User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 501 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 38 out of 501

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 17, 2011
    10
    For a handheld game this is amazing. One is enthralled by the amazing landscape and the meticulous game play. Kratos as a character is the marlon brando of the gaming world and u just cant help but getting inside the mind of the character and feel his emotions
  2. Feb 12, 2012
    9
    The best PSP game I ever owned. I beat this game over ten times and unlocked a majority of the extras including the characters. Excellent game with decent replay value and extras to unlock to keep you blood thirsty for more!
  3. Jan 13, 2012
    10
    God of War: Chains of Olympus for the Playstation Portable was great as if gave my inner killer great Spartan rage!!SCEA did a beautiful job on the graphics as well!

    Good Job!

    10/10
  4. Oct 9, 2014
    6
    its the same game press x to win the game isn't very good and when it is the controls are horrible while its a fun game to play its not really a good game
  5. Mar 20, 2013
    9
    What a beatiful game. I´ve played it in PS3 in HD, but I´m pretty sure this is the best psp game. The Graphics, the story, the fresh weapons and magic.The bosses are great and this game has really nice difficulty, a bit frustrating in high modes. It has an awsome storyline, only a bit short for me. If you are a GOW fan you must play this one.
  6. Sep 20, 2012
    9
    This is the game that got me into the God of War series, its the first GOW that ive played and to me its a classic. If you've played god of war before than you'll love this game,they've taken nothing you love about the series out and u even get some cool moments with Kratos's family. The only problem i personally have with the game is how long it is.....which isnt very long.It took meThis is the game that got me into the God of War series, its the first GOW that ive played and to me its a classic. If you've played god of war before than you'll love this game,they've taken nothing you love about the series out and u even get some cool moments with Kratos's family. The only problem i personally have with the game is how long it is.....which isnt very long.It took me exactyly 3 and a half hours to be it every time i beat it,and a lot of people complain about the boss fights,how there are not enough. There are enough you fight two of the bosses twice,and the last boss is so cinematic you can compare it to anything on the console games. If you have a psp or now a vita then either buy it or download it because its well worth your money Expand
  7. Apr 11, 2012
    10
    Realy good one. I don't understand why people stamp 1 or 0 score on it. That is just not fair.
  8. Jul 25, 2013
    9
    I played this game on Vita and this is still one of the best title I can get on this hendheld. Great story, great gameplay, so much fun. Love GOW, I am waiting for the GOW title espacially for PS Vita.
  9. Mar 26, 2014
    10
    This is a gem for every player with excellent graphics for the time, it's time to say that after the two God of War Games, this is awesome game to play.
  10. JamesD
    Jan 18, 2010
    10
    This is without a doubt my favourite PSP game. The action, the graphics and the story all hold up brilliantly. The controls are compensated very beneficially which makes the combat easy to pick up and play and the amount of depth you get is enormous. Some may say it's too short or it lacks the craft of its PS2 bretherans but those are absurd remarks. Ready at Dawn have provided a This is without a doubt my favourite PSP game. The action, the graphics and the story all hold up brilliantly. The controls are compensated very beneficially which makes the combat easy to pick up and play and the amount of depth you get is enormous. Some may say it's too short or it lacks the craft of its PS2 bretherans but those are absurd remarks. Ready at Dawn have provided a masterpiece. As for the action, I wouldn't have it any other way. Expand
  11. MikeM.
    Apr 16, 2008
    7
    A mediocre game. No multiplayer was a big disappointment for me personally, I've come to expect more than just 1 player games these days. The graphics are the best feature. The controls are rather simplistic and it gets a tad repetitive. This is not a game warranting over 80 scores, so it is clearly being overhyped. Knowing Sony, they probably paid for more viral marketing and biased A mediocre game. No multiplayer was a big disappointment for me personally, I've come to expect more than just 1 player games these days. The graphics are the best feature. The controls are rather simplistic and it gets a tad repetitive. This is not a game warranting over 80 scores, so it is clearly being overhyped. Knowing Sony, they probably paid for more viral marketing and biased reviews. Expand
  12. Oct 10, 2011
    5
    My favorite part of this high-intensity action game is wandering around hallways with no enemies, pushing blocks around for fifteen minutes. So badass! The great graphics really enhance the hardcore "press square repeatedly to kill everything on screen and automatically win" gameplay. I like to watch Jersey Shore unironically, so you can imagine how much I appreciate shallow things.
