Dissidia: Final Fantasy PSP

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 128 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 91 out of 128
  2. Negative: 11 out of 128
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. KevinP
    Aug 29, 2009
    10
    Definitely a great game worthy of the Final Fantasy name. It's very addicting and while the voice acting seems to be the only aspect of this game that is not that spectacular, once you've played enough you'd surely learn to appreciate them.
  2. SeanJ
    Aug 27, 2009
    10
    Now THIS is how a crossover game should be done. Square Enix has crafted a true RPG fighting game with Dissidia: Final Fantasy -- one where the characters don't feel like crummy imitations of themselves (see: Ehrgeiz). Dissidia goes beyond the typical "punch-kick-block" mechanics of fighting games and gives you an arsenal of evasion techniques, power moves, combo chains, and summons Now THIS is how a crossover game should be done. Square Enix has crafted a true RPG fighting game with Dissidia: Final Fantasy -- one where the characters don't feel like crummy imitations of themselves (see: Ehrgeiz). Dissidia goes beyond the typical "punch-kick-block" mechanics of fighting games and gives you an arsenal of evasion techniques, power moves, combo chains, and summons that you can pull off as your characters zip around spacious 3D arenas. You can get into melees in mid-air. You can deflect projectiles by timing a strike correctly. You can build your characters into the ultimate fighters by leveling up and gaining equipment. Forget about the story complaints some people have -- they're trivial. Instead, focus on the insane amount of fan service crammed into this title. It's a must-have for any FF fan! Expand
  3. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Final Fantasy Dissidia is a fighting consisting of characters from the first 10 main franchise titles (I-X) and includes some additional characters from XI and XII. The game includes a unique battle system that combines RPG and fighting elements. Both fans of the FF series and fighting fans will surely love this game. With a total of up to 20 characters with 2 additional characters,Final Fantasy Dissidia is a fighting consisting of characters from the first 10 main franchise titles (I-X) and includes some additional characters from XI and XII. The game includes a unique battle system that combines RPG and fighting elements. Both fans of the FF series and fighting fans will surely love this game. With a total of up to 20 characters with 2 additional characters, players may customize their characters with equips and techniques making different combination of attacks possible. Along with that a very long storyline with all sorts of twists and turns never before seen. Fans will surely live the nostalgic life when playing this game. The sound effects and music are revitalize in this game and graphics are clear and crisp. Fans will surely enjoy this perfect fighting RPG classic. Expand
  4. Sep 28, 2010
    8
    It's a PSP game and that's a console that Square Enix is still willingly spend that much time and effort into producing high quality games for it. Five major points to talk so it's a simplified version, GRAPHICS: slick nice damn good for a PSP. MUSIC: Nice, especially the Chaos version of the fanfare. GAMEPLAY: Can be repetitive at times but redeems itself with the fast pace action andIt's a PSP game and that's a console that Square Enix is still willingly spend that much time and effort into producing high quality games for it. Five major points to talk so it's a simplified version, GRAPHICS: slick nice damn good for a PSP. MUSIC: Nice, especially the Chaos version of the fanfare. GAMEPLAY: Can be repetitive at times but redeems itself with the fast pace action and random button mashing (which is good in this case). CHARACTERS/PLOT: Well, they're Final Fantasy characters so I have my own opinion on certain characters... well, it's a solid cast and plot. REPLAYABILITY: This is my concern point, after finishing every single quest possible for the game... I don't feel compel to replay it, maybe it became tedious after a while... maybe... well, it's still a decent game to own as a self-proclaimed hardcore FF fan. Expand
  5. Apr 21, 2011
    8
    I've never played a Final Fantasy game before. The closest I was to Final fantasy was playing the Kingdom Hearts games. So when I heard about Dissidia and its gameplay, I decided to try out the demo on the PSN, and I actually enjoyed it. So I got the game, and it was pretty sweet. I didn't really care for the plot in this game, so I wasn't really disappointed by it as much as some of you.I've never played a Final Fantasy game before. The closest I was to Final fantasy was playing the Kingdom Hearts games. So when I heard about Dissidia and its gameplay, I decided to try out the demo on the PSN, and I actually enjoyed it. So I got the game, and it was pretty sweet. I didn't really care for the plot in this game, so I wasn't really disappointed by it as much as some of you. What was disappointing was the fact that characters would come to the exact location three or four times. Seriously, were those the only areas the characters could explore? Also, the characters' facial expressions weren't as strong as other Square-Enix PSP games like Birth by Sleep and (from what I've seen on youtube) Crisis Core, making them look like puppets instead of actual people. But don't let any of that stuff keep you from buying this game. As my first Final fantasy game, it was a very solid experience that made me really interested in the Final Fantasy series. Expand
  6. Feb 17, 2011
    10
    A reunion of almost all the Final Fantasy antagonists and protagonists, fighting for two "new" gods Chaos and Cosmos - what's more do you need? Yes, the story is lame, but the action is vibrant and lively, the graphics is top notch for PSP, the control is seamless (albeit with some slight learning curve), and the soundtracks are to die for! As a PSP game, it is a must pick, and as a FinalA reunion of almost all the Final Fantasy antagonists and protagonists, fighting for two "new" gods Chaos and Cosmos - what's more do you need? Yes, the story is lame, but the action is vibrant and lively, the graphics is top notch for PSP, the control is seamless (albeit with some slight learning curve), and the soundtracks are to die for! As a PSP game, it is a must pick, and as a Final Fantasy game, I personally think it could beat up all the games in the franchise. Expand
