Final Fantasy Tactics: The War of the Lions Image
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 175 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: [Metacritic's 2007 PSP Game of the Year] Originally released in 1997, Final Fantasy Tactics: The War of the Lions is a portable update on the classic turn-based strategy game that gave birth to the world of Ivalice. In development exclusively for the PSP system, FINAL FANTASY TACTICS: The[Metacritic's 2007 PSP Game of the Year] Originally released in 1997, Final Fantasy Tactics: The War of the Lions is a portable update on the classic turn-based strategy game that gave birth to the world of Ivalice. In development exclusively for the PSP system, FINAL FANTASY TACTICS: The Lion War features PSP system exclusive content not found on the original classic including all-new CG sequences, all-new jobs, new 16:9 widescreen presentation, new head-to-head multiplayer and new storyline elements that refine the genesis of the IVALICE ALLIANCE. [Square Enix] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. A masterpiece of art and design. Its technicalities might take a little time to get to grips with but, once understood, this distinguished and exemplary video game demands to be savoured and adored.
  2. Combine its lengthy single-player experience with the new co-op and head-to-head modes, and you can’t help but love this classic reborn.
  3. A rare breed. Despite being a veritable grandfather of console RPGs, a galvanized retranslation and timeless gameplay make for a feline that simply refuses to age. If you missed it the first time, don’t miss it again.
  4. Whether you have the PSone original or have just begun to appreciate the value of a great strategy/RPG, Final Fantasy Tactics: The War of the Lions is not a must-play release – it is a must-own.
  5. Epic, tactical and polished - this will work your brain. [Nov 2007, p.82]
  6. 85
    Overall, FFT: The War of the Lions is an impressive port to the PSP. A solid title is always welcomed in the rather hungry for games handheld and this game packs so much content you'll be busy with your PSP for a while.
  7. 70
    War of the Lions is a good game, but players who've never played Final Fantasy Tactics might find it a bit old and cumbersome, while veterans may find the new game a little scant on new content.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 41
  2. Negative: 7 out of 41
  1. Fel
    May 19, 2008
    10
    People can say the Psone version of this game was better, or is better Disgaea, but this are the things, people who played the first and laterPeople can say the Psone version of this game was better, or is better Disgaea, but this are the things, people who played the first and later want to play this new one of course will say the game is bad, is because YOU ARE PLAYING THE SAME GAME, and prefer games similar but recent ones, i have to say Disgaea for example is a great game too, but this one is epic, thats all. Expand
  2. Jun 23, 2014
    10
    I'm giving it a 10 because FF Tactics deserves no less. HOWEVER, I really do not like this remake. They did a better job with the Tactics OgreI'm giving it a 10 because FF Tactics deserves no less. HOWEVER, I really do not like this remake. They did a better job with the Tactics Ogre remake. I would rather play the PS One Classic than this. Some sound quality issues are present and can be noticed when compared to playing the original (e.g. on Vita).

    I don't like the writing style at all. Whoever they hired to write the new translation needs to never write dialogue again. I actually prefer the Engrish of the original game to this verbose crap that they call good dialogue. I get what they were going for (medieval feel) but it's annoying, confusing and feels corny.

    Still, same game with same plot, music and mechanics, so I have to give it a 10, because FFT is still amazing.
    Expand
  3. CharlieM
    Oct 4, 2009
    10
    Let us see, I have sunk 190 hours into and I am still finding things to do, the replayability borders into the insane, The main story willLet us see, I have sunk 190 hours into and I am still finding things to do, the replayability borders into the insane, The main story will take about 30 or so hours to complete, then level your party to 99 takes quite a bit of time. Finally getting Mastered Dark Knight is one of the greater feats of this game. A level 8 Onion Knight is the other. A master of magics with an Arithimatics special ability.There is just so much to do after you beat the game, there is even an added dungeon called Midlight's Deep where you can learn the fabled Zodiarc summon. A new multiplayer mode with hundreds of great items, some exclusive. Grab a friend and play, or for the extremely hardcore, just get a second psp, maybe you need an upgrade anyways? If you are a completionist this game will keep your plate full for a long long time. Anyone who gives this game an actual zero is just plain ignorant, especially if they claim this game was their favorite game. This was one of my favorite games from the Psone and I welcomed the new victorian english dialogue, it made the playthrough more interesting, instead of guessing every line. I enjoyed 12 as well, props to putting in *Spoilers* Balthier! *Spoilers* Anyways if you give it anything less then like a 4 you are just plain donkey and an attention who.re trying to purposely bring one of the greatests games of all times rating down just because you can. Expand
  4. GautamM
    Oct 14, 2008
    9
    Ok i have played a whole lotta srpgs...disgaea,jda,ffta...i tried playing fft for the the 1st time and it just irritated me...the graphics Ok i have played a whole lotta srpgs...disgaea,jda,ffta...i tried playing fft for the the 1st time and it just irritated me...the graphics werent half as good as disgaea or jdc,the gameplay seemed too tedious blah blah blah..i actually gave it a chance for a long long LONG time...i would have quit most other games a long time ago..but when i finally got the hang of it...i cudnt put it down...the job system,the storyline and com to think of it..even the watered down graphics seemed to charm me in ways i didnt think it cud...love this game...very hard and yet very addictive...could have been more streamlined and made up to date with maybe better graphics but i live it all the same. Expand
  5. GautamMahajan
    Apr 22, 2009
    8
    Ok...So I finally finished playing the entire story in under 30 hrs..without the bonuses and secrets....and yes it was a fantastic game...theOk...So I finally finished playing the entire story in under 30 hrs..without the bonuses and secrets....and yes it was a fantastic game...the first srpg i completed and just very very deep and addictive.But more than a fair share of problems popped up.firstly the graphics are truly dated considering the power of the PSP and there is still a lot of slowdown during spells.The story arc went to very infantile in the last few hours and i found the story very difficult to follow because of the sheer number of characters and events.But to be fair,there is a neat chronicle section that can help you rewatch all the awesome new cutscenes and storyline.I also felt the difficulty arc was a joke.the first 8-10 hours i felt like i was going through some sick sadist's idea of a joke.it was THAT hard.i remember having to level grind 8-9 levels more to beat a certain boss character somewhere in the middle of the story line.but after i got a couple of storyline characters and after all the powerlevelling the ending felt like a joke.I beat the final boss in less than 10 minutes counting both forms.Inspite of all this,i still felt it was compelling and very very well made albeit they could have definitely improved it a LOT more in 2007.recommendation for all srpg fans.for people new to srpgs play jeanne d'arc or even ffta first to get the hang of the genre and then come back to fft. Expand
  6. MattS.
    Oct 4, 2007
    7
    I played FFT on the PS1 way back when, and Square Enix has basically ported over the exact same game, with a tweaked script and some cool new I played FFT on the PS1 way back when, and Square Enix has basically ported over the exact same game, with a tweaked script and some cool new anime cut-scenes. If you liked the original game, then you'll enjoy this just as much (I'm guessing that the review scores are reflecting lots of nostalgia for the old release). The bad? The game hasn't changed. The graphics, after the fantastic JEANNE D'ARC, look positively SNES-- The text is tiny and hard to read, the battle stages are small, and the characters have no personality. OK, I freely admit that JDA was my favorite game so far this year, and for me, this simple re-release of FFT just pales in comparison. Your mileage may vary. Expand
  7. HosenmangelWerner
    Sep 29, 2007
    0
    This game is too hard without cheats!

See all 41 User Reviews