• Publisher: Capcom
  • Release Date: Aug 28, 2007
User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 78 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 67 out of 78
  2. Negative: 6 out of 78

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ChrisBB
    Oct 14, 2009
    10
    wow. the ignorance of american game reviewers truly astounds me. I cannot believe that so many so-called "professional reviewers" gave this game anything below an 8 much less a fucking 6. Are they not aware that this was the number 1 best selling game in japan for the year 2008? are they not aware that on the day this game was released, productivity in japan significantly droppedwow. the ignorance of american game reviewers truly astounds me. I cannot believe that so many so-called "professional reviewers" gave this game anything below an 8 much less a fucking 6. Are they not aware that this was the number 1 best selling game in japan for the year 2008? are they not aware that on the day this game was released, productivity in japan significantly dropped because people were skipping work to play this game? it amazes me. The japanese know good games, hell, they make 95% of them. all our ignorant american reviewers want is a library full of shooting games and sports games and they dont give a shit about a quality RPG unless its already familiar to them. you do know dont you, G4, gamespot, game informer, that there do exist good RPGs outside the realms of final fantasy? your habits for bashing great titles such as persona 3, legend of dragoon and now monster hunter is really starting to get on my nerves and its fucking pathetic. Expand
  2. MHLover
    Oct 15, 2009
    10
    This is one of the very few games i can keep coming back to without it getting boring, not only because it always presents a challenge but also the sheer size of it!

    I had the original MH on PS2 and thought it was pretty good, but was never able to play online, and its nowhere near as big so i stopped playing it, but when my bro got a PSP and MH2 for his birthday, from just 5 mins of
    This is one of the very few games i can keep coming back to without it getting boring, not only because it always presents a challenge but also the sheer size of it!

    I had the original MH on PS2 and thought it was pretty good, but was never able to play online, and its nowhere near as big so i stopped playing it, but when my bro got a PSP and MH2 for his birthday, from just 5 mins of playing i knew this was something special, and bought a PSP just for this game!
    Collapse
  3. BobN
    Jun 3, 2009
    9
    I bought this game out of frustration. I love the PSP. It has tremendous capabilities only limited by Sony and the powers that be. I have played many of the highly rated games and save a few all have been disappointing after a few hours. Take God of War. That game rocked...for about 3-4 hours. The Siphon FIlter games are great, but they too are short. I stopped reading the critics reviews I bought this game out of frustration. I love the PSP. It has tremendous capabilities only limited by Sony and the powers that be. I have played many of the highly rated games and save a few all have been disappointing after a few hours. Take God of War. That game rocked...for about 3-4 hours. The Siphon FIlter games are great, but they too are short. I stopped reading the critics reviews of games simply because they do not play them for long periods of time. They get a first impression and then they move on to the next title. I wanted a game worth buying that would not grow old. After watching a review of this on Youtube by some dude, I decided to download the demo. Yes, the camera sucks, but it adds difficulty to the game. Other than that, I was floored. So I went and bought MHF2. Best bang for your buck on the PSP. Loading can be a pain, but it seems to shorten as you go along. The fighting I find enjoyable and difficult. There is something inherently rewarding in pulling off a combo with a giant hammer and killing a pain in the ass monster with the last final blow. This is the game I have been searching for on the PSP. It takes time, can be very difficult and frustrating, but very rewarding and, most importantly, FUN. I cannot say the same of most other PSP games. Great game, very underappreciated. Expand
  4. BobM
    Jun 3, 2009
    9
    Something else from Bob N. Prime example: Most critics seem to enjoy the mindless and child-like camera system in Resistance for the PSP. It might as well play the damn game for you for how helpful it is. I hate Resistance. It is mindless and insulting in its simplicity. This game, faults and all, is the antidote for the Resistance Retributions of the PSP, those games which look great but Something else from Bob N. Prime example: Most critics seem to enjoy the mindless and child-like camera system in Resistance for the PSP. It might as well play the damn game for you for how helpful it is. I hate Resistance. It is mindless and insulting in its simplicity. This game, faults and all, is the antidote for the Resistance Retributions of the PSP, those games which look great but in the end are music videos with no long-term value. Go buy this game if you want a challenge that is actually rewarding. And JHChrist is it long. Expand
  5. FloydH.
    Oct 22, 2007
    10
    This game is repedative, sure but its that repedity that makes it great. there are more monsters than there were in monster hunter 1 and there are more weapon choices and a bunch of other new stuff. i got to hero rank 3 on my own and i'm on the mission to advance to hero rank 4 this game is so good i already have 110+ hours on it.
