• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Nov 26, 2001
Metascore
51

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 14
  2. Negative: 6 out of 14
  1. 45
    The menus are horrendous, and the graphics are appalling. Come on, when you see a series of games, you expect them to improve, in graphics, sound, gameplay, and level design. In TMSB they're all worse.
  2. Some will immediately be turned away by the graphics and others by the more childish design, but if your PlayStation is still kicking, you might want to check it out.
  3. While we were practically salivating to get started on this title, we spent an hour trying to get past the very unfinished feeling graphics and lack of any real depth to the changes included in Small Brawl.
  4. This game doesn't even live up to the first four PSX titles in the series. It's that bad. I just feel dirty playing it, and Sony should feel worse for publishing it. [Jan 2002, p.88]
  5. 50
    It’s the execution that lacks. Laboriously slow gameplay leaves little to get excited about—there’s no real sense of speed.
  6. Small Brawl could function as a gateway for younger kids interested in the series, but are not quite ready to tackle the difficulty of "Twisted Metal: Black."
  7. This must be where Martha Stewart’s evil siblings reside. [Feb 2002, p.62]
  8. A slapdash, sloppy and unimaginative retrofit. [Jan 2002, p.232]
  9. Isn't a bad game by any means, but it feels like a definite step in the wrong direction. [Jan 2002, p.147]
  10. Except for the cut-scenes, the graphics weren’t too exciting and the sound is just blah. The sloppy control and light gravity also don’t help too much. Despite all this, I still found this to be a fun game once I got the hang of it and I also found myself becoming strangely addicted to it.
  11. "Twisted Metal 2" is light years beyond Small Brawl. Small Brawl is more akin to a Gameboy Advance game than a full fledged PSX SKU.
  12. Doesn't add anything to the venerable Twisted Metal series - it just subtracts, and subtracts, and subtracts, until the only thing small is the fun.
  13. The graphics, described in one word, would have to be muddy. The framerate seems to be unnecessarily depleted from previous versions.
  14. Small Brawl would be a perfectly recommendable weekend rental for Twisted Metal fans if it weren't for its questionable and unfaithful gameplay.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 44 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 35
  2. Negative: 7 out of 35
  1. LiamJ.
    Jun 7, 2007
    10
    This game has weapons, better characters, and I like the fact that its not all blowing up actual people.I also like how you can unlock cars and new levels. Full Review »
  2. AndrewC.
    Apr 27, 2007
    10
    The best Twisted Metal ever!! Better then the other ones. This game makes me speechless!
  3. DriteroJ.
    Feb 10, 2007
    7
    I really liked all the other series of tm, this one even that it was produced in 2001 had sucky graphics and maps but I enjoyed it a lot, it was like a bonus after all other tm series. Full Review »