  13. Aug 28, 2010
    8
    I loved this game. The controls were amazingg, the story was good, and just everything about it was great... Except for the fact that it has no replay value. I beat it in 9 hours, (I know, I took my time.) And I bought it for $12 so I guess thats alright. But I wanna continue killing stuff as Kratos without doing another campaign. I'm just one of those people that dont replay the campaignI loved this game. The controls were amazingg, the story was good, and just everything about it was great... Except for the fact that it has no replay value. I beat it in 9 hours, (I know, I took my time.) And I bought it for $12 so I guess thats alright. But I wanna continue killing stuff as Kratos without doing another campaign. I'm just one of those people that dont replay the campaign on videogames. Expand
  14. Nov 4, 2010
    10
    Almost everything from the PS2 titles is brought to the PSP just about flawlessly. All of the combos you know are here, as are magics, weapons, quick-time events, goofy unlockable costumes, etc. Anyone who played GoW will find that this looks & plays just like they remember. I thought it controlled well too, and that's what most people gripe about on the PSP. The few minor complaintsAlmost everything from the PS2 titles is brought to the PSP just about flawlessly. All of the combos you know are here, as are magics, weapons, quick-time events, goofy unlockable costumes, etc. Anyone who played GoW will find that this looks & plays just like they remember. I thought it controlled well too, and that's what most people gripe about on the PSP. The few minor complaints are the same too: short duration, not enough story, never enough boss fights. Overall though, it's brutally good. Expand
  15. Nov 11, 2010
    9
    Great fun and fresh experience. Stays true to GoW heritage. Great graphics that stays at high framerate. Great sound and music. Wish the game was longer but that's a good sign.
  16. Sep 10, 2011
    8
    It may not be the best game in the series but this is definitely one of, if not the best game on the PSP, the graphics are amazing, I was shocked that this was a PSP game, the soundtrack is awesome, and if you were worried that the controls would suffer don't be, if you played a game in this series before you will instantly grasp the controls, only one or to minor adjustments were made butIt may not be the best game in the series but this is definitely one of, if not the best game on the PSP, the graphics are amazing, I was shocked that this was a PSP game, the soundtrack is awesome, and if you were worried that the controls would suffer don't be, if you played a game in this series before you will instantly grasp the controls, only one or to minor adjustments were made but they never caused me any problem, and the action is just as fun and gory as you remember it, and the new weapons are awesome, the Gauntlet of Zeus is particularly cool, my main problem is that tis adventure isn't as memorable as the first two games on the PS2, the story which takes place before the events of the first game and tells about Kratos time serving the gods, wasn't really all that great, basically the world is in trouble and Kratos needs to kill stuff, nothing really all that interesting, but it does pack an emotional moment that really makes you feel for Kratos, and it is pretty short, but things like un-lockable costumes and videos, and the challenge of hades mode will make you come back once or twice more, it's not the best in the series but if your a fan of the series who owns a PSP, or just a PSP owner looking for a great game, you really should get this, it's a huge achievement for the PSP. Expand
  17. Jun 6, 2011
    10
    Best PSP GameBest PSP Game Ever!......................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................... Expand
  18. BenjiBoy
    Mar 5, 2009
    5
    However did this average button masher get so overrated? The graphics are nice and there are a few half decent puzzles, but the game play is mostly dull and the story hard to care about. Also, is the main character supposed to be a pastiche of everything wrong with American game heroes? Or do the developers just have no sense of humor at all? Put it right on the bottom of your PSP wish However did this average button masher get so overrated? The graphics are nice and there are a few half decent puzzles, but the game play is mostly dull and the story hard to care about. Also, is the main character supposed to be a pastiche of everything wrong with American game heroes? Or do the developers just have no sense of humor at all? Put it right on the bottom of your PSP wish list and don't let it move from there! Expand
  19. VincentV.
    Apr 8, 2008
    5
    Kind of disappointing. The commercials made me expect a lot more. Had it not been for that I would've given it a 7. Good graphics, good gameplay, all round OKAY game...
