User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 114 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 98 out of 114
  2. Negative: 11 out of 114

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. KevinP
    Aug 29, 2009
    10
    Definitely a great game worthy of the Final Fantasy name. It's very addicting and while the voice acting seems to be the only aspect of this game that is not that spectacular, once you've played enough you'd surely learn to appreciate them.
  2. SeanJ
    Aug 27, 2009
    10
    Now THIS is how a crossover game should be done. Square Enix has crafted a true RPG fighting game with Dissidia: Final Fantasy -- one where the characters don't feel like crummy imitations of themselves (see: Ehrgeiz). Dissidia goes beyond the typical "punch-kick-block" mechanics of fighting games and gives you an arsenal of evasion techniques, power moves, combo chains, and summons Now THIS is how a crossover game should be done. Square Enix has crafted a true RPG fighting game with Dissidia: Final Fantasy -- one where the characters don't feel like crummy imitations of themselves (see: Ehrgeiz). Dissidia goes beyond the typical "punch-kick-block" mechanics of fighting games and gives you an arsenal of evasion techniques, power moves, combo chains, and summons that you can pull off as your characters zip around spacious 3D arenas. You can get into melees in mid-air. You can deflect projectiles by timing a strike correctly. You can build your characters into the ultimate fighters by leveling up and gaining equipment. Forget about the story complaints some people have -- they're trivial. Instead, focus on the insane amount of fan service crammed into this title. It's a must-have for any FF fan! Expand
  3. Feb 17, 2011
    10
    A reunion of almost all the Final Fantasy antagonists and protagonists, fighting for two "new" gods Chaos and Cosmos - what's more do you need? Yes, the story is lame, but the action is vibrant and lively, the graphics is top notch for PSP, the control is seamless (albeit with some slight learning curve), and the soundtracks are to die for! As a PSP game, it is a must pick, and as a FinalA reunion of almost all the Final Fantasy antagonists and protagonists, fighting for two "new" gods Chaos and Cosmos - what's more do you need? Yes, the story is lame, but the action is vibrant and lively, the graphics is top notch for PSP, the control is seamless (albeit with some slight learning curve), and the soundtracks are to die for! As a PSP game, it is a must pick, and as a Final Fantasy game, I personally think it could beat up all the games in the franchise. Expand
  4. Sep 16, 2011
    9
    The biggest strength of Dissidia is its explosive, breathtaking battles in the sky and on land. Each character has their own unique set of moves and mastering each of them gives the game replay value. Purchasing accessories, weapons and items adds depth and gives you something to work towards. The games' weaknesses stem from an uninteresting plot and painful dialogue that is filled withThe biggest strength of Dissidia is its explosive, breathtaking battles in the sky and on land. Each character has their own unique set of moves and mastering each of them gives the game replay value. Purchasing accessories, weapons and items adds depth and gives you something to work towards. The games' weaknesses stem from an uninteresting plot and painful dialogue that is filled with empty angst and the recycled use of the words dreams, friends and hope. This game will obviously appeal more to FF fans but I think anyone can appreciate the most innovative fight mechanics on the PSP. Expand
  5. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Final Fantasy Dissidia is a fighting consisting of characters from the first 10 main franchise titles (I-X) and includes some additional characters from XI and XII. The game includes a unique battle system that combines RPG and fighting elements. Both fans of the FF series and fighting fans will surely love this game. With a total of up to 20 characters with 2 additional characters,Final Fantasy Dissidia is a fighting consisting of characters from the first 10 main franchise titles (I-X) and includes some additional characters from XI and XII. The game includes a unique battle system that combines RPG and fighting elements. Both fans of the FF series and fighting fans will surely love this game. With a total of up to 20 characters with 2 additional characters, players may customize their characters with equips and techniques making different combination of attacks possible. Along with that a very long storyline with all sorts of twists and turns never before seen. Fans will surely live the nostalgic life when playing this game. The sound effects and music are revitalize in this game and graphics are clear and crisp. Fans will surely enjoy this perfect fighting RPG classic. Expand
  6. Nov 20, 2011
    9
    A recommended not only fighting game to fans of Final Fantasy, but also for fans of fighting games with RPG touches. With a a story with many gaps, the best graphics of the PSP for a fighting game, a incredible OST with the best of the Final Fantasy (including main characters fighting face to face) and a high level of replay value, Square Enix shows that not only makes RPG
  7. Jan 20, 2012
    10
    When I first saw this game. I thought of it as an adventure rather than a fighting combat kind of thing. So I bought it. When I first tried it. I thought is as a lame game. But when I unlocked more characters and clothing I got hooked up. I wanted more. So I bought the prequel to this game, Dissidia 012: Duodecim Final Fantasy.