  6. [Anonymous]
    Sep 20, 2007
    10
    It's not for everyone, that's for sure. It took me a few days to get the hang of the controls and how to hunt, but now I'm hooked in a big way. The visuals are stunning and the gameplay is very deep. It's kind of like a cross between Morrowind and Phantasy Star Online. Imagine PSO with lots of crafting and deep gameplay (there's a good amount of moves and It's not for everyone, that's for sure. It took me a few days to get the hang of the controls and how to hunt, but now I'm hooked in a big way. The visuals are stunning and the gameplay is very deep. It's kind of like a cross between Morrowind and Phantasy Star Online. Imagine PSO with lots of crafting and deep gameplay (there's a good amount of moves and techniques to learn). Expand
  7. ScottS.
    Sep 3, 2007
    10
    This is the game to own on the PSP. While the high and mighty game critics at IGN, Game Informer, and the like all seem to miss the true value of this game, the fans have spoken, and loudly! The community around this game is superb, and 4 player ad-hoc quests are simply the best experience you'll have on the PSP to date. If you own a PSP, do your self (and your friends a favor) and This is the game to own on the PSP. While the high and mighty game critics at IGN, Game Informer, and the like all seem to miss the true value of this game, the fans have spoken, and loudly! The community around this game is superb, and 4 player ad-hoc quests are simply the best experience you'll have on the PSP to date. If you own a PSP, do your self (and your friends a favor) and grab a copy of this game. Expand
  8. jezS
    Mar 15, 2008
    10
    The Best RPG on PSP. If you have played the first one, you will find the experiance even better
  9. DOmenicoS
    Jun 10, 2008
    10
    Very Very beautiful Game.
  10. BobN
    Jun 17, 2009
    10
    I did not want to buy this game, it looked lame and never recieved much critical love. Nontheless, I bought it out of desperation. I thought to myself, "the critics give horrid games high ratings soley based on graphics and hype...why not try something different." This game is the best on the PSP. It is challenging. It is rewarding. It is long. It is worth the money. I cannot sayI did not want to buy this game, it looked lame and never recieved much critical love. Nontheless, I bought it out of desperation. I thought to myself, "the critics give horrid games high ratings soley based on graphics and hype...why not try something different." This game is the best on the PSP. It is challenging. It is rewarding. It is long. It is worth the money. I cannot say that for any other PSP game. Watch some of the Youtube vids on this, see for yourself this underdog in the states gem. Expand
  11. aliyahK
    Jul 25, 2009
    10
    i love this game but it didnt tell me how to conect with other players, it is reli fun even though i just started playing with it!! lol and its hard yeh but makes it more fun and some of the beast are reli cute. lmao ^.^ lol and i like that u go placces rather than just Pokke farm, this gam roxs and i like having ma own kitchen of cats cuz its fun lol and it RULES!!!!!!!!!!!!i love this game but it didnt tell me how to conect with other players, it is reli fun even though i just started playing with it!! lol and its hard yeh but makes it more fun and some of the beast are reli cute. lmao ^.^ lol and i like that u go placces rather than just Pokke farm, this gam roxs and i like having ma own kitchen of cats cuz its fun lol and it RULES!!!!!!!!!!!! WOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!! GO MONSTER HUNTER!! Expand
  12. Taylor
    Sep 28, 2007
    10
    A enjoyable and highly addictive game, with it's mind boggling amount of character customisation, amazing graphics and good replay value it is an essential buy for any RPG/ActionRPG loving PSP owner.
  13. BradJ.
    Feb 29, 2008
    10
    Its huge, it has great graphics, tons of quests, weapons, and armor, controls are fine, and it is a very addicting game. The bad thing is that it doesnt have online play which is unacceptable in my opinion.
  14. MagicPink
    Mar 27, 2008
    10
    Simply the most amazing game on the PSP bar none. The lack of online play does not hurt the title at all.
  15. AnonysaurusRex
    Mar 5, 2008
    10
    This game is absolutely amazing. Great graphics, fun gameplay, and tons of stuff to do! It's like a deeper single-player PSO experience and that is an absolutely wonderful thing. I'll be playing this for a good long while.
