Final Fantasy VIII PlayStation

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 633 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 36 out of 633
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 23, 2015
    0
    Please. Please somebody explain to me why is this game considered as a "legendary game" if it is so boring and linear. Nowadays there are even better gameboy rpgs than this one! You dont have so much choice in what to do and when to do it or where to go. You always use the same weapons and the same attacks. I just finish the disc one by the way. So painful, boring and unnecesarily long.
  2. dz9
    May 29, 2012
    2
    From reading my reviews, I am a huge Final Fantasy Fanboy in general. FYI my least favorite final fantasies are 2, 8, and 13. This game is a little hard to review because I could imagine this game would've been ground breaking for its time. But looking at it objectively, I have to believe that it gets mixed in with the greatness which is 6,7,9, 10, that it fools people into thinking itFrom reading my reviews, I am a huge Final Fantasy Fanboy in general. FYI my least favorite final fantasies are 2, 8, and 13. This game is a little hard to review because I could imagine this game would've been ground breaking for its time. But looking at it objectively, I have to believe that it gets mixed in with the greatness which is 6,7,9, 10, that it fools people into thinking it is good. First, what does this game have going for it?? Well not much... it has an iconic hero in Squall and it had great graphics and presentation for a PS title. That's about it. In this title, Combat is repetitive and to maximize its capability you literally have to spend hours on nearly every random encounter due to the redundant "draw" system. Besides this, its the classical final fantasy gameplay for all its good and bad. The story, starts off pretty strong, but once you get past the first disc, the game appears to have a fetish for plot holes and plot progression that is just down right silly and dumb even for a JRPG title. Like I said, Squall is a very iconic character.. but besides him, not only are the other characters bland, with the exception of Seifer, they are all annoying and despicable. The style in which you equip weapons is no where to be found and the way you "junction," almost eliminates all desire to even use magic. Side content outside of synthesizing for better weapons is useless and doesn't even reward you for doing them. For one, there is no armor in the game and all the weapon upgrades are down by monsters dropping rare items, so the best you can hope for is a magazine which most likely doesn't even do anything. In the End: This game is a downright mess, some of the gameplay makes you want to like it for the nostalgia, but the plot makes no sense, all the characters are forgettable and unlikable (outside of Squall and Seifer), adventuring is pointless, and equipment is either no where to be found or is counter intuitive. Horrible game, but despite this, if you are a hardcore final fantasy fan, it is worth a quick play through, others might want to stay away completely. Expand
  3. Mar 14, 2015
    3
    This is truly the most overrated Final Fantasy game in existence. The characters and story are all fairly uninteresting and you spend most of the game wishing one of the other characters was the protagonist. The controls are fussy and the world feels more futuristic than fantastical. While it will always have that segment of the FF population that thinks it is the best thing since slicedThis is truly the most overrated Final Fantasy game in existence. The characters and story are all fairly uninteresting and you spend most of the game wishing one of the other characters was the protagonist. The controls are fussy and the world feels more futuristic than fantastical. While it will always have that segment of the FF population that thinks it is the best thing since sliced bread, I'd rather play Final Fantasy I (which was mediocre even for its time). Expand
  4. Sep 11, 2014
    0
    how is this rated so highly it befuddles me its the worst Console or handheld FF game by Far lets get one thing right i like powering up in RPGs like most players do and this robs me of that [ it punishes you for leveling up] that that bad RPG /

    i Have play game with odd Leveling systems but this as one of the worst and the magic system is the worst in
    how is this rated so highly it befuddles me its the worst Console or handheld FF game by Far lets get one thing right i like powering up in RPGs like most players do and this robs me of that [ it punishes you for leveling up] that that bad RPG /

    i Have play game with odd Leveling systems but this as one of the worst and the magic system is the worst in any rps i have ever played since you cannot use you powerful magic i do not like party based RPG that disallow mages in you Party im sorry that is a bad mark on the game

