LocoRoco PSP

Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 67 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 61 out of 67
  2. Negative: 0 out of 67
Buy On
  1. My favorite PSP game. It has beautiful visuals, wonderful songs, cute characters, simple gameplay that’s easy on the go, and a lot of replay value.
  2. 95
    When I play this game, it feels utterly complete. I don't find myself thinking that they should have had this thing or left out that thing, because every single bit of it just belongs.
  3. One could blast through the game in a few hours, but that would be missing the point. LocoRoco is meant to be a game where one sits back, relaxes, and enjoys a simple game to unwind with.
  4. Play UK
    94
    There is no denying that LocoRoco is the landmark PSP title. The effortless charm and relentless happiness hide one of the most complete games we've ever had the pleasure of playing. [Issue 142, p.72]
  5. PSM2 Magazine UK
    93
    The happiest game on PSP will cheer you up to no end. It's simple to pick up and play and equally hard to put down. This is the strongest handheld title we've played, well, ever. [July 2006, p.100]
  6. Pelit (Finland)
    93
    A refreshingly original platformer. The levels are magnificent and the physics work perfectly. [Aug 2006, p.43]
  7. Games Master UK
    92
    A large part of what makes Loco Roco such a joy is its complete lack of traditional gaming obstacles. Levels are largely squishy, curvy, cushioned affairs with no holes of doom to fall down or bad guys to shoot. [Aug 2006, p.69]
  8. A stunning achievement in modern gaming. It is entirely in 2D and uses only three buttons, but it is one of the best games available on the PSP.
  9. A success due to a number of reasons including an inspired artistic style that is simple but strikingly beautiful, characters that are both eccentric and charming, and a catchy soundtrack that you won't get out of your head.
  10. Aside from experimental unlocks and silly novelties, the LocoRoco experience is one of undiluted fun. If the tilting, blob moving puzzle-platforming doesn't warm your heart, then the catalogue of alarmingly addictive psychotic J-Pop tunes will have you dancing around the living room.
  11. You could breeze through the game in a few short hours, but it really doesn't matter. Those few hours will be some of the most joyous of your gaming life.
  12. Official Playstation 2 Magazine UK
    90
    A beautifully blended oddball collage of colour, sound and playability. Original and inventive - it's PSP gaming at its best. [July 2006, p.86]
  13. Gloriously cheerful and refreshingly original rock 'n' roll fun.
  14. It's the game that's finally got me using the PSP again, as opposed to just my DS. Unlike so many PSP ports and rehashes, it's perfectly suited to the system and perfectly suited to handheld gaming.
  15. games(TM)
    90
    The best thing on PSP by some way, LocoRoco is pure fun on a little silver disc. Destined for cult status – buy it now, before everyone else tells you to. [Aug 2006, p.110]
  16. Rock-and-roll gameplay to a J-pop beat, LocoRoco is a perfectly rounded handheld puzzler.
  17. It's extremely funny but at the same time littered with dark moments as your Locos are attacked by nasty black spikey things from your childhood nightmares.
  18. Play Magazine
    90
    If they gave this game to depressed people Xanax would be over the counter. [Sept 2006, p.66]
  19. With gameplay that you would expect to see on the DS instead of the PSP, Loco Roco is easily the most accessible title available to date and is easily one of the best titles to be seen on Sony’s handheld since its debut.
  20. 90
    It's vibrant, cheery and serves no other point than to make you smile. But, like candy, Locoroco also ends sooner than you want it to end. Still, it's fantastic while it lasts and just the kind of game you want in your pocket.
  21. So simple and challenging at the same time that it just keeps players coming back for more.
  22. With imaginative levels on snowy landscapes or inside whales, LocoRoco uses charm and simplicity of design to create something near perfection. But it’s a small perfection, charming in its childlike whimsy but as insubstantial as a summer breeze.