  8. BrandonW
    Sep 10, 2009
    9
    The games fights are dynamic and very much skill based as they are equipment and abilities based. You can't really play with out a complete combination of all these together. There are so many fighting styles in this that I can't even start to touch on them. The story mode is board based that leads to each fight. Some fights have conditions to meet to get bonuses for when you The games fights are dynamic and very much skill based as they are equipment and abilities based. You can't really play with out a complete combination of all these together. There are so many fighting styles in this that I can't even start to touch on them. The story mode is board based that leads to each fight. Some fights have conditions to meet to get bonuses for when you complete the board. You can start a fight and finish the enemy in one combo or 50 moves later with no one hurt. Its all based on skill and position really. I love it and give this game 2 thumbs freaking way up. The cut scenes are also top notch. Expand
  9. dustin
    Oct 21, 2009
    9
    Final Fantasy Dissidia overwhelmed me with its gameplay videos and didn't disappoint with its arrival. Amazing graphics, voice actors, gameplay, and replay value; the average person could easily have over 100 hours of gameplay and still not have beaten the game totally. AdHoc adds the real fun to the game, where you rage at and dominate your friends, and can be played with the PS3 Final Fantasy Dissidia overwhelmed me with its gameplay videos and didn't disappoint with its arrival. Amazing graphics, voice actors, gameplay, and replay value; the average person could easily have over 100 hours of gameplay and still not have beaten the game totally. AdHoc adds the real fun to the game, where you rage at and dominate your friends, and can be played with the PS3 over the PSN now. Graphics are PS2 quality in FMVs and wayy beyond your normal PSP game in battles. Most of your favorite songs are here too, like Dark Messenger, Otherworld, One Winged Angel, and many more! On the same note, certain voice actors, Zidane, Cloud, I'm looking at you, make the character seem emo and flat, as per Cloud, or just out of place and annoying, Zidane. The game also heavily revolves around blocking and dodging and will get annoying especially when the CPU anticipates this better than your average player. It would have also been nice to add minigames or something other than fighting but all in all, it's amazing. I hate how half of the reviewers haven't even played the game, yes, it is difficult, but if you find it that difficult, go back to playing halo 3 or some casual DS games, suited to your style. Expand
  10. JonathanPastorello
    Sep 18, 2009
    9
    This game is not only addicting but is a wonder for final fantasy fans! It has so much depth yet is easy to pick up when you first play. It has so much extra content which is just amazing. The graphics are stunning and the story mode is amazingly well kept together.
  11. PaulG
    Sep 4, 2009
    9
    I must admit I am pleasantly surprised. A game like this from Square Enix cannot be good can it? I bought it for the 3D renderings of my favorite chars and the awesome re arranged sound track. I really didnt expect it to be that enjoyable. It turns out that its simple formula is quite clever. There are lots of things you can do and lots of rewards and items. The story is really simple for I must admit I am pleasantly surprised. A game like this from Square Enix cannot be good can it? I bought it for the 3D renderings of my favorite chars and the awesome re arranged sound track. I really didnt expect it to be that enjoyable. It turns out that its simple formula is quite clever. There are lots of things you can do and lots of rewards and items. The story is really simple for a Final Fantasy title but weaving together a story for all the main characters and bosses of each game is really hard as well as coming up with personalities for characters from the 8bit and 16bit eras. Not to mention this is a borderline fighting game and for a fighting game this has the best story telling on all levels. I recommend it to anyone with a PSP. Expand
  12. Sep 8, 2010
    9
    This game is a break from reality. I bought this game because i had a psp go and was dieing for Kingdom Hearts BBS, but if you have been following the latest news on psp and psp go BBS isn't available for the psp go and chances are sadly that it might never be. So knowing Square Enix was behind BBS i thought id give Dissidia a try as an attempt to scratch the itch. And was i pleasantlyThis game is a break from reality. I bought this game because i had a psp go and was dieing for Kingdom Hearts BBS, but if you have been following the latest news on psp and psp go BBS isn't available for the psp go and chances are sadly that it might never be. So knowing Square Enix was behind BBS i thought id give Dissidia a try as an attempt to scratch the itch. And was i pleasantly surprised! If your a Final Fantasy fan this game is a must, if you know nothing about FF this game is still a must. At time its frustrating in difficulty but nothing is more satisfying then destroying your foe with a monster of an attack that after dodging a sure loss. I battle mechanics take some time to get used to but this game is going for $19.99 on PSN right now and ill tell you this game is easily worth $39.99. Expand
  13. Dec 6, 2014
    9
    Overall, it made for an interesting fighting game, mixed in with RPG elements. The story was pretty interesting and the combat is fun and addicting. Certainly a must-buy for any Final Fantasy fan. 9/10
  14. Jan 16, 2015
    10
    Great game. It wasn't attractive at first with the courage points and one set of combos/attacks for a button and a direction, but after a while, I could not stop playing. I mean I got to level 100 with Cloud, Squall, and Sephiroth within a month, and every round I would always aim for 9999 courage points, and then attack (now I realize it was really nonstrategic). The game feels amazingGreat game. It wasn't attractive at first with the courage points and one set of combos/attacks for a button and a direction, but after a while, I could not stop playing. I mean I got to level 100 with Cloud, Squall, and Sephiroth within a month, and every round I would always aim for 9999 courage points, and then attack (now I realize it was really nonstrategic). The game feels amazing balanced, the game-play itself is smooth (ex. dodging, moving, etc.) and I love the EX mode where the characters do amazing finishers. Expand
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 61 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 61
  2. Negative: 1 out of 61
  1. Fighting game with popular characters from the famous Final Fantasy series comes (unsurprisingly) with RPG elements and goes very well with it. [Oct 2009]
  2. 69
    Dissidia: Final Fantasy is a game that won't please the majority of the audience. It's a bit in between genres. Fighter fans will feel there are too many rpg elements, while RPG fans will feel it lacks depth. Square Enix also assumes that everyone knows the entire Final Fantasy history, catering this game towards the fans. Everyone else should try this game before buying it.
  3. Dissidia: Final Fantasy is technically the best PSP game so far. Also it’s a lot of fun to fight with the characters out of the different parts of the Final Fantasy series.