• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Inuyasha: A Feudal Fairy Tale Image
Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 5 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 70 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Based on the comic by the great manga artist, Rumiko Takahashi, Bandai is proud to present INUYASHA for the PlayStation® game console! Battle your way through the thrilling world of INUYASHA and unlock new characters for hours of pulse-pounding fighting action! Go head-to-head against a friend, or team up in tag-team and versus modes! In this fight for fun, you'll always come out the winner! Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. InuYasha may not be able to compete with the big boys of the fighting genre, but fans of quirky anime games or those looking for a budget fighter won't be disappointed.
  2. Packs enough personality and otaku-friendly sights/sounds to compensate somewhat for its mindless, button-mashing gameplay.
  3. 75
    A standard 2D fighting game - not as deep or involved as your typical Capcom fighter - but it's still fun to play. [May 2003, p.45]
  4. Should prove surprisingly playable for fans of the show... Unfortunately, InuYasha's actual fighting engine is rather mediocre, not to mention unbalanced, so hardcore fighting buffs will probably want to steer clear. [May 2003, p.97]
  5. A bland-looking, simplistic fighting game. Inuyasha's button-mash gameplay feels stiff and dry, so even Versus matches aren't likely to hold your interest for long. [May 2003, p.136]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 63
  2. Negative: 2 out of 63
  1. [Anonymous]
    Jun 20, 2003
    10
    IT ROCKS!!!!
  2. Ally.D
    Jul 17, 2005
    10
    Im like the biggest i INUYASHAfan in my town and i no this as fact and i totlly love INUYASHA its like my faverite show ever in the holeintiyer world and i like want every thing of inuyasha in english. Expand
  3. Amber
    Sep 28, 2003
    10
    InuYasha Rules.
  4. Jimjimmy
    Apr 15, 2004
    10
    GREAT GAME!! I just started it and I can already tell it's a great. Plus...InuYasha is like...god...duh. But seriously there arnt that many games that are like this any more. This is the great old-school style InuYasha game for the PS1. You Herd Me!! Expand
  5. CluadiaG.
    Nov 15, 2004
    10
    This game is so cool, yet I still think the series and the comics are loads of fun to watch and read, but the game is rated A and 10 because I just love the graphics and the fun in this game! Collapse
  6. BoogerSnot
    Apr 26, 2004
    9
    Well I'm a big fan of the show and manga (manga means Japanese comics.) So I absolutly had to try out the game! I have to be a critic here so bear with me other Inu fans. The graphics were unclear and the game wasn't near long enough and the mini games were hard and sort of pathetic (Inu smashing his beautiful Tetsaiga on a rock! Come on people!) It also would have helped if they would have dubbed it. (Even though I'm glad to hear the origional Japanese voices.) Then the fighing was just smash any buttons and you'd attack. Not for people used to pressing 10 buttons in 2 seconds and liking it. (But who doesn't like being a lazy butt?) You can also get trapped in the cornor by the computer kicking your butt or a mercilious friend beating the living crap out of you. Also non-fans of the show who just picked up the game for the heck of it probably won't understand what the whole "Inuyasha will you die with me" part. Yes that would freak me out too. Now for the good points! The game kept right to the anime and manga, they used the voices that were from the show in Japan, there are lots of pictures, little music clips, and in Dream Fairytale Mode you can make practically anyone be on the same team! (For fans that means Sesshomaru and Inuyasha vs. Naraku and Shippo!) Then you can practicly attack with any button as I've said before which is Fun! Now I've probably bored you all which is amusing for me and well...boring for you. I give this game a 9 out of 10. Expand
  7. Sueme
    Dec 7, 2003
    2
    Game sucked very badly. I am really tired of these game makers making inuyasha suck.....get a good freaking game!

See all 63 User Reviews