  7. Sep 16, 2011
    9
    The biggest strength of Dissidia is its explosive, breathtaking battles in the sky and on land. Each character has their own unique set of moves and mastering each of them gives the game replay value. Purchasing accessories, weapons and items adds depth and gives you something to work towards. The games' weaknesses stem from an uninteresting plot and painful dialogue that is filled withThe biggest strength of Dissidia is its explosive, breathtaking battles in the sky and on land. Each character has their own unique set of moves and mastering each of them gives the game replay value. Purchasing accessories, weapons and items adds depth and gives you something to work towards. The games' weaknesses stem from an uninteresting plot and painful dialogue that is filled with empty angst and the recycled use of the words dreams, friends and hope. This game will obviously appeal more to FF fans but I think anyone can appreciate the most innovative fight mechanics on the PSP. Expand
  8. Nov 20, 2011
    9
    A recommended not only fighting game to fans of Final Fantasy, but also for fans of fighting games with RPG touches. With a a story with many gaps, the best graphics of the PSP for a fighting game, a incredible OST with the best of the Final Fantasy (including main characters fighting face to face) and a high level of replay value, Square Enix shows that not only makes RPG
  9. Jan 20, 2012
    10
    When I first saw this game. I thought of it as an adventure rather than a fighting combat kind of thing. So I bought it. When I first tried it. I thought is as a lame game. But when I unlocked more characters and clothing I got hooked up. I wanted more. So I bought the prequel to this game, Dissidia 012: Duodecim Final Fantasy.
  10. Feb 15, 2012
    8
    ive waited so long for this a final fantasy fighting game with rpg elements this game is amazing with 20 characters from the the first ten games you are sure not to get bored with this awesome game. the only problem with this game is the storyline its a cool concept and tells you why they are fighting but it falls short but thats expected for most fighting games espcially for ones onive waited so long for this a final fantasy fighting game with rpg elements this game is amazing with 20 characters from the the first ten games you are sure not to get bored with this awesome game. the only problem with this game is the storyline its a cool concept and tells you why they are fighting but it falls short but thats expected for most fighting games espcially for ones on portable systems. all in all the fighting works great and i have a 100+ hours infested on this game buy it you wont be dissapointed Expand
  11. BrandonW
    Sep 10, 2009
    9
    The games fights are dynamic and very much skill based as they are equipment and abilities based. You can't really play with out a complete combination of all these together. There are so many fighting styles in this that I can't even start to touch on them. The story mode is board based that leads to each fight. Some fights have conditions to meet to get bonuses for when you The games fights are dynamic and very much skill based as they are equipment and abilities based. You can't really play with out a complete combination of all these together. There are so many fighting styles in this that I can't even start to touch on them. The story mode is board based that leads to each fight. Some fights have conditions to meet to get bonuses for when you complete the board. You can start a fight and finish the enemy in one combo or 50 moves later with no one hurt. Its all based on skill and position really. I love it and give this game 2 thumbs freaking way up. The cut scenes are also top notch. Expand
  12. dustin
    Oct 21, 2009
    9
    Final Fantasy Dissidia overwhelmed me with its gameplay videos and didn't disappoint with its arrival. Amazing graphics, voice actors, gameplay, and replay value; the average person could easily have over 100 hours of gameplay and still not have beaten the game totally. AdHoc adds the real fun to the game, where you rage at and dominate your friends, and can be played with the PS3 Final Fantasy Dissidia overwhelmed me with its gameplay videos and didn't disappoint with its arrival. Amazing graphics, voice actors, gameplay, and replay value; the average person could easily have over 100 hours of gameplay and still not have beaten the game totally. AdHoc adds the real fun to the game, where you rage at and dominate your friends, and can be played with the PS3 over the PSN now. Graphics are PS2 quality in FMVs and wayy beyond your normal PSP game in battles. Most of your favorite songs are here too, like Dark Messenger, Otherworld, One Winged Angel, and many more! On the same note, certain voice actors, Zidane, Cloud, I'm looking at you, make the character seem emo and flat, as per Cloud, or just out of place and annoying, Zidane. The game also heavily revolves around blocking and dodging and will get annoying especially when the CPU anticipates this better than your average player. It would have also been nice to add minigames or something other than fighting but all in all, it's amazing. I hate how half of the reviewers haven't even played the game, yes, it is difficult, but if you find it that difficult, go back to playing halo 3 or some casual DS games, suited to your style. Expand
  13. JonathanPastorello
    Sep 18, 2009
    9
    This game is not only addicting but is a wonder for final fantasy fans! It has so much depth yet is easy to pick up when you first play. It has so much extra content which is just amazing. The graphics are stunning and the story mode is amazingly well kept together.
