User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 38 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 38
  2. Negative: 1 out of 38

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. PatrickT.
    May 1, 2002
    8
    Before I give out my response to this game, I must comment on Jonathan H.: DBGT sucked.... DBZ Legends had horrible grahpics, but I'm not a graphics whore, so i don't care. It had great gameplay. Thats what killed DBGT. DBZ UB22 was just slow as hell. now... KoF99 is indeed one of the best 2D fighters the PSX ever had. Amazingly drawn characters and incredible moves, including Before I give out my response to this game, I must comment on Jonathan H.: DBGT sucked.... DBZ Legends had horrible grahpics, but I'm not a graphics whore, so i don't care. It had great gameplay. Thats what killed DBGT. DBZ UB22 was just slow as hell. now... KoF99 is indeed one of the best 2D fighters the PSX ever had. Amazingly drawn characters and incredible moves, including the great "striker", the game offers great gameplay, and the extras that come along with it, like the color config, and demo, aer pretty tight. What kills most of the joy of the game is that for 1) the boss is just......well read everyone else's opinion on it. The load times are REDUNDANT as f..k. Street Fighter ALpha 3 never had that much load time in it, so what the hell... Overall though, the game is really good. Anyone a fighting fan, check this game out. Note: fighter fanatics: buy the game...only if you don't already have the dreamcast version. game collectors: DEFINITELY buy the game. Kof99 is becoming very rare for the PSX to get intact, like Mr. Driller. Later. P.S. i stand by my comment on the DBZ games. If you guys were true fans of the series, then you'd have DB Z Hyper dimension on SNES and NOT the rom....(probably the best DBZ fighter) Expand
  2. KyoK.
    Sep 4, 2002
    10
    This game is perfect and just i expected to be more better than 98'. The fast combos and DM and SDMs make the game more interesting. I just wish that there would be more stages. Good and well done SNK.
  3. JonathanH.
    Dec 5, 2001
    10
    for anyone the said the game was stupid then go screw a hippi tree hugger, because there isnt a possible way for this game to suck. It is the best game on psx, along side with dbz ultimate battle 22, DBZ Legends, and DBGT final bout, those are great games. But anyways back to the game. If you are at blockbuster "RENT THE GAME", if you are at a gamestore "BUY THE GAME", you wont be disappointed.
  4. AndrewM.
    Oct 3, 2001
    10
    More balanced than '95.
  5. KayL.
    Sep 22, 2001
    9
    I love it.
  6. AhmedK.
    Feb 5, 2002
    10
    This game is one of he best fighting games EVER! I play this game 400 times a day and I never got bored. The characters are realistic (sorta) and the combos kick ass! The old genesis-like graphics are good 2. I love it!
  7. MichaelW.
    Apr 15, 2002
    9
    I like the characters. They are great in variety. The moves are okay too, but I really do not want to be confined to a very small area. I like games that give you places to hide. Oh and you can email me, but if it is porn, I will report you.
  8. JesusC.
    Jun 4, 2004
    9
    This game is really good. It implements lots of actual fighting styles which kind of reminds me of bloodsport. My buddys and I liked this game so much we bought two copies the first day.
  9. Dmar
    Nov 26, 2001
    6
    King of Fighters 99'....hmmmmm. It's a good fighting game overall. The team mode may just be the best part in this game. The color edit mode is cool...but I can't get my new colored fighter into other modes-Arrgh! While the graphics are tight, the control is ok, yet the game suffers in one huge way. The boss is REALLY CHEAP! He and his moves are corny! And tough there are King of Fighters 99'....hmmmmm. It's a good fighting game overall. The team mode may just be the best part in this game. The color edit mode is cool...but I can't get my new colored fighter into other modes-Arrgh! While the graphics are tight, the control is ok, yet the game suffers in one huge way. The boss is REALLY CHEAP! He and his moves are corny! And tough there are other modes--there still something missing that I can't figure out. Bottom line---only for SNK and lovers of 2d fighting. If you don't apply to this well...rent...if desperate! Expand
  10. TechnoGeek
    Oct 15, 2001
    10
    This is the best game ever. I have had fun learning all the combos and supers for each character. I recommend this game to all TRUE fighters out there!! Pick this game up while you still can!!!
  11. TshwareloS.
    Dec 16, 2001
    10
    I love it. Everything, the moves, graphics. It's perfect. That is why I play it all the time.
  12. AndrewP.
    Dec 8, 2001
    9
    This game is awesome... I love how there are many characters to choose from and how they are each unique with their own cool style. I would have given it a 10 except the boss was a peice of cake. They need to have more bosses. But its a tight game.
  13. SquarePants
    Dec 9, 2001
    8
    I liked 95 better!!
  14. G.M.
    Jun 12, 2001
    9
    This is the best beat 'em up I know yet!
  15. AokiH.
    Sep 22, 2001
    10
    This game rocks ^,^
  16. ScottM.
    Jan 20, 2002
    9
    This is a really great game, totally worth the $9.99 I spent on it. ^_^ anyways its not the best kof game but it's still a really great game. (kinda like how die hard 2 isn't as good as die hard but its still a good movie) The boss is cheap but other than that its perfect sooo i give it a niner.
  17. RyanH.
    Jan 7, 2002
    10
    Best fighting game ever!
  18. DavidH.
    Mar 30, 2002
    10
    Wicked Awesome game...the moves are fantastic and the graphics are the bomb.
  19. JosephA.
    Apr 23, 2002
    9
    This is a great game when it comes down to the dream fights as well as the fighting period. It is an action packed game full of exploding characters, and I think it is wonderful. I think this is the game that I have been waiting for.
  20. WilliamW.
    May 14, 2002
    10
    I loooooooove this game, and if you don't like it screw u! this game is the best. p.s. screw you Dmar.
  21. PeterP.
    Dec 22, 2001
    8
    The Dreamcast version is much better (Seth and Vanessa) But this is still a good effort for the PSX.
  22. LeleT.
    Dec 31, 2001
    9
    It's fun, but too bad it's not a"greatest hits".
  23. EdC.
    Sep 26, 2001
    8
    Great game... my only gripe is that the last boss is ridiculous on the higher difficulty levels.
  24. SuperChance
    Feb 16, 2002
    10
    I own this game. It's a tight a** mofo of a game! highly recomended to buy it.
  25. ArielP.
    Feb 27, 2002
    9
    The game totally rocks the fighting game world!! It has the coolest variety of characters, and some of the best combos I have ever seen, although the boss has to be the stupidest character in the game, and the story is not very creative. I will give the game a 9.
  26. MiguelG.
    Jul 31, 2002
    10
    This game is my favorite.
Metascore
tbd

No score yet - based on 3 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 3
  2. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. The one-two punch of this brawler and "Metal Slug X" has finally brought a smile to the faces of SNK fans still morning the loss of the NeoGeo Pocket.
  2. A decent port of an inherently disappointing game.
  3. 70
    KoF '99 retains all the fighting fun of the previous years, though the load times will wear at your patience and make you long for the Dreamcast version.