  20. BrydenJ
    Oct 18, 2009
    7
    Contrary to what others are saying, this game wasn't great. It was good, don't get me wrong, but it isn't the greatness that other people say it is. The game looked great but was too short. To me, Chains of olympus felt like God of War Lite. It just didn't feel like pure God of War.
  21. JhonnyAppleseed
    Feb 26, 2008
    1
    Did not like it. Very boring and slow.
  22. SimonG.
    Mar 10, 2008
    8
    It's great, no doubt about that! They totally managed to fit God of War on a portable. It's just way too short... less than 5 hours. With multiple save points, it's not supposed to matter how long a game is. I recommand you play at hard difficulty level so that you can stretch it for hopefully an extra hour. If the game would've last just another 2 hours, I It's great, no doubt about that! They totally managed to fit God of War on a portable. It's just way too short... less than 5 hours. With multiple save points, it's not supposed to matter how long a game is. I recommand you play at hard difficulty level so that you can stretch it for hopefully an extra hour. If the game would've last just another 2 hours, I would've gave the game a 10. Expand
  23. BenjaminL.
    Apr 18, 2008
    7
    This game is amazing to look at and the play is tremendous but it lacks durability. I completed it on normal within a week and although mini-games are opened up, I am not sure whether this will draw me back to the game. However, that is the only disappointments with this game but it is a biggie. Like I said, the game is stunning and one of the most impressive games to grace the PSP.
  24. Apr 27, 2011
    9
    9/10 = Amazing = This is one of the PSP's greatest titles. Excellent and very badass action game.
  25. JamesConvery
    Sep 4, 2008
    1
    When you have a game that can pull off large epic vistas, an intuitive combat system and any excuse for an abundant amount of half naked ladies, it
  26. Sep 16, 2011
    0
    Its definatly not a bad game, but its pretty disappointing, only about 3 bosses. The graphics are nice, but the game kinda gets repetitive and creepy. The story is kinda uninteresting. Comparing to this Persona 3 portable. God of war simply has no replay value, nothing fun about it, not much variety, nothing new or cool to explore, no eastereggs, etc. The story of Persona 3 was so wellIts definatly not a bad game, but its pretty disappointing, only about 3 bosses. The graphics are nice, but the game kinda gets repetitive and creepy. The story is kinda uninteresting. Comparing to this Persona 3 portable. God of war simply has no replay value, nothing fun about it, not much variety, nothing new or cool to explore, no eastereggs, etc. The story of Persona 3 was so well done, characters, developement, it was also a very long game. God of War was way too short. It is impressive for 2008 and if this game were released now, it would probably get a lower score. But the main problem is that its very forgettable. The bosses arent that fun. And it gets too repetitive. Expand
  27. ChandeepS.
    Oct 1, 2008
    10
    Its tottally awesome-great graphics and skull ripping strategy.
  28. RaphaelW.
    Mar 10, 2008
    10
    Best PSP game ever simply.
  29. MikeS.
    Jul 20, 2008
    10
    For the brief time it lasts, CHAINS is and epic gaming experience, and probably the greatest game ever produced for the PSP, and the greatest the system will ever see.