  14. PaulG
    Sep 4, 2009
    9
    I must admit I am pleasantly surprised. A game like this from Square Enix cannot be good can it? I bought it for the 3D renderings of my favorite chars and the awesome re arranged sound track. I really didnt expect it to be that enjoyable. It turns out that its simple formula is quite clever. There are lots of things you can do and lots of rewards and items. The story is really simple for I must admit I am pleasantly surprised. A game like this from Square Enix cannot be good can it? I bought it for the 3D renderings of my favorite chars and the awesome re arranged sound track. I really didnt expect it to be that enjoyable. It turns out that its simple formula is quite clever. There are lots of things you can do and lots of rewards and items. The story is really simple for a Final Fantasy title but weaving together a story for all the main characters and bosses of each game is really hard as well as coming up with personalities for characters from the 8bit and 16bit eras. Not to mention this is a borderline fighting game and for a fighting game this has the best story telling on all levels. I recommend it to anyone with a PSP. Expand
  15. Sep 9, 2010
    8
    I'm still playing it a year and a half after purchasing it, that says a lot right there. I think the combat system, once you get your head round it is a lot of fun. The graphics are top notch and as long as you don't pay much attention to the rather lacklustre plot and treat it as a novel fighting game you won't be dissappointed. With time this has become probably my favorite game for the PSP
  16. Sep 8, 2010
    9
    This game is a break from reality. I bought this game because i had a psp go and was dieing for Kingdom Hearts BBS, but if you have been following the latest news on psp and psp go BBS isn't available for the psp go and chances are sadly that it might never be. So knowing Square Enix was behind BBS i thought id give Dissidia a try as an attempt to scratch the itch. And was i pleasantlyThis game is a break from reality. I bought this game because i had a psp go and was dieing for Kingdom Hearts BBS, but if you have been following the latest news on psp and psp go BBS isn't available for the psp go and chances are sadly that it might never be. So knowing Square Enix was behind BBS i thought id give Dissidia a try as an attempt to scratch the itch. And was i pleasantly surprised! If your a Final Fantasy fan this game is a must, if you know nothing about FF this game is still a must. At time its frustrating in difficulty but nothing is more satisfying then destroying your foe with a monster of an attack that after dodging a sure loss. I battle mechanics take some time to get used to but this game is going for $19.99 on PSN right now and ill tell you this game is easily worth $39.99. Expand
  17. Dec 6, 2014
    9
    Overall, it made for an interesting fighting game, mixed in with RPG elements. The story was pretty interesting and the combat is fun and addicting. Certainly a must-buy for any Final Fantasy fan. 9/10
  18. Dec 16, 2014
    8
    I don't know what makes this game so fun and interesting to play! It's just really addictive and enjoyable, I mean who wouldn't not want to play as all the FF characters in this awesome RPG. When I first played this game it got hard to understand and how to purchase equipment and items. I looked up so much about this game I spend ages trying to get one thing by battling through manyI don't know what makes this game so fun and interesting to play! It's just really addictive and enjoyable, I mean who wouldn't not want to play as all the FF characters in this awesome RPG. When I first played this game it got hard to understand and how to purchase equipment and items. I looked up so much about this game I spend ages trying to get one thing by battling through many enemies which is still fun now. I've spent over 300 hours on this game and still aren't bored of it at all and I can almost beat anyone for sure its fun! If you got a PSP pick this game up and give it a go! Expand
  19. Jan 16, 2015
    10
    Great game. It wasn't attractive at first with the courage points and one set of combos/attacks for a button and a direction, but after a while, I could not stop playing. I mean I got to level 100 with Cloud, Squall, and Sephiroth within a month, and every round I would always aim for 9999 courage points, and then attack (now I realize it was really nonstrategic). The game feels amazingGreat game. It wasn't attractive at first with the courage points and one set of combos/attacks for a button and a direction, but after a while, I could not stop playing. I mean I got to level 100 with Cloud, Squall, and Sephiroth within a month, and every round I would always aim for 9999 courage points, and then attack (now I realize it was really nonstrategic). The game feels amazing balanced, the game-play itself is smooth (ex. dodging, moving, etc.) and I love the EX mode where the characters do amazing finishers. Expand
  20. Jan 4, 2015
    8
    If you love Final Fantasy and wished you had a game where you could move like Advent Children, this is the best option out there. At least if you discount 012. Between Dissidia and 012 you've got 2 very solid fighter RPGs, which is an odd combo and thus a niche title.