  23. Simplistic but addictive gameplay and bright visuals makes this an easy choice.
  24. What we have here is elementary yet cutting-edge game design, coupled with some of the cutest visuals and music you will ever experience. The game has longevity to spare as well, with numerous secrets, mini-games, and hidden paths to seek out.
  25. LocoRoco is a bit shallow, but it’s a real treat to play. Earnest and ebullient, it’s tough not to get sucked in by its atmosphere, and equally difficult to stop playing once you’ve figured it out.
  26. While the audiovisual presentation is amazing – and to be honest probably worth the price of admission – the actual gameplay can get a little stale after long gameplay sessions.
  27. All you need to do is spend a few minutes with these little creatures and you'll likely be hooked. LocoRoco is simple, inspiring, original and fun.
  28. It’s also the only title I know of that made me happy while playing it. How often can you say that about a videogame?
  29. Much like Katamari Damacy, the simple goals and controls pulled me in, and the high production values kept me playing.
  30. I could only think of one way to share how I feel about it -- mix happiness, cheerfulness, smiles and a heaping spoon of sugar and you have LocoRoco.
  31. One of the most unique games to hit all the systems. Aside from not being very long, everything else in the game works wonders, whether it be the soundtrack, graphics, or controls.
  32. It’s one of the best experiences for the PSP, and if you’re a stickler for perfecting games you will get the bang for you buck as you try to collect everything in each level.
  33. With stylized graphics, catchy sound, and great gameplay, this game deserves a spot in any PSP owner’s library.
  34. LocoRoco is one of the most original and quirky titles to hit the PSP in some time. The controls are such that both hardcore and casual players alike can get into the game just as well.
  35. A breath of fresh air from the remakes and rehashes that appear on PSP from week to week. As unchallenging as it may be to complete levels, collecting every single fruit flower and exploring the environments provides reason to go back into 40 stages of this charming time waster.
  36. Whether you are five or sixty-five, you are going to love LocoRoco if you give it half a chance. The controls are so simple that anyone can master this game in just a few minutes, and the addictive gameplay will keep you coming back for more wacky action for months to come.
  37. Despite the lackluster gameplay, Loco Roco does have one thing going for it: charm. The flash-looking graphics are extremely impressive in art design and from a technological standpoint as the visuals just look incredible on the PSP screen. [JPN Import]
  38. While LocoRoco is guilty of being overly upbeat and adorable, it's also guilty of being a solid 2D platformer that is a welcome addition to any PSP library.
  39. One aspect of the game which is a bit disappointing is that it is a little easy to complete. We managed to get through the game fairly quickly, but it does increase in difficulty as you complete levels...A crazy game that really shows when a developer sits down and comes up with an original idea, it can be fantastic.
  40. 80
    The game proves that the PSP is more than competent enough to handle "pick up and play" titles, which is really the type of games that people want on handhelds. It's an addictive game and i don't think i've ever smiled more whilst playing a game than I did with LocoRoco. It's insanely addictive, and has a unique look that is unmatched on the PSP.
  41. Brilliant in both concept and execution, LocoRoco is easily the best thing to hit the PSP since Lumines kicked the format off 18 months ago.
  42. 80
    Loco Roco is an amazing game, quite possibly the most charming game I've ever played. It's the kind of game that will automatically make you happy while you play it. As a handheld title its ideal. Its only real drawback is that for many of us it might be over a little too soon.
  43. AceGamez
    80
    Loco Roco is a game that PSP owners simply must try; it's the type of unconventional and quirky gameplay that is infectious and addictive beyond rationality, and a game that you will want to keep playing and never stop - you will want to hear those songs again and again, and to see the different levels using different Loco Rocos.
  44. Mechanically, it's not quite as subversive or original as the presentation and some of its over zealous supporters might have you believe, but the chutzpah with which LocoRoco interprets the platform game's basic tenets is entirely its own and, again like the original Sonic The Hedgehog, it is a hugely invigorating and memorably stylish entry into a genre still awaiting fresh ideas.
