User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 336 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 22 out of 336

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 15, 2014
    10
    Ah, the PSP - still one of my favorite consoles. Still almost always in my pocket, always loaded with something awesome I can enjoy. I can clearly recall the surprise when I got it as a gift... and I recall the thirst to get this game. Crisis Core was the first game I sought out for my brand new PSP. I had just gotten into the Final Fantasy series, and I liked what I was seeing (though I believe I had not played anything yet). Sadly, the only FF available was the FF1 remake, which in my opinion hasn't aged that well, but that's for another time.
    Almost two years later I ordered the game online and when I received it I hardly could wait to get home and put the UMD in. My Final Fantasy craze was still in it's heat, and since Final Fantasy 7 was one of my favorites, and Zack was my-second best favorite character (next to Vincent), it was like a match made in heaven - a Square Enix game, in 3D, portable, with an awesome story and character to boot, and it wasn't a JRPG - perfect blend, just my type. And you know what? Looking back at my golden days of free-time, gaming, and back when the PSP was my only console - this game is the one I remember loving the most, and out of all my PSP games I think this is actually my favorite, because the time spent with it was pure joy to the extent that I don't ever want to play it again, because it might ruin the memory.
    Graphically, everyone by now knows that this game is one of the best looking games on the system - almost no pixelation, beautiful animations and very high-detailed sprites. Some of the environmetns and dungeons seem a bit uninspired, but that's no biggie at all in comparison to the overall picture. The translation is noticably a bit hit and miss, so is the voice acting, but for the most part - it's awesome. The cinematics in this game are insanely good - on a level only Blizzard and Square Enix could achieve nowadays (in my opinion).
    Not only does it look great - it sounds great. Most of the OST of this game is still on my MP3 player and I find myself listening to "The Price of Freedom" and "The Summoned" pretty often, and for good reason. Renowned composer Takeharu Ishimoto has delivered some of the best soundtracks in gaming history and it's always an honor to listen to him in a good game.
    Now, to be frank, this game's story probably isn't as good as I remember. But I do remember the shocking moments of it being really unexpected and the narrative being well told, though a little slow at times. This story is part of the giant ark that is Final Fantasy 7 and it does the overall story justice. Since it is a prequel to FF7's story, ti can be enjoyed anyone without ruining the movie or the other games, and veteran fans of FF7 will love seeing the relationships of their favorite characters. To be honest, I consider Crisis Core's story a bit better than FF7's - it doesn't try to be that epic, and in the end - it ends up packing a slightly bigger punch.
    The gameplay of this game is the hardest thing to comment on - it cannot be easily summed up and you would best understand it if you play it. It seems highly overcomplicated when you think about it, but it's one of those things you learn to do without even noticing really quick and in the end - it can be quite rewarding. This time around the battle system is active - no waiting around, no turn-based combat - almost full action. Your actions are somewhat limited to a slot-machine mechanism, and though it sounds a bit luck-based - it's not that big of a deal. The only downside I've found in the gameplay that drove me really mad in some points was the fact that the random encounters are still here and still annoying. But the good fact is, that the game is not so grindy - I hardly had to grind, and since the battle system flows much faster - grinding would hardly be that big of a chore.
    Overall, this game is amazing. I've often pondered which is my favorite PSP game. I could say Ghost of Sparta, because I really think it is the best God of War game, I could also safely say Dissidia 012 - another brilliant and content-packed Final Fantasy game from Square, but none of those games take me back to pure joy and wonder as Crisis Core. I suppose I am a bit santimental over it, but I trust it is for good reason. Also, I have to point out, that the ending of this game is one of the best directed and executed finales in all of gaming. I'd advise you reach it, if you have a PSP. This game shouldn't be missed, no matter if you are a FF fan or not - this game isn't restricting as your typical JRPG. It's almost sold out now and it's become quite rare - I assure, it's for very good reason. I should give this game a 9/10, because it has it's flaws. But I'm going to let this one slide just because of my memories. Forgive me, dear reader, but I suggest you play it too and see that even you would let one point slide at the end, even if it isn't a 10/10 for you - this game requires respect for good reason.
    Expand
  2. Jan 28, 2014
    10
    One of the best character of final fantasy series Zack Fair.Game was really good especially cutscenes and story.Quality is good enough for psp i guess.
  3. Jan 23, 2014
    10
    This is an amazing game. The combat system is simple, but it suits the storyline quite well. This is a story driven game with a lot of cinematic cut scenes. After skipping the pointless side quest missions, this game won't be very long. It's definitely worth the time spent and anyone with access to a PSP won't regret playing through it.
  4. Jan 10, 2014
    6
    Like other titles in the Final Fantasy VII 'series', Crisis Core is at its best when recalling the original game, tons of fan-service; familiar characters, music and locations are all great to see, but gameplay is a letdown. Combat is in real-time, hack & slash button-mash, an annoying Phase Modulation (limit breaks?) mechanic constantly pulls control from the player constantly and at inopportune moments and the endgame (final chapters) are tedious and drawn-out. Expand
  5. Dec 25, 2013
    8
    Fighting system is very addictive. Amazing soundtrack with brilliant guitar pieces. Story provides some good sections but mostly it's unfocused and questionable.
  6. Dec 23, 2013
    10
    Played this game over 9 times and returning to it after not playing for 2 years. Good story and a combat system that i weirdly like for some strange reason. My favourite psp game of all time.
  7. Nov 22, 2013
    9
    An incredible game, worthy of the Final Fantasy VII title. Tends to be a little easy at times, but in my opinion it actually works well for a mobile game; you never know when you might need to put it down. For anyone who loves Final Fantasy VII, this is a must play as a lot of your favorite characters will make an appearance in one way or another. Music and story are top-notch. TIP: Purchase the game and then Emulate it on your PC. Looks amazing in 1080p! Expand
  8. Coq
    Nov 7, 2013
    3
    This game has the single worst gameplay ''mechanic'' I have ever seen. I wanted to get my hands on this game for years being a die-hard FFVII fan, and when I finally did I barely lasted an excruciating hour and before realizing I was bored as hell.
    I tried playing several times since then and every time I can manage a single battle before throwing the game away in annoyance. The plot
    might be the redeeming factor of this game, but at this point I'll just watch the videos on YouTube, it'll save me the atrocious gameplay.
    What I'd like to know is who the hell thought the DMW was a good idea? A random slot that takes up half the screen, spins by itself and give you random bonuses at random times with long, unskippable animations!?!?
    Maybe I could have accepted it as just a bad idea IF it wasn't so crucial. But that freaking slots control bonuses statuses, limit breaks, summons and....LEVELLING!?!? Indeed, there is no EXP in this game, you randomly level up at random times while playing. So rewarding. /facepalm
    Ugh
    Expand
  9. Aug 7, 2013
    10
    best psp game hands down from graphics to gambling system to shinra misions that were appealing for that game beacuse zack is from soldier 9 out of 10
  10. May 19, 2013
    10
    This game is amazing, the best FF I've ever played (tied with FFX)! At first, I was a bit annoyed by the battle system, as I was used to old FFs system. But after I was familiarized with it and got to know the game better, I completely fell in love with it. Since even the battle system to the graphics, and the soundtrack, the wonderful plot, the characters, everything is perfect! You really get involved in this whole Crisis Core world. I completed this game a few times and it has been a while since the last time, but even now I get moved whenever I watch the video of the ending or listen to the ending song and remember the game. Expand
  11. Mar 5, 2013
    7
    Graphics and cutscenes are good. The combat system is not that great, i didnt like the whole thing with the slot machine and playing only one character. The KH animations are bad, zack jumps in with his sword like a idiot. Soundtrack had a couple of good tracks and the ending was good.They add nedless things to the FF VII, which kinda destroys the plot of FF VII. Still its one of the better games on the psp. Expand
  12. Feb 17, 2013
    10
    The greatest game on the PSP in my opinion, and a very worthy prequel to to Final Fantasy 7. Highly recommend. I wish they could make a FF7 sequel of this quality!
  13. Feb 14, 2013
    9
    NOTE: something went wrong with my last review, so the rating went negative...

