Xenogears PlayStation
Xenogears Image
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.3

Universal acclaim- based on 101 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: A mysterious organization is turning the tides of a century-long war with ancient technology - giant combat robots known as Gears. A failed attempt to steal one of these powerful weapons places it in the unwilling hands of young Fei and his dubious allies. Now he is pursued by military governments, royal pirates, spies, the emperor, and his own forgotten past. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Combining good action, dark drama, a splash of anime, and lots of Really Big Robots, this game is the must-buy Playstation RPG of the season... Square's greatest masterpiece since it started producing for Playstation, and I highly recommend this game to anyone who's even heard of "Final Fantasy."
  2. 98
    Xenogears is a must for any RPG lover, regardless of your views toward Squaresoft. With its depth and creativity, Xenogears is my choice for RPG of the year.
  3. Yet another masterpiece from the makers of all Final Fantasy games.
  4. 89
    An extremely popular anime-style role-playing game of epic proportions. [Jan 2004, p.189]
  5. Playing this game is kind of like getting into a good book. The first few hours may be boring or even painful, but once you get into it, you'll be up until the wee hours of the morning flipping pages (or pressing buttons) trying to find out what happens next. And let me tell you - the story is first-rate and the plot gets thicker than a pint of Guinness straight from the tap.
  6. A deep, long (70 hours!), story-driven RPG that tackles some of the weightier issues out there... Yet another winner from Squaresoft. [Nov 2001, p.54]
  7. 60
    A relentlessly slow plot, plodding dialogue, and the unfortunate fumble of the robot interfaces's potential keeps Xenogears out of that stratosphere enjoyed by its far superior cousin, "Final Fantasy VII."

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 40
  2. Negative: 3 out of 40
  1. FelipeS
    Jun 20, 2009
    10
    Such a incredible history, wonderful characters, a brillant battle system. The gamepro critc is so stupid, I think the asshole tha wrote is a FFVII fanboy :/ Expand
  2. Max
    Mar 30, 2004
    10
    A sweet game, and the best part, you can jump!!!!! Take that Final Fantasy.
  3. Mar 9, 2013
    10
    I admit that after time has taken its toll on this game that it is a bit hard to go back to now with all these new great games out. However, Xenogears still is my favorite game of all time. I enjoyed the story greatly and once you figure out the combat system, it was one of the most fun of its time. Better than the regular turn based stuff from old rpgs. Expand
  4. May 25, 2013
    10
    A beauty. Strong story, a great cast, fun gameplay. Everything just fits together in Xenogears. I just can't resist the feeling of giving this a 10/10. If you love a more mature JRPG with a plot that keeps you thinking even after you've dropped the controller and if you love a game that just nails every other aspect of a videogame, go find Xenogears. You can also download the ISO file or something if you can't find it. Can't wait to see more of the X Series after this and Xenoblade. 10/10:OMG!!! Expand
  5. AriaX.
    Apr 24, 2005
    10
    I think the best RPG ever on PSX and maybe even on PS2. The story is something amazing, the use of toons instead of computer graphic for the interludes is simply perfect and give lot of "pathos" to the story itself. A pity that Squaresoft didn't make a PAL version. If you didn't buy it, hurry and don't wait a second more. Expand
  6. Mar 25, 2013
    10
    What makes a game great? It's not it's flaws, where xenogears have many, it's not the fact that it's dated by the time I played it in 2005, it's not the graphics or the great voice overs. A game is only great if it's memorable, and when you look back all these years you still remember fondly certain aspect of such a game that you can't get out of your mind. Xenogears is one such rare experiences. The storyline, the characters and the soundtrack and the overall feel I had upon completion of the game makes me look past the frustration, the grind, the seemingly rushed pacing towards the final third of the game, for all those many flaws about the game, I felt fulfilled, emotionally and mentally attached to one of these rare masterpieces of our time. The only way to do this game justice is to complete this game yourself and let it etched itself into your memories. Expand
  7. Aug 13, 2014
    0
    a piece of crap. The story is far too complex for nothing and the gameplay is a shame (omg the jumps...) there's nothing good in this lame game, beside the music. Expand

See all 40 User Reviews