  30. SaimC
    May 30, 2009
    10
    The God of War Franchise has been well known and is now even referred as the trademark franchise of the Playstation brand by some people, God of War and God of War II were released on the PS2 and God of War III will be released for The PS3, so it was not a surprise when God of War: Chains of Olympus was announced for the PSP. As the previous God of War games were instant classics this one The God of War Franchise has been well known and is now even referred as the trademark franchise of the Playstation brand by some people, God of War and God of War II were released on the PS2 and God of War III will be released for The PS3, so it was not a surprise when God of War: Chains of Olympus was announced for the PSP. As the previous God of War games were instant classics this one continues the legacy because this is by far the best PSP Game I have played. Set halfway before the events of the first God of War game, Making this a prequel, The game focuses on the 10 year span in which Kratos was serving the Gods of Olympus. The game begins in the City of Attica where Kratos has been sent by the gods to defeat the Persian King, who plans on "cleansing the land Expand
  31. Zachd
    May 5, 2009
    10
    Without a doubt, the best game I've played on PSP. The graphics are amazing, the gameplay is incredible, and the storyline is really interesting and, oddly enough, educational in some ways. I normally stick to puzzle, sports, or racing games, but once I played the demo, I knew I had to have this game. And, it's easy enough to play through on easy that you can get acclimated to Without a doubt, the best game I've played on PSP. The graphics are amazing, the gameplay is incredible, and the storyline is really interesting and, oddly enough, educational in some ways. I normally stick to puzzle, sports, or racing games, but once I played the demo, I knew I had to have this game. And, it's easy enough to play through on easy that you can get acclimated to the game and play through it again and again on the harder difficulties. I would recommend this game to anyone who owns a PSP. and, if you're considering buying a PSP, do it, and then get this game. Collapse
  32. Nick
    Jun 25, 2009
    8
    Its a really great destruction game and all with a wide variety of fun puzzles, but in the end, there isn't much variety and once you beat the game, you could beat it again and again, but for what? It will certainly impress you and I recommend it, but it's not the best game for psp out there, This game will probably keep you busy for 2 or 3 weeks.
  33. TonyL
    Dec 20, 2008
    9
    What a beautiful game! I've heard comments about it being too short, but really I thought for a portable game that the length was about right. My only gripe is that the boss battles especially rely too much on random button presses, that you have to perform extremely quickly. This can be brutal, not to mention frustrating if you screw it up. That being said, it's an incredible What a beautiful game! I've heard comments about it being too short, but really I thought for a portable game that the length was about right. My only gripe is that the boss battles especially rely too much on random button presses, that you have to perform extremely quickly. This can be brutal, not to mention frustrating if you screw it up. That being said, it's an incredible game. Wish the PSP had more like it. Expand
  34. CoryD.
    Dec 7, 2008
    8
    This game looks really good, and plays well, but the truth is: anyone slamming buttons on this one would win. You can beat this game in a few hours tops. Despite being really good, it's also really easy to play through. On the PSP, however, sometimes a game that's easy to play isn't exactly easy to find. I'm still not sure it deserves to be called the best game on the This game looks really good, and plays well, but the truth is: anyone slamming buttons on this one would win. You can beat this game in a few hours tops. Despite being really good, it's also really easy to play through. On the PSP, however, sometimes a game that's easy to play isn't exactly easy to find. I'm still not sure it deserves to be called the best game on the system, but it also doesn't really bother me that people think it is. Expand
  35. MiloszS.
    Feb 28, 2008
    10
    The best game on PSP!
  36. Drakkenmensch
    Mar 12, 2008
    10
    When gamers play an action battle game, they want bloody satisfaction - Chains of Olympus delivers it by the bucketloads, and leaves us begging for more, more, MORE! The sounds are fabulous, the voice acting impeccable, the graphics mind-bending for a portable console. It's also worth noting that loading times are non-existant, each scene flowing seamlessly into one another.
  37. EmirE.
    Mar 3, 2008
    10
    This is by far the best PSP game I've ever played. Its also amazing to know that such game can be played anywhere you go, all in the palm of your hand.
  38. SerjM.
    Mar 4, 2008
    10
    Best game to date! SICK graphics!
  39. PaulN.
    Mar 4, 2008
    10
    Love it all day long! Addicting. MAJOR AAA title!
  40. JoseH.
    Mar 5, 2008
    10
    Incredible game, almost as good as the PS2 games in every way!
  41. Matt
    Mar 6, 2008
    10
    As excellent as gamers have come to expect from the series. Its one major downfall being the length of the campaign (I finished in in 5 hours flat). The quality of graphics, sound, gameplay and story however more than compensate for the game's brevity. Whets the appetite for God of War 3, which will bring about the inevitable necessity that is purchasing a PS3 (boo...).
  42. BF
    Mar 8, 2008
    10
    I love this game, it seriously is the best PSP game ever. System seller for sure.
  43. JenniH.
    Mar 8, 2008
    10
    This is the most impressive PSP game. Simply incredible.
  44. PrincePersia
    Mar 9, 2008
    10
    Basically, Short and Sweet. Just enough action to keep the soft and hardcore gamers satisfied alike. An ode to the franchise.