  45. 80
    Those allergic to whimsy may react violently to the saccharine soundtrack and rosy world-view. But they'd be missing out on a rare experience – a game that honors classic game play while forging new ground in style.
  46. The world of LocoRoco is uniquely beautiful, aggressively charming and a lot of fun to explore, and it keeps its load times short. If you've ever wanted a reason to hug your PSP, now's your chance.
  47. 80
    Just as the visuals are perfect for the PSP's display, the mechanics are perfect for the PSP's button configuration, and the game design is perfect for the PSP's portability (it's easy to pick up and play at any given moment).
  48. The LocoRoco world works perfectly. There are few examples of out of the box game design that are so well put together.
  49. Computer Games Magazine
    80
    It combines simple controls(you use the shoulder buttons to tilt the world and to occasionally flick your blob into the air, letting gravity do its job)with the pop of color on the PSP's screen and the rich music you can stream from a disc. [Oct. 2006, p.81]
  50. Official U.S. Playstation Magazine
    80
    It looks beautifully weird, and almost all of the(mostly)excellent songs--complete with vocal parts that change depending on which of the LocoRoco friends you're playing as--wedged themselves deep into my consciousness for days on end. [Oct. 2006, p.90]
  51. As adorable as it is eccentric, and as addictive as it is challenging, it still may not be everyone's cup of tea. But if happy, singing blobs navigating trippy technicolour worlds sounds like fun, you need this one in your PSP library.
  52. It's sadly a little too short to be a really meaty experience, but while it lasts -- and for us non-perfectionist sorts, the first dozen or so levels that you try to get across-the-board perfects on -- it's so charming that you won't want it to end.
  53. 80
    While it is not 'the' perfect game, it does come pretty close; the visuals appeal and if, by some chance, they don't then the perky toe-tapping soundtrack is certain to make everyone smile.
  54. PSM Magazine
    80
    LocoRoco is the kind of oddball/genius game that will be revered and sought out by serious gamers for years to come. [Nov. 2006, p.72]
  55. This game is truly as happy as I make it out to be, and the peppy musical gibberish serves as a perfect audio backdrop to the joyful scene.
  56. Its cute characters, uplifting songs, and undeniable charm have all remained intact, providing an enjoyable portable experience that should be taken in small doses.
  57. LocoRoco oozes charm for days, but the gameplay is a little too singularly focused for its own good.
  58. LocoRoco is an easy-going game. In fact, playing it sometimes feels close to meditation.
  59. Game Informer
    75
    But there are a lot of interesting ideas here and, hardcores be damned, it's cute-as-a-button attitude is a great asset. [Oct. 2006, p.110]
  60. Oozing bizarre style out of every pore, this is proof that creative design doesn’t require fancy DVD players or burly graphics cards.
  61. It can be very difficult when it comes to playing for perfection, but the challenge is not always a deterrent, it can be seen as an opportunity to see if one can do it.

Awards & Rankings

#6 Most Discussed PSP Game of 2006
User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 86 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. BogdanS
    Oct 29, 2008
    10
    Best. Game. Ever. Not only for the PSP, best game on any console. The fact that i, as a hard-core gamer that enjoys Halo, RPG's and Best. Game. Ever. Not only for the PSP, best game on any console. The fact that i, as a hard-core gamer that enjoys Halo, RPG's and Action games can enjoy this title as much as my 3 year old son says it all. If it was the only title available for the PSP it would still warrant a buy of the system. It's that good. Get the demos out there on the net and try it out for yourself. Full Review »
  2. TomD.
    Apr 19, 2007
    10
    Finally a PSP game that seems like it was made for a portable system (load time, simplicity, and addictiveness). The DS knows the formula of Finally a PSP game that seems like it was made for a portable system (load time, simplicity, and addictiveness). The DS knows the formula of portable games and this is the only PSP game out there that is any good. The music is the best ever since FFIII. Full Review »
  3. May 11, 2015
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. I do not have to say anything more. But i need to write one hundred and fifty characters. i think my score can describe it............................ Full Review »