    this has the worst Side quest in FF history Triple Triad Just Hateful
    Expand
  5. Jul 19, 2014
    4
    this game is a deception of the great name of Final Fantasy. First, the game is the most boring of all final fantasy, boring character, boring story who takes you forever to start. During the fighting, all you do is draw, draw draw draw draw to retrieve the magic enemies so there no more magic bar. improving the character system is one of the worst I've ever seen. I do not recommend thisthis game is a deception of the great name of Final Fantasy. First, the game is the most boring of all final fantasy, boring character, boring story who takes you forever to start. During the fighting, all you do is draw, draw draw draw draw to retrieve the magic enemies so there no more magic bar. improving the character system is one of the worst I've ever seen. I do not recommend this game to anyone, take FFVII instead which is much more fun with its system of materia. In short, Final Fantasy VII >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>Final Fantasy VIII and you can even add an exponential. Expand
  6. AlessioP.
    Oct 6, 2009
    2
    This game sucks. No, this is not trolling-this game REALLY sucks. The combat system is annoying and unnecessary complex and the story is full, i really mean it, full of plot holes. Basically, and dont worry you are not losing anything learning it now, its the tipical evil dude which, for no reason but being evil (truly-no motivation) want to fuck up everything. The heroes final plan? Let This game sucks. No, this is not trolling-this game REALLY sucks. The combat system is annoying and unnecessary complex and the story is full, i really mean it, full of plot holes. Basically, and dont worry you are not losing anything learning it now, its the tipical evil dude which, for no reason but being evil (truly-no motivation) want to fuck up everything. The heroes final plan? Let her do it and destroy everything. Oh, man.... Bu, the most valuable part of this game (beside the graphics-top notch for a ps1) is being the inspiration for the spoony' reviews of it. Go watch a couple of it-1000x times better than this crappy game Expand
  7. Mar 16, 2014
    0
    This game is just awful. Final Fantasy 7 may be a pretty bad game, but it's Ocarina of time compared to this one.Sucks that I hate this one more than FF13. Where 7 had potential and blew it, this one had no potential at all and is just a piece of crap.
  8. Feb 15, 2015
    0
    The worst FF in PS1 generation.

    The story revolves around an old-fashioned fairy tale, with poor character development and mediocre plot. The world is small with limited places for plot only, even smaller than the one in FF7. All the mechanics in this game are working against the tradition of RPG games, which makes avoiding most battles in game as a wise decision, here are some
    The worst FF in PS1 generation.

    The story revolves around an old-fashioned fairy tale, with poor character development and mediocre plot. The world is small with limited places for plot only, even smaller than the one in FF7.

    All the mechanics in this game are working against the tradition of RPG games, which makes avoiding most battles in game as a wise decision, here are some examples:

    - leveling up is useless since enemies will grow at a stronger pace than your characters
    - magic is only for grinding and storage purpose for stat boost, but not for use
    - no equipment but only weapon, which is also useless, since the stat boost from weapons are minor for most of characters
    - mini game oriented, to make your character stronger, you are better off to play more the mini games for more cards
    - junction shifting and rebinding GF all the time, GF are not mainly for summoning in combat, its primary purpose is for stat boost or the card game related stuff as well
    - Characters are all the same except for their special move, some even need QTEs all the time during combat
    Expand
  9. StephanieR.
    Apr 22, 2008
    0
    One word.. Boring!! Stopped at Disc 2.

Awards & Rankings

#1 Most Discussed PS1 Game of 1999
#3 Most Shared PS1 Game of 1999
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 24
  2. Negative: 1 out of 24
  1. GMR Magazine
    90
    Things were more "real" this time around. [Feb 2003, p.97]
  2. Unfortunately while the game is graphically superior to FFVII, in terms of setting, story and controls it lags way behind.
  3. Spanning four discs, this is a massive RPG. You can try and skate through it in 50 hours but can easily spend over a 100 hours playing if you decide to take on all of the side games, collect all of the Cards and experience all there is to experience from this game.