
    Published: March 9, 2010
    The newest installment in the 23-year-old Final Fantasy franchise arrives in stores this week. How does it compare to past titles in the series?