Metal Gear Solid PlayStation
  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
  • Also On: PC
Metal Gear Solid Image
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.4

Universal acclaim- based on 526 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: You are Snake, a government agent on a mission to regain control of a secret nuclear weapons base from terrorist hands. Lightly armed and facing an army of foes, Snake must avoid firefights in order to survive. If Snake can locate them he can utilize advanced hardware, ranging from silenced pistols to ground-to-air missiles. Enemies react to sight and sound - so stay quiet and stay in the shadows. State-of-the-art graphics: textures, transparencies, models and explosions. Taut, gripping story with multiple endings - a truly cinematic experience. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Adding to the story is some of the best voice acting to ever come to a videogame. The entire cast did an absolutely top-notch performance.
  2. This game is full of surprises and you never know what is going to happen, and that is a very good thing.
  3. A cinematic classic. [Feb 2003, p.97]
  4. A Solid story, inventive gameplay mechanisms, both third and first person views, a slew of spy equipment, awesome weapons, unique emotional plot and stealth make MGS one of PlayStation's greatest games ever.
  5. To accompany the breathtaking graphics is a soundtrack of pure extravagance, and it does wonders to heighten the action and suspense, we can tell you.
  6. Its diminished length and excessive no-interactive plot hold it back from truly reaching the highest plateau. Still, this is a must have for any PSX library and a ton of fun.
  7. While it is playable, and actually pretty fun a lot of the time, it has some serious, nearly game ruining flaws that, for me, made it a complete disappointment.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Mixed: 0 out of 121
  2. Negative: 0 out of 121
  1. Sep 8, 2013
    10
    La perfeccion existe? si, es este juego no podes hacerte llamar gamer si no jugaste este seƱor juego, los q dicen q los graficos no son buenos no tienen idea de nada, era play 1 man los personajes la historia de pelicula, simplemente excelente Expand
  2. Jul 24, 2011
    10
    A brilliant game and continuing story of the metal gear series as players once again take control of Solid Snake as he battles a new enemy but with links to his past. New characters will show up as well as some old enemies and old allies as Solid Snake is forced to fight for more then himself he must find a reason to fight. The Game play is satisfactory for the system and gives players a lot of fun Expand
  3. Apr 24, 2011
    10
    To put it simply, I can't think of a better game. Even with Xbox 360 and Playstation 3 graphics nowadays, I would still prefer to sit down and play this ground-breaking game. The graphics may be terrible but it is understood that this was released in 1998. However, the story alone makes up for the graphics. The immersive storyline of the mission at hand is disrupted by heartbreak, danger and deceit and captures the player immediately. This game will continue to overshadow the rest in the series, simply becuase of the fact that this game is phenomenal. Collapse
  4. Dec 10, 2013
    10
    A profound classic that started a legacy. To this very day it doesn't cease to impress me and is one of few games I have witnessed to aged with excellence. A game you should at least get the chance to experience, because it may change how you see games today. Expand
  5. Jul 10, 2013
    10
    Usually when I revisit old games, it disappoints me and I realize that many old games just don't age well. Metal Gear Solid, on the other hand, is still masterful. This game hasn't aged a bit. Playing it today is just as fun as it was over 10 years ago. Everything about this game is damn near perfect: the story, graphics (well, by PS standards), the music, and the gameplay. It's a cinematic masterpiece and one of the greatest stealth games ever made. Expand
  6. Dec 13, 2011
    10
    There literally wasn't any or still isn't any video game like this game, it mastered the stealth genre like no other, one of the best video games on the Play Station or on any video game system, a Masterpiece. Expand
  7. Jul 10, 2013
    7
    The Good:Solid Snake,Otacon,Grey fox,ocelot,raven,liquid snake,Story,Gameplay.
    the bad:both ending,find a new path blablabla,meryl,graphics


    For me Both ending is crap and useless solid snake was not solid snake anymore find a new path and bblablablabla,Solid snake laughing is creepy lol,and its don't even connect to mgs2 story, If somebody gonna remake this game its need another new ending for this game.
    Expand

See all 121 User Reviews