  45. ZackP.
    Mar 9, 2008
    10
    This is a fantastic game that pushes the PSP to its limits in every way possible. The gauntlet of Zeus adds a twist of variety into the gameplay and the different magic will keep any type of gamer entertained. The story is narrated fabulously, and even though there are few boss fights, they are very rewarding. The only complaint I have is that the game is kind of short, but the difficult This is a fantastic game that pushes the PSP to its limits in every way possible. The gauntlet of Zeus adds a twist of variety into the gameplay and the different magic will keep any type of gamer entertained. The story is narrated fabulously, and even though there are few boss fights, they are very rewarding. The only complaint I have is that the game is kind of short, but the difficult challenges and difficulty levels should keep you occupied fo a while. Expand
  46. TomD.
    Apr 9, 2008
    8
    First of all I want to say the graphics are a 11 while the controls are a little wishy washy and warrant a 7. Its very hard to pull off rotations on the little stub and I felt the overall fighting engine was a step down from it ps2 brethren which have more crisp controls. Also the game is pretty short and the final boss is a chick... Not a purchase a rental for a few days.
  47. AndrDT.
    May 1, 2008
    8
    The game isn't bad at all. Its really fun, but the ending was disappointing and it could have been a lot better.
  48. AlexA.
    May 31, 2008
    8
    Good Game, Great fun. This God of War Game was way to short and I unlocked everything in seven hours. I don't think this is the best psp game, but it sure set the bar for best graphics. If I was to rate this just for fun it would be a 10, but I don't think its worth $40 and should wait for The Destruction of the Gods game for ps3.
  49. PierreP.
    Jul 25, 2008
    8
    Esthetically extremely pleasing; however the faint and slightly forced puzzle element that prevents the game from becoming a mere 'hack and slash' game and repetitive action sequences get a bit boring after time.
  50. JohnY.
    Aug 10, 2008
    10
    This game is amazing. Perhaps the best game for psp. Along with Final Fantasy Crisis Core. Don't listen to all these guys whining about the controls. OF COURSE ITS NOT GOING TO PLAY LIKE A PS2 GAME FOOLS!!! It's a handheld system with one analog stick. You're just stupid if you don't like this game. Rate the ps2 games and get out of the psp forums. AWESOME GAME.
  51. WilliamC.
    Sep 30, 2008
    10
    Bought the God OF Wars game that came with the special edition psp model. Was the best investment I made. The psp is badass in red with the Ghost OF Spartan face on the back end and the game is still the best game in my collection of PSP games. And as a bonus it came with a free downloadable game and the movie superbad. Well worth the 200dollars. Even if you can't the the PSP game Bought the God OF Wars game that came with the special edition psp model. Was the best investment I made. The psp is badass in red with the Ghost OF Spartan face on the back end and the game is still the best game in my collection of PSP games. And as a bonus it came with a free downloadable game and the movie superbad. Well worth the 200dollars. Even if you can't the the PSP game GOD OF WAR theme that came with the game I highly recommend getting the game. The game is very additive and leaves you begging for more. Expand
  52. Tom
    Jan 3, 2009
    10
    This game had quite alot to live up to. With its bigger brothers being hugely critically, and commercialy sucssesful, this had to pull out all the stops to keep up with them. And i am pleased to announce that it has, and then some. The shear scale of the game has never before been done on a handheld before, and won't be for quite some time in my opinion. This game dosn't need This game had quite alot to live up to. With its bigger brothers being hugely critically, and commercialy sucssesful, this had to pull out all the stops to keep up with them. And i am pleased to announce that it has, and then some. The shear scale of the game has never before been done on a handheld before, and won't be for quite some time in my opinion. This game dosn't need its console counter parts to get it recognised, it does it, by it self. This game brings a new bench mark to action games, One that won't be passed for quite some time. Or until God Of War 3 comes out. Expand
  53. NiklasL
    Jul 28, 2009
    10
    The greatest game for the PSP, you can't imagine that you're playing a handheld!
