Castlevania: The Dracula X Chronicles PSP

  • Publisher: Konami
  • Release Date: Oct 23, 2007
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 43 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 43
  2. Negative: 1 out of 43
Buy On
  1. As a reinvented version of a 16-bit game, this looks quite nice on the PSP's sharp display, but it plays like nobody's greased the machinery since its original 1993 release. [Oct 2007, p.127]
  2. If you're a Castlevania completist, or just a fan of old school gaming, then pick up this bloodsucker.
  3. A good-looking, deep and engaging package that should be in any self-respecting gamer's collection, save for the fact that many who lack the skill, talent and time to succeed in it won't be able to access at least half of what's on offer.
  4. Edge Magazine
    70
    A sometimes grim but always compelling experience. [Christmas 2007, p.96]
  5. This is really a release made for, and by, Castlevania fans. If you don't think much of the series, this isn't going to change your mind.
  6. PSM3 Magazine UK
    70
    It's hard. Harder than talking Dracula into a booking a beach holiday. [Mar 2008, p.80]
  7. Demonically difficult, heart-shatteringly hard, Castlevania: The Dracula X Chronicles is a gamer's game. Solid in both respects of the word, Konami's elderly iconic franchise fits perfectly on PSP for some vampire killing on the move...even if you do feel like throwing the handheld into a wall at times.
  8. The game is certainly rewarding and fun if you can get into it. Unfortunately we can't see the average gamer having the patience to do just that.
  9. games(TM)
    70
    As long as you’re prepared to die over and over again, then Richter Belmont’s restored adventure should be considered a rare PSP treat. [Mar 2008, p.130]
  10. Maxi Consolas (Portugal)
    70
    Even for all the respect and love that the Castlevania series deserves, the gameplay mechanics fell completely out of date. But if you look at it as a “collection item”, it manages to deliver. New players will become desperate with its old fashion gameplay and difficulty, but that’s exactly what Castlevania fans are looking for here. [March 2008]
  11. 65
    The problem is that while to the existing fan base the retro design and gameplay are all part of the experience newer gamers will probably view those same qualities in a far more negative light.

Awards & Rankings

#9 Most Discussed PSP Game of 2007
#3 Most Shared PSP Game of 2007
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 62 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 15
  2. Negative: 1 out of 15
  1. Oct 10, 2014
    9
    Castlevanai The Dracula X Chronicles is an amazing remake. First off not only do you get an awesome remake but two equally amazing games.Castlevanai The Dracula X Chronicles is an amazing remake. First off not only do you get an awesome remake but two equally amazing games. (those being Castlevania Rondo of blood and Castlevania symphony of the night)

    Presentaion: Dracula X chronicles is a 2.5D remake of Castlevania Rondo of blood. Now I will say this is a very detailed game it looks very gothic and castlevania-ish. But the visuals can be mussy at points and out right **** at times (by that I mean in one area in The Graveyard stage if you play this game youll know what I mean) overall a good looking game but it doesn't pop like the original.

    Gameplay: Castlevania Dracula X Chronicles is classic 2-d castlevania action at its finest. This is considered a CLASSIC Castlevania game but its also pretty nonlinear. Each level has two to three ways to beat it each having its own boss. There's about 14 stages to whip your way through. You can also play as another character that plays completely different to Richter our main hero. Maria Renard has doves as her main weapon shes can throw two at a time and they act as boomerangs. She has two slide abilities and a double jump and her subweapon animal buddices CAN **** **** UP. Though she's a glass cannon be careful with her.

    Plot: A group of cultists lead by the evil Priest Shaft resurrect count Dracula. Knowing that a Belmont is on his way to reck his **** up Dracula immedietley sets his plan into motion and attacks Richter's home town and kindaps his girlfriend Annete and her sister Maria Renard. Now not only does Ricther need to rescue his girlfriend but because of his.. DIVINE BLOODLINE he must defeat Dracula.

    Music.OH MY ****ING GOD THE ****ING SOUNDTRACK THE ****ING SOUDTRACK THE ****ING SOUNDTRACK. IS AMAZING. One of if not the best Castlevania soundtrack of all ****ing time. Songs such as "Cross a Fear", "Slash", and "Beginning" (or Dreams of Triumph as this game calls it) make an amzing return. The soundtrack is fast paced fully orchestral and overall some of the best videogame music of all time BARNONE.

    FinalThoughts: I love this game theres 3 whole games here. Multiple pathways, Time attack, a co-op bossrush, ****ing excellent music and good graphics. I will say the PCENGINE version of ROB handles better but that's just me. If you own a Psp and don't have this game GET IT
    Full Review »
  2. Mar 31, 2012
    8
    A nice remake of Rondo of Blood, it looks so much prettier. It kept the same difficult-as-hell gameplay while also sticking to the storyline.A nice remake of Rondo of Blood, it looks so much prettier. It kept the same difficult-as-hell gameplay while also sticking to the storyline. The best part? You can unlock the original Rondo of Blood and Symphony of the Night. I was super stoked when I found out this little gem. Now that's what I mostly use this game for anymore, but all-in-all still great. Full Review »
  3. AlexW.
    Jan 1, 2008
    6
    I would've liked to see the games actually optimized for the PSP. SotN IS the PSone version... I was hoping to atleast get the 16:9 I would've liked to see the games actually optimized for the PSP. SotN IS the PSone version... I was hoping to atleast get the 16:9 resolution, the games themselves are still GREAT, but just not near as good a compilation as it could've been. Full Review »