    Crisis Core. A game, much different from all other Final Fantasies. It has alot of equipment, materias and, boy, there are alot of missions. I REALLY disliked the lack of areas. There was like... 1 mission where you were on a ship? And all the others were in plains, in a wasteland, mine, cave or the slums.
    That really pissed me off, because only the layout changed, and just barely. The story is great, leaves a big hole in the end for those who haven't played the original Final Fantasy VII, visuals are beautiful, especially in cutscenes (the real kind) and when you summon. I really like this game, but they could've spruced it up with more areas... I am literally leaving Zack on autopilot fighting 1000 shinra soldiers right now... Expand
  14. Feb 5, 2013
    9
    I was very surprised at this game as I went in expecting a decent game and went out amazed at how good it was. The gameplay is more action focused like the kingdom hearts series which I enjoy more than the active time battles of the main series. The story is decent and gives us the origins of cloud and a few other final fantasy VII characters. I have to give massive props to this game for it's ending as well, anyone who has played ff VII knows roughly how it''s going to end but yet I still found it to be one of the most emotional endings ever. Also unlike alot of handheld RPGs this game knows well of the moment where you have to slog to the next save point in order to save and turn off the game, so there are smaller side missions accessible from save points which take 2-10 minutes to complete and are ideal for pickup and play gaming. This is probably my favorite final fantasy which may seem odd, but I recommend everyone to try this game out especially fans of action RPGs. Expand
  15. Jan 6, 2013
    9
    Final Fantasy VII Crisis Core is a great game for a RPG lover, Final Fantasy Lover and a fan of the PSP as it is one of the best RPGs on the PSP. The storyline, characters, music and gameplay will make you want to come back for it and may put you in hold for several hours until you get that little blinking light notifying you that your PSP is on low battery (only to finally tempt you to plug in the charger just to play more.). It is surely a must buy! Expand
  16. Aug 11, 2012
    8
    I'm a huge fan of Final Fantasy 7, but I did not like this as much as the original game. I think the combat system was a big let down, and only controlling one character really made it feel less engaging. All in all, I beat the game and was touched by the end result of the story, but would of been happier if it was better. This game is worth buying nonetheless, and is one of the best PSP games out. Expand
  17. Aug 11, 2012
    9
    Excellent sequel (prequel) to FF7. Best installment of FF7 reunion project and possibly the best Final Fantasy to come after Hironobu Sagacuchi left Squaresoft.