  54. [anonymous]
    Jul 8, 2009
    10
    one of the best games on the psp! brutal fighting, beautiful graphics(especially for the psp) and immersing storyline. the only fault with this game is its only 6 hours long. but buy it anyway
  55. SixDemonBag
    Jan 22, 2010
    10
    This is one of the best games on PSP hands down. I bought this game and was shocked how close to a PS2 experience I recieved. It didn't feel like a handheld at all, the only difference from the console versions was the difficulty, which was a bit easier and had less tedious sections for Chains of Olympus. On top of all that the story, while not vital to the series, was engaging and This is one of the best games on PSP hands down. I bought this game and was shocked how close to a PS2 experience I recieved. It didn't feel like a handheld at all, the only difference from the console versions was the difficulty, which was a bit easier and had less tedious sections for Chains of Olympus. On top of all that the story, while not vital to the series, was engaging and addicting. This game is proof of why God of War is awsome. Expand
  56. [Anonymous]
    Oct 9, 2008
    10
    This game is superb. The graphical design on this elemental piece of technological concept is magnificent. This game pones all. I beat all noobes.
  57. Froz
    Feb 26, 2008
    10
    Amazing how they pulled this off on the PSP, game of the year EASY.
  58. Dave
    Mar 12, 2008
    10
    A must have for any PSP owner. Not to sound cliche, but it's true. I'm not even a GOW fan...and I can't wait to fire it up and play a little more. Yes, short...but this game packs a lot on the tiny UMD.
  59. MichaelD.
    Mar 21, 2008
    10
    This is the best psp game ever, there is so much detail in the levels I can't believe it. Everyone with a psp should bye this and it is a must have!
  60. StanleyM.
    Mar 4, 2008
    10
    I picked this game up early this morning and have been playing it every free moment I got. This game is absolutely amazing if you haven't played and God of War titles go buy all three games and a PSP. If you already have play them again!
  61. Dew
    Mar 7, 2008
    10
    This is a true AAA handheld title. It is the best game yet on the PSP, and the most technically impressive on a handheld. Everything about it oozes with high production values. The gameplay is solid and incredibly true to what you've come to love and expect from the series, the environment is immersive and polished to perfection, and a truly engaging storyline that fits right into This is a true AAA handheld title. It is the best game yet on the PSP, and the most technically impressive on a handheld. Everything about it oozes with high production values. The gameplay is solid and incredibly true to what you've come to love and expect from the series, the environment is immersive and polished to perfection, and a truly engaging storyline that fits right into the God of War saga. If you're a true gamer and a God of War fan, don't miss out on this game. Expand
  62. MikeB.
    Mar 9, 2008
    10
    I haven't been this hooked on a PSP game since Lumines! The BEST PSP game!
  63. MattJ.
    Apr 13, 2008
    10
    The best game on PSP, and probably among the best graphics too. And with such a good storyline and epic music, who cares about slightly messy controls? And don't forget those great mini-games.
  64. CarlosR.
    Apr 2, 2008
    9
    Great story, great visuals, great emotions drawn. I would have liked to have a longer game and more bosses to defeat.
  65. AlexanderY.
    Apr 9, 2008
    9
    Every PSP owner must have it!
  66. ChrisD.
    Apr 9, 2008
    9
    Since I bought my PSP I haven't really found any games that I cannot put down, then along came chains of olympus. This game is epic, it looks amazing and plays amazing too. I'm not the sort of person who clocks games in a couple of days, but did with this. I was gutted, because I was really getting into it. Overall though it was epic.
  67. Picorian
    Sep 21, 2009
    10
    This Game Rocks on the PSP! From beginning to End, it was the best PSP game I have ever played. I cant wait for the PS3 version to come out. It slows down at times, but the action more then makes up for it.
  68. BrendanM.
    Feb 27, 2008
    10
    Absolutely the best game on the psp, with stunning graphics and an amazing story line.
  69. DavidG.
    Mar 11, 2008
    10
    I would of preferred a decimal value to choose from because this game is not a perfect 10 for one reason and one reason only. Its too short. I give it a 10 though because a 9 just does not do this game justice.
