User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 9 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 9
  2. Negative: 1 out of 9

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    screw the critics saying its repetitive... what do they want, some golf subsections with sudoku in the loading screens?? its ridiculous that these "critics" get jobs. its a fighting game.... you fight... i wouldn't expect anything more because im not an idiot pffffft.
    any way this game is sweeeeet... if you liked the film Gladiator, you'll love this.
  2. Mar 19, 2012
    9
    Extremely entertaining, all it takes is a few minutes of playing around to get the interface, which maybe overwhelmed the feeble brains of games magazine reviewers. This game is available for download on the Vita for $10 and in my opinion (and judging by the playtime it has gotten) it is one of the best value titles available. Especially good for anyone who likes customizing a fighter and climbing up the ranks. The combat is fun and requires skill to defeat the harder gladiators. recommended Expand
  3. Feb 24, 2012
    10
    Best PSP game ever! The slashes, the cool armors, the skills, the plot... i only have one thing to say: Perfect!!!! Screw the critics!!!! Hope the Vita will get a sequel to this awesome masterpiece!!!!!
  4. Mar 28, 2013
    9
    While not a direct tie-in to the “Gladiator” film by Ridley Scott, there are a few similarities. For starters, there are mentions of Marcus Aurelius and Commodus. There are is also the main plotline which is a slave rising up in the ranks to be a powerful gladiator. You start with an absolutely gigantic amount of debt, which is deducted from the winnings from tournaments. As well as this, you get to keep some credits for medical purposes, buying weapons and armour and improving weapons.

    You start by creating a character. In comparison, it bears resemblance to Monster Hunter and Gods Eater Burst in that you choose a male or female character, hairstyle, athetic build, skin tone and more. There is no voice acting so your character’s name is mentioned frequently. The phrases and terms used match the historical references to real-life gladiators and roman soldiers. The plot is a typical rags-to-riches story and isn’t particularly imaginative, but does give the player some context to work towards.

    The range of weapons is good, with staffs, swords, daggers, axes, knuckledusters and more. With shields you have small circular ones, large rectangle shaped ones made from a variety of different materials. You also have helmets, arm braces, leg braces and the clothes you wear under your armour. You earn a couple of weapons from each battle, and can use these to increase your arsenal of weaponry.

    As you progress through the game, you level up a variety of different skills. One which needs to be improved is the skill governing weight, as this is what you need to carry the more heavy and better defensing equipment. You can also increase the amount of health you have and the stamina your character has. Stamina effects how many swings of your weapon you can make before you need to recover.

    Graphically it is on par with some of the PSP’s best games. The armour looks realistic, the character faces look good and the animations are fluid enough for it to be believable. The music and sounds are good and reflect the era well. Battles take place in small circular arenas in a sandy environment. Typically there are fence posts or metallic grates on the side of the arena which prevents people from leaving. Battles themselves consist of either 1v1 fights, battle royale survival matches or team based battles. Most of the enemies are fellow Gladiators, but there are some animals as well (presumably for special battles).

    There is blood in this game (as weapons come in contact with flesh rather than armour), but it is not exceptionally violent. There is no dismemberment and it can be assumed that most gladiators survive to fight another day. The language in this game is suited to that particular era and so does not contain any modern colloquialisms or swear words.
    Expand
  5. Feb 26, 2012
    10
    Well I have been playing the game for like a day now and i am enjoying it. I like that you have to work to get better. Would I say its the best....no its is fun but not the best. Would I tell others about the game....sure. I think there could had been more to the game. But it does sit nicely the way it is.
  6. Jan 31, 2013
    10
    Ok. This game is Repitative. But then do you expect a Gladiator to Dance around or goof up like School kids do ?? The Star of Gladiator begins is its Simple yet Addictive gameplay. Plus there are tons of Options for Customising the Gladiator, his Weapons, his Armor etc etc. The Animal Fights, Special Events are Grand & the day you finish this Game, you would just search for more games like this, I am very sure about that. I Did :-D Expand
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Jul 21, 2011
    60
    Fans of historical pseudo-realism will find the format intriguing but a disappointing fighting system nestling at its core scuppers much of the potential of Gladiator Begins.
  2. Jun 26, 2011
    52
    A thumbs down, we're afraid. [Issue#206, p.94]
  3. Not good enough to be set free, not bad enough to be tossed to the lions. [July 2011, p.95]