Final Fantasy Origins PlayStation

Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
Buy On
  1. Game Informer
    93
    The sound is excellent and the music consists of lovely tunes typical of the series. [Apr 2003, p.85]
  2. This compilation’s been given enough bells and whistles (unlockable art gallery, redesigned interface, prettier graphics, remastered soundtracks, CG intermissions, etc.) to appeal to a whole new generation of gamers weaned on the series’ trademarked formula of turn-based battles and high-quality (for their time) production values.
  3. If you can get pass the obvious dated graphics then you will be in for a serious treat.
  4. 90
    This one-disc set is literally overflowing with a high-quality history lesson that not only provides well over 40 hours of simplistic but addicting gameplay, but a true look back at the origins of the world's most popular RPG franchise.
  5. Unlike the later games, Final Fantasy II showcases the most involved learning and experience system of the series - all weapons, shields, and spells have some associated skill level in using them.
  6. Final Fantasy and FFII has something that many games nowadays either lack or feature poorly: a well-developed, creative and engaging plot. If you’re into RPG’s in any way, get to the store and get a copy of Final Fantasy Origins. You’ll have over a hundred hours of play in your hands, and you won’t regret a single minute of it.
  7. GMR Magazine
    80
    For those who are just curious, it might not be worth your time, but with teh Amano art gallery, an Easy mode for "FFI," and other improvements, the old school will be pleased. [Mar 2003, p.65]
  8. Origins provides you with two mammoth-sized RPGs in the form of Final Fantasy I and II. Both offer fantastic stories, and anyone familiar with the later games in the series will immediately be immersed.
  9. The gameplay is still as enjoyable as it was 15 years ago, maybe even more so.
  10. Play Magazine
    80
    Play "Final Fantasy I" as a blast from the past, but play "Final Fantasy II" simply because it's a fantastic old-school RPG. [May 2003, p.67]
  11. 80
    Anthologies can be a sketchy business, but Final Fantasy Origins delivers the goods and shows that, even now, the current crop of high-gloss, tech tour-de-force games have ancestors that can and should be honored.
  12. Cheat Code Central Platinum
    80
    FF Origins would not stand a chance today if it were a new release but it proves that good games don't always need major production values.
  13. netjak
    75
    Play this to understand where Final Fantasy, which has done so much for gaming in general, has come from. Play this to appreciate how good things were even back then, even if they aren't really the same. But if you want what you had before, save your cash. Time and gaming has moved on - even if I haven't fully.
  14. GameNow
    75
    From a collector's vantage point, this disk is indispensible. [Apr 2003, p.46]
  15. A no-brainer for anyone that enjoys RPGS.

Awards & Rankings

#1 Most Discussed PS1 Game of 2003
User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 63 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. Aug 3, 2016
    10
    Origins is one of the best of the series probably the 4th and one of the best PS1 games ever! Probably the 10th best Playstation 1 games yet.Origins is one of the best of the series probably the 4th and one of the best PS1 games ever! Probably the 10th best Playstation 1 games yet. So this game is amazing. Full Review »
  2. Jan 4, 2015
    7
    Playing Final Fantasy I again felt like I was getting to play a great piece of history. Really enjoyed it after having not been up to thePlaying Final Fantasy I again felt like I was getting to play a great piece of history. Really enjoyed it after having not been up to the challenge when I was a wee little one.
    Final Fantasy II on the other hand, I couldn't get into it at all. Something about the graphics where just so completely ass ugly to me.
    A must have for Final Fantasy fans, especially if you love the 2D games.
    Full Review »
  3. NickW.
    Aug 2, 2004
    10
    This game is excellent (or more correct, These GAMES.) I go to many places on the internet and read how everybody doesnt like to play either This game is excellent (or more correct, These GAMES.) I go to many places on the internet and read how everybody doesnt like to play either one of these becuase of their outdated graphics. My news to you guys: GET OVER IT! The graphics for this game were incredible back when it was created (1990 I think, not sure though.) The Sound quality is excellent and so are the cinematics. The "Collections" Feature also provides for a better and more challenging game experience. Full Review »