Metal Gear Solid PlayStation
  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
  • Also On: PC
Metal Gear Solid Image
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.4

Universal acclaim- based on 616 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: You are Snake, a government agent on a mission to regain control of a secret nuclear weapons base from terrorist hands. Lightly armed and facing an army of foes, Snake must avoid firefights in order to survive. If Snake can locate them he can utilize advanced hardware, ranging from silencedYou are Snake, a government agent on a mission to regain control of a secret nuclear weapons base from terrorist hands. Lightly armed and facing an army of foes, Snake must avoid firefights in order to survive. If Snake can locate them he can utilize advanced hardware, ranging from silenced pistols to ground-to-air missiles. Enemies react to sight and sound - so stay quiet and stay in the shadows. State-of-the-art graphics: textures, transparencies, models and explosions. Taut, gripping story with multiple endings - a truly cinematic experience. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Adding to the story is some of the best voice acting to ever come to a videogame. The entire cast did an absolutely top-notch performance.
  2. This game is full of surprises and you never know what is going to happen, and that is a very good thing.
  3. A cinematic classic. [Feb 2003, p.97]
  4. A Solid story, inventive gameplay mechanisms, both third and first person views, a slew of spy equipment, awesome weapons, unique emotional plot and stealth make MGS one of PlayStation's greatest games ever.
  5. To accompany the breathtaking graphics is a soundtrack of pure extravagance, and it does wonders to heighten the action and suspense, we can tell you.
  6. Its diminished length and excessive no-interactive plot hold it back from truly reaching the highest plateau. Still, this is a must have for any PSX library and a ton of fun.
  7. While it is playable, and actually pretty fun a lot of the time, it has some serious, nearly game ruining flaws that, for me, made it a complete disappointment.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Mixed: 0 out of 130
  2. Negative: 0 out of 130
  1. Lee
    Jul 8, 2006
    10
    This game was made so beautifully.. The plot was brilliant; it kept me guessing, the stealth was awesome, the weapons were wicked, the love This game was made so beautifully.. The plot was brilliant; it kept me guessing, the stealth was awesome, the weapons were wicked, the love story was very well done (not mushy or anything,) and the music was fantastic. [***SPOILERS***] The music usually got me in the mood when i played the game; for example, when your in that factory place and sniper wolfe shoots the hell out of meryl, and the music starts up, it just gets to you.. The music just got me all depressed, and got me in the situation that snake was .. Its hard to explain but all i'm saying is, this game is my favourite and always will be. Expand
  2. MorganM.
    Oct 10, 2003
    10
    I loved the game and could not put the controller down for a second.
  3. Apr 24, 2011
    10
    To put it simply, I can't think of a better game. Even with Xbox 360 and Playstation 3 graphics nowadays, I would still prefer to sit down andTo put it simply, I can't think of a better game. Even with Xbox 360 and Playstation 3 graphics nowadays, I would still prefer to sit down and play this ground-breaking game. The graphics may be terrible but it is understood that this was released in 1998. However, the story alone makes up for the graphics. The immersive storyline of the mission at hand is disrupted by heartbreak, danger and deceit and captures the player immediately. This game will continue to overshadow the rest in the series, simply becuase of the fact that this game is phenomenal. Collapse
  4. KyuuD.
    Jun 7, 2008
    10
    Comment? I can't describe how grrreat this game is. the best playstation game ever?? heheh it's actually the best game of all time Comment? I can't describe how grrreat this game is. the best playstation game ever?? heheh it's actually the best game of all time !!! only Final Fantasy X could stand stand near it. Expand
  5. Sep 13, 2014
    10
    There is nothing new to say about this game that you don't already know. But almost 20 years later you can see how much it affected and raisedThere is nothing new to say about this game that you don't already know. But almost 20 years later you can see how much it affected and raised the standards for both the game industry and the movies. Expand
  6. Jun 6, 2013
    10
    Stealth Action Redefined. Although not untrue this statement barely scratches the surface. This is one of the earliest and most importantStealth Action Redefined. Although not untrue this statement barely scratches the surface. This is one of the earliest and most important games to prove that video games can tell real meaningful stories. The gameplay is fun, unique, tight, and pulse pounding but the story shines more than anything. When you play this game you really feel like you're the main character Solid Snake, you feel like you're sneaking around enemies and learning more about the mission, and you learn to not always believe what you're told. It's a game that feels real, the story feels plausible despite how unlikely it is, it's a piece of fantasy set in the real world. The graphics may not hold out, but the soundtrack, gameplay, story and characters make up for it Expand
  7. Jan 6, 2014
    7
    I played through this game for the first time a few days ago, I had to catch up with the story, as I bought the Metal Gear HD Collection forI played through this game for the first time a few days ago, I had to catch up with the story, as I bought the Metal Gear HD Collection for Vita.
    The first time you play this game, there is this like "aura" thing that only the good games have. You know you are playing a good game, and you wanna see more. The fact that you're pretty much thrown out in the game without knowing much about the commands is pretty exciting too, and you'll die several times in the first area, without frustration. Yet.
    The first let's say two hours of the game are really cool. You're learning how to go with the horrible commands and it's actually pretty satisfying to be stealthy with such bad controls, the music is very nice, the scenario a priori classic but efficient so far... And then comes the first punch in the throat.
    After two hours of great rythm, the game tells you to go through the whole map again to pick an item in one of the very first rooms. Utch, cringe. And a big one. But still, you do it, because hey, the game was really good so far and you wanna see what's next. Once you did that, it's all cool 'cause you can finally get back to the game and its story... Nope, just kidding Like an hour after the first trip, you gotta do it again, but this time, you explored even more of the map, so it takes even longer. And now, the is launched.
    The terrible sequences, made worse by the bad commands, keep going and going. Fights in elevators, keep-runnin'-and-shootin' in stairs sequence, not even-fun-to-beat bosses, re-used sequences,... You thought you were in for an Infiltration game How cute, it's just a shooter bro. A shooter with bad camera angles, outdated commands and overall very, very tedious gameplay.
    To try to keep it as short as possible, I would say that Metal Gear Solid is not a bad game, but is not the masterpiece some people would like it to be because of nostalgia and how stupid they were when they first played it back in the 90's. The scenario is great and so is the story behind all characters, and that's pretty much it. That's what keeps you going through all the tediousness of the rest of the game, 'cause boy is it tedious.
    I couldn't bring myself to score this game a 6/10, 'cause they say it's a classic, and the story was pretty damn good, so I'll give it a 7/10, +1 because it's an old game.
    You can try to go through Metal Gear Solid for two reasons one is nostalgia, second is to be able to understand everything that's going on in the sequels. But if you're just willing to play good old games because you like good old games, I would say there are way more games that deserves your attention. Everything that comes from the PS1 in 2013 feels not as good as it did in the 90's, in other words outdated.
    Expand

See all 130 User Reviews