    Story and characters are interesting and new characters like Angeal, feels like he was from original Final Fantasy 7 and he serves FF7 canon extremely well. In fact, Angeals design was originally planned for Cloud. Angeals,
    Zacks and Sephiroths relationship is believable. Only character that feels out of place is Genesis, but he works quite well as an antagonist, when player is concentrating on Zacks story.

    When player gets to events that was seen as an flashback in FF7, it is hard to let PSP down. Without spoilers, I can say Crisis Cores ending is one of the best ever seen in Final Fantasy series.

    Battle system is fantastic! Materias are back people, they're back. People whine about the slot-machine, but it is simply there to emulate other party members and unlike people claim, it is not random. It is launched by HP, AP and MP. I recommend this to everyone!
    Expand
  18. May 25, 2012
    9
    I have played half of FF franchise games and I canâ
  19. Apr 9, 2012
    6
    I really enjoyed this game and was very excited to see this storyline as final fantasy VII is by far my favorite Final Fantasy game. Unfortunately since all their cut-scenes must have cost them more than making the game did you can't skip any of them, which is extremely annoying, especially when your game is saved right before one in a tough spot where you can't save after until you win. I've never completed this game just for this reason. I wish I could finish it, but I can't stand playing the same stuff over and over with the same cut-scenes. I wish they'd stop ruining good games by trying to make them half movies with no fast forward button. Expand
  20. Apr 4, 2012
    8
    Most importantly, this game stays true to the original. Seeing Midgar like this is very nostalgic and it's represented like it should be. Technically it's great, the story is great, the music is a mix of the original themes and hard rock.
    The extra missions are boring and not very rewarding, and some new characters are hit or miss.

    A must-have for anyone looking for a great PSP game and a
    worthy prequel to a legendary game. Expand
  21. Feb 20, 2012
    10
    This game is truly the best thing Square Enix has put out for the Compilation of Final Fantasy VII. It tells a compelling story about Zack Fair and how he goes from being a 2nd class SOLDIER to being promoted to 1st class. The battle system adds a great dynamic to the game, especially with the block and dodge abilities. I would definitely recommend this to anyone looking for a great Final Fantasy title! Expand
  22. Feb 18, 2012
    9
    Crisis Core acts as a prequel to FFVII but it can stand alone as a worthy addition to the FF stable. The battle system is very action-oriented but never degrades to mindless button mashing. Finding and combining materia is addictive and surprisingly deep. The plot can be a bit shaky as can the writing and voice acting. However, the game should be commended for its genuine emotion, something which is lacking in many recent games. Expand
  23. Jan 20, 2012
    10
    I like Zack Fair. It has great graphics and gameplay. Controls are very smooth. I often laugh about Zack's crushes in the game. Aerith and Tifa were so young and beautiful back then.
  24. Nov 9, 2011
    5
    a bland spinoff of an epic experience.

