Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 14
  2. Negative: 1 out of 14
  1. Play UK
    Feb 20, 2011
    93
    A truly astonishing port. [Issue#202, p.96]
  2. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Feb 22, 2011
    90
    An infuriating test of trajectory skills and patience that will have you swearing, strooping and (perhaps most unbelievably of all) bloody well enjoying it. [Spring 2011, p.113]
  3. 90
    So, if you have picked up Angry Birds on your mobile device, the PS3/PSP version does not offer anything new. Regardless of what system you play Angry Birds on, it is proof that simple, puzzle games can have AAA gameplay.
  4. 90
    For $3.99, how can you afford not to find out why over 50 million people have downloaded Angry Birds?
  5. Mar 27, 2011
    85
    Owners of the original won't find any new gameplay levels, but they might enjoy the precise analog-based input the PSP and PS3 sticks provide.
  6. Feb 2, 2011
    85
    Angry Birds is addictive, whether on PSP or not. It's funny and simple and a skill game for the whole family.
  7. Feb 22, 2011
    80
    Angry Birds, also in the Minis version, is a great puzzle game. Unfortunately some problems with the graphics engine, and its high price compared to the version for iPhone, make the best edition for Apple platforms. However, the title product by Chillingo is back again with a good and enjoyable porting.
  8. Jan 31, 2011
    80
    In PS3, this is not going to be be the hit it has achieved to become in movile phones, but it retains its fun and entertainment, and offers lots of hours of fun for an affordable price.
  9. Jan 14, 2011
    76
    If you haven't experienced Angry Birds, want to and don't have an iPhone/iPod, then you won't be disappointed with this edition of the game.
  10. Jan 10, 2011
    75
    There's no denying that Angry Birds is fun, but it could use polish -- such as sharper visuals, a better price and smoother action. It's one of those games I could play for a few hours on a plane or obsess over on my couch.
  11. Jan 14, 2011
    70
    The 200 or so levels will eat up a solid chunk of your gaming time and is very addictive to the casual gamer.
  12. Feb 23, 2011
    69
    Angry Birds on the PSP is one really annoying bug away from being a fun game.
  13. PSM3 Magazine UK
    Feb 13, 2011
    63
    An enjoyable puzzler, but a haphazard port. Big shame. [Mar 2011, p.96]
  14. Jan 28, 2011
    40
    Controls are everything. This Iphone classic has been totally destroyed in its conversion to Playstation 3, where the controls don't work.

Awards & Rankings

7
9
#9 Most Discussed PSP Game of 2011
11
#11 Most Shared PSP Game of 2011
User Score
3.2

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 46 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 46
  2. Negative: 30 out of 46
  1. Jan 14, 2011
    5
    Angry Birds was great on the iPhone and my addiction to it was pretty extreme. I purchased it to play on the PS3 hoping for a glorious HDAngry Birds was great on the iPhone and my addiction to it was pretty extreme. I purchased it to play on the PS3 hoping for a glorious HD version to be enjoyed on a large screen. Boy was I disappointed. While it is still a fun game, the graphics are pixelated and the default view is zoomed in- zooming out involves pressing L1 and R1 simultaneously, which you have to keep pressed to maintain that view. This is a mediocre port offering sub-par graphics, no settings menu and really nothing new as compared to the mobile version. I know this is supposed to be a "Mini" game but 'cmon guys, when I play this on the PS3 it basically feels like I'm holding a magnifying glass over my iPhone. Full Review »
  2. Apr 12, 2012
    4
    I don't understand what people find enjoyable in this game.
  3. Apr 3, 2013
    4
    Let me start by saying I really like Angry Birds (the original as well as Rio, Seasons, Star Wars and Space). Now I bought it for the PS3. TheLet me start by saying I really like Angry Birds (the original as well as Rio, Seasons, Star Wars and Space). Now I bought it for the PS3. The port itself is OK, the sticks are a bit tricky to use at the beginning, but it is not too bad. Graphics are just horrible. I expected some HD textures for the PS3, but I think the iPad version is much sharper. But definitely the worst flaw of this game would be the fact that there are only 4 worlds, while the iOS version already has 8. Still, this version is more expensive. Why? Not because of the textures.

    If you have an Android/iOS device, play it on that. Don't get this silly version. Still, it is playable, so if you don't have Android/iOS you can think of buying this.
    Full Review »