Valkyrie Profile PlayStation

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 46 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 46
  2. Negative: 2 out of 46
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Kliffoth
    Jul 10, 2007
    10
    This game is fantastic. It has an incredible story that will keep you playing for hours. Iis battle system is unique but a little bit hard to use. I highly reccomend this game!
  2. BenjaminJ.
    Oct 6, 2006
    10
    Really this is the most perfect PlayStation 1 game. Beautiful, interesting, inovative, deep, I played through it serveral times which is very rare for me.
  3. EtoileB.
    Jul 1, 2006
    10
    Nothing to say, unless that art meets video games.
  4. JustinJ.
    Feb 7, 2005
    10
    This game made a very interesting approach in the gaming world, it including a very interesting story along with many other stories as well. The battle system was also done very well, after playing the final fantasies so much I needed something new and this game gave it to me. Now if only they would remake it for another system.....
  5. NelsonDeL.
    Jul 4, 2005
    10
    Is this game worth buying, even if its only avalible at ebay prices (90-150 dollars)? Yes! Whith so much replaybility and various endings, this should have shown what RPG's could become in the future. If you love RPG's search this one out. (P.S.: Always check the bargain bins in gamestores, I found mine at $36 used in gamestop, and thats 5 years after it came out!)
  6. ChrisK.
    May 30, 2006
    10
    I am amazed by this game, I was three years ago and I still am now. This is by far the most beautiful game. The battle-system is simple, but quite fun. Wyhat Spine-tingling and uplifting, Silent Hill 3 is unlike any horror game I have ever played before. The environments are done beautifully and every event in game was done well. Don't expect action and nothing but violence, expect I am amazed by this game, I was three years ago and I still am now. This is by far the most beautiful game. The battle-system is simple, but quite fun. Wyhat Spine-tingling and uplifting, Silent Hill 3 is unlike any horror game I have ever played before. The environments are done beautifully and every event in game was done well. Don't expect action and nothing but violence, expect horror and puzzling mayhem. What really brought my attention was and is always, are the audio. The most common mistake among developers and/or producers is ignoring dubbing and audio. Everything is in perfect order and I look forward to the prequel and the sequel. I got my copy just recently for 30 bucks and 10 dvds and I couldn't be more happy. Expand
  7. AdityaY.
    Apr 29, 2006
    9
    This is the most beautiful game with smooth and best gameplay and graphics with creative players in that game.
  8. JonH.
    Sep 27, 2001
    7
    I really wanted a change of pace from the normal Final Fantasy go of things. The storyline is centered around Norse Mythology, and that makes the experience a little more enjoyable, yet a little more confusing. The game was incredibly fun for the first 20 hours, but then suddenly the difficulty level gets pumped up to massive proportions. A strategy guide helps very little as you find I really wanted a change of pace from the normal Final Fantasy go of things. The storyline is centered around Norse Mythology, and that makes the experience a little more enjoyable, yet a little more confusing. The game was incredibly fun for the first 20 hours, but then suddenly the difficulty level gets pumped up to massive proportions. A strategy guide helps very little as you find yourself crawling thorugh giganitc dungeons and fighting monsters that can easily tear your well rounded party to pieces. I have two gripes. 1) The "time" feature of the game which basically means that every time you enter a place, more "days" tick away, and once you reach a certain set amount, your time ends. It adds unecessary extra weight to the players shoulders...and 2) You spend hours upon hours rounding out character after character only to have them shipped off to fight for Odin. Boo. Overall, it's quite a solid game, I usually don't care much for graphics, but Valkyrie's were the best I've seen since Legend of Mana. I recommend it for anyone who wants a change of pace. (The only reason this is so long is because there are no other posts.) Expand
  9. Arngrim
    Jun 21, 2005
    8
    The game is very good, well-made even if it is just 2d. but i find the game very very hard that even the first boss fight made me look stupid for a few times, anyway i don't recommend this game for those RPG gamers that does't like to live the hard way(hehehehehe) 'cuz the would surely make wanna burn the cd if ur not prepared enough.....
  10. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    No game has ever hit me quite the same way this one did. It was so sad, yet so engaging and so hopeful. It can be difficult to get the hardware to play it these days, much less an actual copy of the game, and emulation is always a bit sketchy... a real shame. This one's a classic.
  11. Sep 10, 2015
    10
    This game made a very interesting approach in the gaming world, it including a very interesting story along with many other stories as well. The battle system was also done very well, after playing the final fantasies so much I needed something new and this game gave it to me. Now if only they would remake it for another system.....
  12. Jun 3, 2017
    10
    Without a doubt, the best RPG and game of all time.
    The best soundtrack of any game ever made.
    The dubbing is flawless and is one of the strengths of the game.

Awards & Rankings

#15 Most Discussed PS1 Game of 2000
#13 Most Shared PS1 Game of 2000
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. We can safely say that we highly recommend "Valkyrie Profile" as one of the PlayStation's best RPG's on 2000.
  2. 91
    While its story, or rather stories, are enough of a draw in their own right, it also happens to be one of the most gorgeous 2D creations I've ever seen, and possessed of such original game systems that even veteran RPG'ers might find themselves at sea for a little while.
  3. netjak
    91
    This unique RPG is among the best games available for either incarnation of Sony's game console and is an excellent addition to any gamer's collection. [Review Date: Sept 2005]