Resident Evil 2 PlayStation
  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
  • Also On: PC
Resident Evil 2 Image
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.3

Universal acclaim- based on 174 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Ready or not, the terror of Resident Evil 2 is here. In chapter one, the case of the disastrous T-virus outbreak--a mutagenic toxin designed for biological weapons--was eventually closed but the experiments were far from over. Control the destiny of Leon Kennedy or Claire Redfield as their nightmare begins when a biotech terror runs rampant in Raccoon City. Relentless zombies and hideous monsters are all out for a taste of your blood. If the suspense doesn't kill you, something else will. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Better graphics, imroved story, and the same basic look-out-for-the-zombies gameplay. [Nov 2001, p.51]
  2. The sequel elevates what was so great about the first one to a complete new level of terror.
  3. One of the most clever, crowd-pleasing, tense, dramatic, beautiful and playable games ever conceived.
  4. Now, I hear what you're saying: "This Zombie is chewing on my foot, it deserves to be shot." But that's just the response that society has conditioned you to have. So even though this is a great game with good graphics, terrific sound, riveting action, and puzzles that will keep you entertained for hours... As a favor to our Zombie friends, do not buy this game.
  5. Zombies running amok in Raccoon City; more B-movie voice acting running amok on your speakers. Enough to fill two disks this time! [Feb 2003, p.97]
  6. 90
    For newcomers to the series, there's never been a better time to get scared.
  7. More an interactive movie than a game, RE2 looks pretty but lacks challenge.

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 36
  2. Negative: 1 out of 36
  1. ChrisM
    Jan 9, 2010
    10
    Jay D.... You gave this game a zero. Seriously. A zero. People like you who should've been born with no hands so they can't get access to a computer. The least you could do is give information as to WHY you feel this game deserves a 0. But no. You just say "the original is still the best" and slap a 0 on it. While I really think this game deserves a solid 9, I'm giving it a 10 because every little bit helps to make up for your stupidity. Expand
  2. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    This was the first survival horror I played and it will always hold a place in my heart. The game overall was an instrument of perfection (well of course there's the cliche voice acting) and having multiple scenarios on multiple discs made this a thunderous experience. Most notable for introducing Leon and Claire, as well as the infamous Licker. Expand
  3. ReyesA
    May 5, 2009
    10
    I keep hearing what people say about these Resident Evil games so I bought the full collection (1 through 3) for PS1. I HATED part 1. This one however, doesn't frustrate me or make me mad. It's easy to play and still provides those jumpy scares. I love having people watch me play it because I get to see them jump when a zombie comes crashing through a window or ceiling. Anyway, if you buy this game, get the dual shock greatest hits version because it has arrange mode (which if you play on rookie you can have a machine gun with infinite ammo right from the start). I still have part 3 yet to play and I am definitely looking forward to it. Expand
  4. Jun 28, 2012
    10
    The Mansion seemed like the best setting, but RE2s police department isn't that far behind. RE2 improves over the original ALOT. The plot, characters, and scenarios are more engaging. Gameplay tweaks fix a lot of the originals issues. Controls feel a tad more precise. The game seems to have a perfect balance of action, puzzles, and backtracking. RE2 is up there with REmake and RE4. It's certainly the best Resident Evil on PSone and one of the best in the entire series. Expand
  5. NaomiM.
    Nov 4, 2004
    9
    Besides Zero, which was the best one, and 3 , which is my 2nd favorite,2 is definitely great, the puzzles are fun and the characters are good. I really do like this game. I love all the RE games! Except OB. Expand
  6. Mar 22, 2013
    9
    Absolutely fantastic. It improved on the original in every way and tried many new ideas that have yet to be topped. One of the few games that has successfully made me jump and kept me on the edge of my seat. Great story, fantastic characters, brilliant visuals and highly memorable gameplay. Overall: While it is my favorite of the series, it still isn't the best and does suffer from some minor flaws, but at least the voice acting has improved to tolerable levels. Expand
  7. JayD.
    Jul 11, 2006
    0
    The original is still the best...

See all 36 User Reviews