Resident Evil 2 PlayStation
  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
  • Also On: PC
Resident Evil 2 Image
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 275 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Ready or not, the terror of Resident Evil 2 is here. In chapter one, the case of the disastrous T-virus outbreak--a mutagenic toxin designed for biological weapons--was eventually closed but the experiments were far from over. Control the destiny of Leon Kennedy or Claire Redfield as theirReady or not, the terror of Resident Evil 2 is here. In chapter one, the case of the disastrous T-virus outbreak--a mutagenic toxin designed for biological weapons--was eventually closed but the experiments were far from over. Control the destiny of Leon Kennedy or Claire Redfield as their nightmare begins when a biotech terror runs rampant in Raccoon City. Relentless zombies and hideous monsters are all out for a taste of your blood. If the suspense doesn't kill you, something else will. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Better graphics, imroved story, and the same basic look-out-for-the-zombies gameplay. [Nov 2001, p.51]
  2. The sequel elevates what was so great about the first one to a complete new level of terror.
  3. One of the most clever, crowd-pleasing, tense, dramatic, beautiful and playable games ever conceived.
  4. Now, I hear what you're saying: "This Zombie is chewing on my foot, it deserves to be shot." But that's just the response that society has conditioned you to have. So even though this is a great game with good graphics, terrific sound, riveting action, and puzzles that will keep you entertained for hours... As a favor to our Zombie friends, do not buy this game.
  5. Zombies running amok in Raccoon City; more B-movie voice acting running amok on your speakers. Enough to fill two disks this time! [Feb 2003, p.97]
  6. 90
    For newcomers to the series, there's never been a better time to get scared.
  7. More an interactive movie than a game, RE2 looks pretty but lacks challenge.

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 45
  2. Negative: 1 out of 45
  1. ChrisM
    Jan 9, 2010
    10
    Jay D.... You gave this game a zero. Seriously. A zero. People like you who should've been born with no hands so they can't get Jay D.... You gave this game a zero. Seriously. A zero. People like you who should've been born with no hands so they can't get access to a computer. The least you could do is give information as to WHY you feel this game deserves a 0. But no. You just say "the original is still the best" and slap a 0 on it. While I really think this game deserves a solid 9, I'm giving it a 10 because every little bit helps to make up for your stupidity. Expand
  2. Nov 16, 2013
    10
    i remember the first day i played this 15 years ago. i remember those exact words, (we finally beat it!) only 5 years old when i first beati remember the first day i played this 15 years ago. i remember those exact words, (we finally beat it!) only 5 years old when i first beat re2 and 3. resident evil series will always be on my game list, even when ps5 and 6 come out. people gona play Cod Bo 3 and 4 while im playing games not for entertainment, but also to reminisce to. I will never forget who Capcom is. Expand
  3. ReyesA
    May 5, 2009
    10
    I keep hearing what people say about these Resident Evil games so I bought the full collection (1 through 3) for PS1. I HATED part 1. This I keep hearing what people say about these Resident Evil games so I bought the full collection (1 through 3) for PS1. I HATED part 1. This one however, doesn't frustrate me or make me mad. It's easy to play and still provides those jumpy scares. I love having people watch me play it because I get to see them jump when a zombie comes crashing through a window or ceiling. Anyway, if you buy this game, get the dual shock greatest hits version because it has arrange mode (which if you play on rookie you can have a machine gun with infinite ammo right from the start). I still have part 3 yet to play and I am definitely looking forward to it. Expand
  4. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    This was the first survival horror I played and it will always hold a place in my heart. The game overall was an instrument of perfectionThis was the first survival horror I played and it will always hold a place in my heart. The game overall was an instrument of perfection (well of course there's the cliche voice acting) and having multiple scenarios on multiple discs made this a thunderous experience. Most notable for introducing Leon and Claire, as well as the infamous Licker. Expand
  5. PiranhaG.
    Sep 13, 2003
    9
    Another resident evil good game. But the puzzles are so dumb and easy...
  6. Feb 3, 2015
    9
    RE 2 I am here to pay my respects. Best game on the RE franchise for PS1 and second of all time.
    Better than RE1 because of the improved
    RE 2 I am here to pay my respects. Best game on the RE franchise for PS1 and second of all time.
    Better than RE1 because of the improved graphics and story and better than RE3 because of the character/story development (just a little bit behind of RE4).
    This game was looking amazing back on that time considering the PS1 capacity.
    This is a must have/play game, it's a classic for survival horror genre.
    Expand
  7. JayD.
    Jul 11, 2006
    0
    The original is still the best...

See all 45 User Reviews