  70. NanaF.
    Mar 12, 2008
    10
    Wow where to begin when talking about such a great PSP game. Chains of Olympus is an incredible accomplishment that features amazing graphics, captivating story line and smooth flowing gameplay. It's a game that will not let you put it down even after you beat it once. It fits in perfectly with the previoujs installments and is possibly one of the best prequels to a series I've Wow where to begin when talking about such a great PSP game. Chains of Olympus is an incredible accomplishment that features amazing graphics, captivating story line and smooth flowing gameplay. It's a game that will not let you put it down even after you beat it once. It fits in perfectly with the previoujs installments and is possibly one of the best prequels to a series I've seen. It feels good to finally have a reason to play the PSP. Expand
  71. Armo
    Mar 24, 2008
    9
    Brutal! Satisflying in everyway (including the romps). One of the best titles on the PSP to date.
  72. StefanT.
    Mar 25, 2008
    9
    best game I have played on PSP to date. Never thought I would like this type of game on PSP (normally have stuck to Sport games - soccer/baseball etc) but its a ton of fun and just hard enough to keep you engaged on normal level and has really great graphics and game play - feels like you are playing a game on Xbox 360 (almost).
  73. BearLee
    Nov 11, 2009
    10
    Amazing. One of the best games for the psp. The story never gets boring, the weapons are awesome, and the bad guys are so fun to rip apart. SO!!?? What are you waiting for? GET OFF YOUR SEAT AND BUY THIS GAME!!
  74. Jun 15, 2011
    9
    i love god of war. i just wanted to get that out of the way. i got this game not 1 day ago and it lags like nothing else. i mean it doesn't break the game or ruin the experience but its majorly distracting. but everything else is good!
  75. Jan 10, 2013
    3
    wow. another button masher. god of was, obviously, is a graphic, enemies and X button. Here we got average graphic, enemies and X button. Developers, please, use all buttons of this console. There is O left to X, really.
  76. Jan 31, 2013
    10
    God Of War is Indeed the God of All PSP Games so Far. No Second Thoughts on that. The Moment you start playing this Game, you will find it hard enough to keep that frikkin psp Away !!
  77. Aug 14, 2013
    0
    All of the hype and great ratings brought me towards the game and the horrible system and simple bosses brought me away from the PSP. Simply said, this game offered no challenge and the random sex scene in the game proved to be pointless.
  78. Apr 11, 2015
    10
    A great game that captivates you and does not bore you. Full of thrills and chills. The choice of weapons that we have is also nice, though you tend to use blades of chaos more often. It does not take time to get comfortable with the game. One of the best games I have played on PSP.
  79. AnonymousMC
    Nov 22, 2008
    7
    This is certainly NOT the best PSP game. Sure, it's very pleasing graphically, and its part of agreat series, but I feel like the only reason why it's rated so high is because of the "God of War" title.
    The story is mediocre at best. It's certainly not the best of the three games. The gameplay is excellent, but I found that the controls were very unresponsive. A lot of
    This is certainly NOT the best PSP game. Sure, it's very pleasing graphically, and its part of agreat series, but I feel like the only reason why it's rated so high is because of the "God of War" title.
    The story is mediocre at best. It's certainly not the best of the three games. The gameplay is excellent, but I found that the controls were very unresponsive. A lot of the times, you will spin the analog stick and the game will say you didn't This also happens with blocking, attacking, etc.
    Don't get me wrong, I liked the game. However, mediocre story, 7-8 play-through, and unresponsive controls make me not want to go through it again.
    Expand
  80. Nov 24, 2012
    8
    La jugabilidad es buena, los gráficos muy buenos para psp, el argumento es algo simple, no tiene la profundidad del God of War 3 de PS3, pero cumple para un juego de portátil, en mi opinión. Le falta algo de personalización, ya que sólo consigues 3 armas en todo el juego que mejoras hasta el máximo bastante antes de que termine el juego.
  81. Jan 12, 2013
    9
    A few minor errors but still a good game full of action and adventure. I don't really mind if there is no multi-player since i have the new PlayStation Portable. Defenetly worth the money.
  82. Sep 27, 2013
    8
    Chains of Olympus takes place before the original GOW, the gameplay is the same as the first GOW, the graphics are really good for a portable device and although the story is not as great as the other GOWs it is still pretty good.