    This is NOT a perfect title, and would be better on a full console, but, for what it is, I don't know a single game
    If you love Final Fantasy and wished you had a game where you could move like Advent Children, this is the best option out there. At least if you discount 012. Between Dissidia and 012 you've got 2 very solid fighter RPGs, which is an odd combo and thus a niche title.
    This is NOT a perfect title, and would be better on a full console, but, for what it is, I don't know a single game outside of its sequel that does it better.
    Expand
  21. Oct 13, 2015
    10
    The game is very very good, I love the graphics, the attacks are just flawlessly made, character models are great. Opponents are as strong as crap. (It's hard to beat in my case...) Weapons are really great, and the fact that the characters are the characters from the past really kicks up my love for this game. GG Square Enix, make sure to quickly finish the Final Fantasy XV 'cus I wannaThe game is very very good, I love the graphics, the attacks are just flawlessly made, character models are great. Opponents are as strong as crap. (It's hard to beat in my case...) Weapons are really great, and the fact that the characters are the characters from the past really kicks up my love for this game. GG Square Enix, make sure to quickly finish the Final Fantasy XV 'cus I wanna play it!!! Expand
  22. May 25, 2016
    10
    Dissidia Final Fantasy is a RPG game like our old FF friends, but with completely different mechanics. That attack, defense, item and run, that conquered our hearts in the past, comes totally anew in Dissidia: Battles are way more dynamic as it is (Even comparing to Crisis Core), the plot is really enjoyable, providing cutscenes, and the graphics are stunning for the PSP platform.
    The
    Dissidia Final Fantasy is a RPG game like our old FF friends, but with completely different mechanics. That attack, defense, item and run, that conquered our hearts in the past, comes totally anew in Dissidia: Battles are way more dynamic as it is (Even comparing to Crisis Core), the plot is really enjoyable, providing cutscenes, and the graphics are stunning for the PSP platform.
    The only thing I got to complain about the game is that battles are always 1vs1. You'll never face two or more enemies at once. But, anyway, this don't take of the greatness of Dissidia, a must-have game for PSP owners.
    Expand
  23. Dec 10, 2015
    10
    Whoa! I've never played a fighting arcade game like this before! Of course, because it is not an arcade game. It follows the story of all heroes of Final Fantasies from the first to 12th to fight with the villains of their series. The gameplay is amazing as it combines comboes, techniques, different style of superskills like Limit Breaks and also 360 degree dimensional fight that you canWhoa! I've never played a fighting arcade game like this before! Of course, because it is not an arcade game. It follows the story of all heroes of Final Fantasies from the first to 12th to fight with the villains of their series. The gameplay is amazing as it combines comboes, techniques, different style of superskills like Limit Breaks and also 360 degree dimensional fight that you can dash to and follow up your opponents' way to defeat them. To me, Dissidia is one of the core of Playstation Portable (PSP) gaming. :) Expand

Awards & Rankings

#3 Most Discussed PSP Game of 2009
#14 Most Shared PSP Game of 2009
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 61 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 61
  2. Negative: 1 out of 61
  1. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    80
    Fighting game with popular characters from the famous Final Fantasy series comes (unsurprisingly) with RPG elements and goes very well with it. [Oct 2009]
  2. 69
    Dissidia: Final Fantasy is a game that won't please the majority of the audience. It's a bit in between genres. Fighter fans will feel there are too many rpg elements, while RPG fans will feel it lacks depth. Square Enix also assumes that everyone knows the entire Final Fantasy history, catering this game towards the fans. Everyone else should try this game before buying it.
  3. Dissidia: Final Fantasy is technically the best PSP game so far. Also it’s a lot of fun to fight with the characters out of the different parts of the Final Fantasy series.