Metal Gear Solid PlayStation
  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
  • Also On: PC
Metal Gear Solid Image
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.4

Universal acclaim- based on 662 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: You are Snake, a government agent on a mission to regain control of a secret nuclear weapons base from terrorist hands. Lightly armed and facing an army of foes, Snake must avoid firefights in order to survive. If Snake can locate them he can utilize advanced hardware, ranging from silencedYou are Snake, a government agent on a mission to regain control of a secret nuclear weapons base from terrorist hands. Lightly armed and facing an army of foes, Snake must avoid firefights in order to survive. If Snake can locate them he can utilize advanced hardware, ranging from silenced pistols to ground-to-air missiles. Enemies react to sight and sound - so stay quiet and stay in the shadows. State-of-the-art graphics: textures, transparencies, models and explosions. Taut, gripping story with multiple endings - a truly cinematic experience. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Adding to the story is some of the best voice acting to ever come to a videogame. The entire cast did an absolutely top-notch performance.
  2. This game is full of surprises and you never know what is going to happen, and that is a very good thing.
  3. A cinematic classic. [Feb 2003, p.97]
  4. A Solid story, inventive gameplay mechanisms, both third and first person views, a slew of spy equipment, awesome weapons, unique emotional plot and stealth make MGS one of PlayStation's greatest games ever.
  5. To accompany the breathtaking graphics is a soundtrack of pure extravagance, and it does wonders to heighten the action and suspense, we can tell you.
  6. Its diminished length and excessive no-interactive plot hold it back from truly reaching the highest plateau. Still, this is a must have for any PSX library and a ton of fun.
  7. While it is playable, and actually pretty fun a lot of the time, it has some serious, nearly game ruining flaws that, for me, made it a complete disappointment.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 0 out of 135
  1. David
    Oct 4, 2006
    10
    This game still amazes me, nearly 10 years later. Its a travesty that Tony Hawkes 2 beat it.
  2. JamesR.
    Nov 21, 2003
    10
    A great game!!!! The story line is fantastic. The only downside is the graphics.
  3. Apr 24, 2011
    10
    To put it simply, I can't think of a better game. Even with Xbox 360 and Playstation 3 graphics nowadays, I would still prefer to sit down andTo put it simply, I can't think of a better game. Even with Xbox 360 and Playstation 3 graphics nowadays, I would still prefer to sit down and play this ground-breaking game. The graphics may be terrible but it is understood that this was released in 1998. However, the story alone makes up for the graphics. The immersive storyline of the mission at hand is disrupted by heartbreak, danger and deceit and captures the player immediately. This game will continue to overshadow the rest in the series, simply becuase of the fact that this game is phenomenal. Collapse
  4. ClemetW
    Sep 22, 2008
    10
    This was the ultimate game when it came out for PS1. It was far ahead in graphics and story-telling, and set new standards for the stealth This was the ultimate game when it came out for PS1. It was far ahead in graphics and story-telling, and set new standards for the stealth genre. One of the best games ever released. Expand
  5. Apr 1, 2015
    10
    One of the greatest games of all time. It’s an absolutely must-have. If you have never played, buy it now and start playing as there is noOne of the greatest games of all time. It’s an absolutely must-have. If you have never played, buy it now and start playing as there is no tomorrow!!! Expand
  6. Jul 10, 2013
    10
    Usually when I revisit old games, it disappoints me and I realize that many old games just don't age well. Metal Gear Solid, on the otherUsually when I revisit old games, it disappoints me and I realize that many old games just don't age well. Metal Gear Solid, on the other hand, is still masterful. This game hasn't aged a bit. Playing it today is just as fun as it was over 10 years ago. Everything about this game is damn near perfect: the story, graphics (well, by PS standards), the music, and the gameplay. It's a cinematic masterpiece and one of the greatest stealth games ever made. Expand
  7. Jul 10, 2013
    7
    The Good:Solid Snake,Otacon,Grey fox,ocelot,raven,liquid snake,Story,Gameplay.
    the bad:both ending,find a new path blablabla,meryl,graphics
    The Good:Solid Snake,Otacon,Grey fox,ocelot,raven,liquid snake,Story,Gameplay.
    the bad:both ending,find a new path blablabla,meryl,graphics

    For me Both ending is crap and useless solid snake was not solid snake anymore find a new path and bblablablabla,Solid snake laughing is creepy lol,and its don't even connect to mgs2 story, If somebody gonna remake this game its need another new ending for this game.
    Expand

See all 135 User Reviews