  83. Sep 28, 2013
    9
    Todavía God of War es capaz de impresionarnos en la consola de PSP con la entrega "Chain of Olympus". En él se encuentra uno de los mejores finales en la historia de God of War, y aunque los gráficos no sean la gran cosa, ésta historia que no conocíamos sobre el oscuro pasado que atormenta a Kratos te mantendrá con lo ojos pegados a la pantalla de la PSP (no recomiendo jugarlo en PS3).
  84. Apr 8, 2014
    9
    Gameplay:
    Ready at Dawn did a stellar job on working the control scheme around the PSP's lack of a second analog stick. The controls are smooth and responsive, leading to seamless gameplay. Gameplay is identical to previous God of War's, you'll use a combination of weapons and magic to defeat your foes. The other sections of this game will comprise of puzzles, quick-time events, and few
    Gameplay:
    Ready at Dawn did a stellar job on working the control scheme around the PSP's lack of a second analog stick. The controls are smooth and responsive, leading to seamless gameplay. Gameplay is identical to previous God of War's, you'll use a combination of weapons and magic to defeat your foes. The other sections of this game will comprise of puzzles, quick-time events, and few boss battles that are included in the game. It is very impressive that the gameplay remained intact from it's console counterparts. It seems as if the limitations of the PSP are nonexistent. Unfortunately, the game is short in length, so the amazement doesn't last for long.

    Story:
    Chains of Olympus takes place before the original God of war, but after Ascension. Kratos, during his 10-year service to the Gods, is sent to Attica to destroy the invading Persian army. After the victory, Kratos experiences the fall of the sun, bringing darkness to the world. Kratos is subsequently tasked by Athena to find Helios, the Sun God. The game takes place in many settings, including Attica, The Temple of Helios, River Styx, Tartarus, and more. The storyline is strong, depicting Kratos' growing anger for the Gods and all of their requests. It answers questions from Kratos' past and shows the reasons for his anger in the main series.

    Graphics/Appearance:
    This game proved that if a talented developer took their time on crafting a game on the PSP, it could surpass some PS2 games graphically. The graphics are mind-blowing throughout the duration of the game. That's not to say there aren't any technical faults. The game has occasional screen tearing and frame rate drops. The good thing is it only occurs while roaming around the map and not during actual combat. It's very minor, and does not take away from the experience.

    Pros:
    -Smooth Controls
    -Good Story
    -Amazing Graphics
    -Console-Quality Experience

    Cons:
    -Short Length (5-8 Hours)
    -Occasional Screen Tearing and Frame Rate Drops

    Verdict:
    Anyone who owns a PSP and does not own Chains of Olympus, is doing themselves a disservice. I highly recommend this game! Casual gamers may not enjoy it because the game can become difficult in certain instances, but it shouldn't stop you from playing the game. The controls are smooth, the gameplay remains intact, and it feels like a console-experience.
    Expand
  85. Feb 8, 2014
    10
    This game is absolutely spectacular. It has great graphics for a PSP game. Game play is simple and fun, it doesn't frustrate you. Story is satisfying like the other games in the series. Boss fights are very exciting, I love it. And Kratos is awesome as usual. It deserves 10 out of 10.
  86. May 21, 2015
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I do not have to say anything. But i need to write one hundred and fifty characters. i think my score can describe it................................. Expand
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 79 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 78 out of 79
  2. Negative: 0 out of 79
  1. Is it as good as the two PS2 God of War games? Not quite, but it's close. The fact that a PSP port of God of War can be this close to the legendary originals is amazing.
  2. There are titles for every console that truly define the platform, and God of War: Chains of Olympus is one of those titles. Stunning graphics the likes of which we’ve never seen, an incredible soundtrack that rivals PS3/Xbox 360 titles, standout voice work, and gameplay that is on-par with the two previous PS2 titles makes this a must-own for any fan of the series.
  3. 100
    The PSP hasn’t yet seen a game with this much polish, this much visual punch, or this much bloody satisfaction. Everything feels meaty, be it the clash of weapon on flesh or the substantial amount of gameplay depth and environmental design. Not only is Chains of Olympus a worthy addition to the God of War franchise, it also stands on its own as a triple-A title in the PSP library.