    the game boasts greatness, but the gameplay itself is it's downfall

    if you are expecting the epic plot, and emotional hurdles that the original final fantasy 7 threw at you, you are goign to be soorly dissapointed
  25. dz9
    Jul 30, 2011
    9
    Putting the gamer behind the eyes of Zack Fair in this prequel to one of the greatest games of all time, Square delivers a ground breaking handheld title. It has fantastic psp graphics, outstanding story telling, and great gameplay. The gameplay, however a little more bland, is reminiscent of Kingdom Hearts' battle system, but with just enough twist to keep it fresh and to differentiate itself from KH. Warning: If you have not played through Final Fantasy 7, you will either;A) Not appreciate the story. B) Be completely lost. This game does in-fact assume that you are quite familiar with the FF7 lore. The game has hours of sidequest, however linear, are overall great especially for a psp game. The only real problem with the game is the level-up system... leveling up is left to chance. Technically speaking, however unlikely, the gamer could go through the entire game at level 1. Equipping materia is excellent but I wish equipping actual armor had a little more depth. The Good: Great graphics, great gameplay, & great story (beware noobs). The Bad: Level-up system is retarded and voice is a little shaky in parts. This game is an absolute necessity for fans of FF and RPG fans in general Expand
  26. Jun 29, 2011
    5
    The most boring game of Square-Enix in PSP.
    I'm disappointed.
    The battles are horrible.
    The graphics are the best of the game, the rest...without words
  27. Jun 5, 2011
    10
    This game is the whole reason I bought a PSP.This is the best game on the PSP IMO.The graphics,the control,the battle system.It's all so much fun.The story and plot are amazing,even though (if you played FF7) you know what will happen at the end of the game.The soundtrack was beautifully done,it's one of my favorites from a game.At first the level up system,and summon system was kinda iffy too me.But I soon learned to love it I liked that everything was "random".You can get equipment later on to boost your chances for a particular summon.Everyone that's either a FF fan or has a PSP should get this game you will not regret it. 10/10 Expand
  28. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    One of my top favorite games for any portable console. The gameplay isn't entirely intuitive, but it works quite well. Of course, that's not to say the gameplay is boring, I think it's amazing! The storyline, if you have played the original Final Fantasy VII (7), tells you what happens before. The is absolutely phenomenal, in fact, listen to "Fulfilled Desire", the ending song to Crisis Core, that song is fantastic, and pretty much defines the emotional aspect of the game, and of course, the beauty of the music itself. The voice acting is stellar. The voices fit the characters perfectly. The graphics are superb as well. If you want an amazing game, pick this one up. Expand
  29. Apr 12, 2011
    8
    Probably the best PSP game I have played. One of the few games where the controls make sense. This game captures the FF7 feel and atmosphere and brings it to modern day gaming.
  30. Feb 27, 2011
    8
    I give it an 8 because the graphics are pretty good, but the gameplay gets very repetetive. A good thing about this game is you cant control the DMW. I would not like to control a slot machine while fighting monsters :p
  31. Feb 10, 2011
    10
    The best final fantasy game i played. I played final fantasy before and this one is my favorite. All the final fantasy story I played was great. The gameplay for this game is excellent. Very great job with the game play. The graphics is psp best. I think this game is psp best looking game. This is my favorite psp game. I think this should be on everybody top 5 or 10 best psp games of all time. I recommend this to everyone. I enjoy playing this game a lot. Expand
  32. Sep 5, 2010
    9
    This game is a great addition to add insight to the FF7 story. FF7CC has a back story the adds more enjoyment to the FF7 story. Great graphics and one of the best games on the PSP. I played FF7 first and hence I enjoyed FF7CC, I'm not sure how people would see this game without FF7 insight. FF always gives new battle systems some work others don't after the initial awkwardness I got use to the battle system in this game and enjoyed it. Expand
  33. Aug 30, 2010
    5
    While Crisis Core: Final Fantasy VII must be praised for its incredible visuals, fun soundtrack, and generous fanservice for those who enjoyed Final Fantasy VII, it doesn't work very well as a game. Simple and mindless action/RPG battles while trekking through uninspired environments makes up the majority of the experience. Weak, underdeveloped characters, awful dialogue, and a boring story all seem like an afterthought to a game that is never completely realized.

    While there are several moments that will give a Final Fantasy VII fan pangs of nostalgia, it would be hard to recommend the game to even them.
    Expand
  34. Aug 20, 2010
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The in-game graphics are outstanding and the cinematics are impressive. However, there are some translation quirks and lame afterthought tie-ins to FF7 (i.e. Zack gives Aerith her signature pink ribbon). Some strange design choices prevent this from being a great game. While FF7 was slow, methodical, and strategical, Crisis Core places an emphasis on quick reflexes and luck (a slot machine dictates the flow of battle!). Fans of FF7 should consider picking this game up on nostalgia factor alone, but this spin-off definitely pales in comparison to it's source material. Expand
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 67 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 67
  2. Negative: 2 out of 67
  1. Again, it’s nice to see the duality of the FFVII games, (it is Zack that falls into Aerith’s church this time), and a genuine attempt to develop the universe so many of us love, but simplifying the battle system, story and general style of discovery and transport leaves Crisis Core being a welcome spin off, but no replacement for a real sequel.
  2. 85
    Whether you’re a Sephiroth obsessive, or whether you couldn’t tell your Aerith from your Angeal, Crisis Core is an excellent action RPG, and it’s certainly among the best the PSP has to offer.
  3. 60
    Crisis Core has an addictive quality about it because you really need to know what happens next, and you’ll most certainly want to see the next glorious cutscene.