  16. AnonymousMC
    Jun 19, 2008
    10
    This is probably the best thing that's happened on the PSP since... anything! With great visuals, larger-than-life monsters, and LOTS of customization, this game will make you addicted to your PSP. From fighting a measly Popo, to the gigantic Azure Lao Shan Lung, you could spend easily 100+ hours on this game alone.
  17. MarcE
    Jul 12, 2008
    10
    It's one of the best game series ever made. I have played this game over 400 hours and it's still fun. This game is just awsome, really.
  18. JustinS
    Mar 23, 2009
    10
    I'm sick of all the sorry people who give this game bad reviews because they suck at it. This game is by far the most challenging (in a good way), rewarding, and exciting title on the PSP. In fact, it has more content and longevity than most RPGs and is better than many next-gen games to date. Why is it that official reviews are always so low and the user reviews are so high? I'm sick of all the sorry people who give this game bad reviews because they suck at it. This game is by far the most challenging (in a good way), rewarding, and exciting title on the PSP. In fact, it has more content and longevity than most RPGs and is better than many next-gen games to date. Why is it that official reviews are always so low and the user reviews are so high? Reviewers don't take the time to learn the game and we do - their loss really. GO MH!! Expand
  19. AdamK
    May 3, 2009
    10
    My PSP is my favorite material possession and Monster Hunter is 90% of the why. Both the first and the second have so much to offer, you could easily be 1000 hours into the game and still find most enemies a challenge at times. Take 10 or so hours to get the hang of the game, think outside the box, and you are in for the greatest moments you will ever have playing a game.
  20. LeviMoulton
    Sep 18, 2009
    10
    the best game in the whole fricken world!!!!! i love it and even though im only hr2 i cant wait to beat the tigrex and kick ass at this game most people look at it and think its just another game like final fantasy or something but its not its fricken awesome! monster hunter freedon 2 is the best game in the world.
  21. AlienGamerLT
    Nov 14, 2007
    9
    REALLY High Learning Curve... If you never played MHF1 (which I did not). But the game is just great for the PSP. It adds hours and hours of gameplay to a system which has a "limited" number of what I would call titles that keep you coming back. The game kind of feels like your own little MMO in your pocket and about the only complaint I can sum up is that the missions are fairly long and REALLY High Learning Curve... If you never played MHF1 (which I did not). But the game is just great for the PSP. It adds hours and hours of gameplay to a system which has a "limited" number of what I would call titles that keep you coming back. The game kind of feels like your own little MMO in your pocket and about the only complaint I can sum up is that the missions are fairly long and since you can't save during the mission (unless I'm missing something) it makes it very difficult to get one in on the train ride into the city in the morning... Graphics are great for the system; nice time investment; really fun concept, gameplay and animations... All around the best game I've played on my PSP to date (and I own a few travel cases worth). Expand
  22. Oct 30, 2011
    10
    "wow. the ignorance of American game reviewers truly astounds me." ChrisBB makes a statement that the American reviewers are quick to dismiss Japanese titles. Let's face it BB Japan has been in a creative slump for years and the other countries are the only developers willing to try (or take a risk) on something new. All I have seen from Japan are the same spreadsheet style rpg games, the"wow. the ignorance of American game reviewers truly astounds me." ChrisBB makes a statement that the American reviewers are quick to dismiss Japanese titles. Let's face it BB Japan has been in a creative slump for years and the other countries are the only developers willing to try (or take a risk) on something new. All I have seen from Japan are the same spreadsheet style rpg games, the fighting games (like Street Fighter) and a collage of the same dating-esque sim style games. Which they have been releasing for over twenty years. Monster hunter is good but it really doesn't hold up to the originality of many other titles being released. Did you really think a game where you kill dinosaurs hasn't been done before? Seriously, take a look at some of the independent titles being released by Japan vs other developers, you got Minecraft on one side and the same old JRPG title on the other. Western people need to stop over-glorifying these profit orientated dip **** They suck the life out of the industry. Expand
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. More of the same, sure. But considering how much more fans are getting, that’s hardly a knock against the game. And even though games of this type almost require internet capability, there’s plenty of grinding to be done and you’ll get a lot of play time for your dollar, provided it’s your cup of tea.
  2. 83
    The learning curve in the beginning will keep the riff-raff away, but those who stick around will find hundreds of quests, items to combine and a serious upgrade game sure to keep them -- and their ad-hoc friends -- entertained for a ton of hours.
  3. Fun online, but a weak single-player, duff quests and some seriously ropey combat make this a disappointment. [Oct 2007, p.82]