OMG-Z Image
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 5 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 19 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Sep 7, 2011
    100
    Laughing Jackal has raised the bar for PSP Mini developers. OMG-Z is a simple masterpiece, the kind of game that sticks with you long after the ending cinema. Part action game and part puzzler, OMG-Z is one of the best games I've played this year!
  2. Aug 5, 2011
    90
    A monstrously addictive quick-fire affair that utterly nails what on-the-go handheld gaming should be about.
  3. Sep 5, 2011
    87
    Zombie fans, you want this game: chain reactions, sarcasm, upgrades and short load times keep hunters motivated – relax with clever action.
  4. Aug 12, 2011
    80
    Laughing Jackal's latest offers challenge and depth in its mechanics, bottling the chaos of a zombie outbreak in a smartly designed puzzler.
  5. It's more addictive than shelling pistachios. [Nov 2011, p.113]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Sep 21, 2011
    10
    This game was one of the best surprises I've ever got through PlayStation Plus. OMG-Z features a fantastic rocky soundtrack. But it is theThis game was one of the best surprises I've ever got through PlayStation Plus. OMG-Z features a fantastic rocky soundtrack. But it is the gameplay where this Mini really shines. Instead of the manic action which accompanies most Zombie games this one is more strategic as you need to make the right shot to set off a chain of bloody Zombie explosions. It can be tricky but seeing a huge wave of exploding zombies is very satisfying. Expand
  2. Sep 12, 2011
    10
    Like all the reviewers I really wasn't really sure about this title. If was only after about six hours of straight playing I realised that isLike all the reviewers I really wasn't really sure about this title. If was only after about six hours of straight playing I realised that is truely brillitant. Terrific upgrade system and plenty of levels. Plus having the medal system means you will be coming back for more. Worth every penny. Expand
  3. Sep 21, 2011
    10
    This really is a fantastic game. It kind of reminds me of other chain games but adds so much more to the formula.

    It's worryingly satisfying
    This really is a fantastic game. It kind of reminds me of other chain games but adds so much more to the formula.

    It's worryingly satisfying to watch a single bullet blow apart hundreds of shuffling corpses - it just never gets old. That visual hook, plus a brilliantly judged upgrades system and branching level structure, makes this a game that FAR exceeded my expectations for a mini.

    Probably the best minis title ever. Don't take my word for it - check out OMG-Z's metascore! ;)
    Collapse
  4. Aug 21, 2011
    9
    I really had a lot of fun playing this game. I loved the upgrade system and there was plenty of levels to keep me playing for many hours.I really had a lot of fun playing this game. I loved the upgrade system and there was plenty of levels to keep me playing for many hours. Exactly what I expected from a mini. I got this with PS+, but would definitely would have paid for it. Expand
  5. Oct 24, 2011
    9
    I sat down one night and learned the basics needed to complete a level and learned more as I went on in this OMG-Z game... which I assume isI sat down one night and learned the basics needed to complete a level and learned more as I went on in this OMG-Z game... which I assume is "Oh my gawd - Zombies!" ... but it could be Onion Meat Garnish - Zebra! for all I know Anyways, about 4 hours later, I was finished with the title (though admiditly I've gone back to try and get better metal awards)... yep, killed my way through it's 80ish levels, have all the upgrades have had a hell of a time with it.


    It's not a typical zombie killing game. Instead of some ammo king who runs around and slaughters everything in an arcade-y like setting, each level is just one screen (with various locations throughout the game) and you a lone shooter whom stands a-top something and has just 3 bullets to pick off the entire mess of undead (well over 100 zombies at times). You can upgrade your weapon's ammo to 6 shots throughout the game, but for the most part you'll be working with just those 3-6 shots. The strategy in play is with the different zombies, their chain reactions and how you upgrade your various skills.

    Some zombies explode which take out others around them, others turn into acid pools that trap fellow zombies; police zombies fire a round before going down and the army undead fire a few bursts of ricocheting bullets when killed. Each of these types effect other types and depending on upgrades you choose (from money you receive with medals you earn in each level - Brownze, Silver, Gold and Platinum) their effects will be raised and even upgraded with new abilities as you progress. Mix in your own upgrades of ammo, weapon strength, explosive barrels, zombies with varying health and obstacles... and you've got a bit of a thinking game mixed in with your zombie shooting.

    It feels truly unique and is addictive like you wouldn't believe. It's got a black/white (and grey) color scheme with only the blood and your reticule showing color, which is quite helpful, as the game gets a little chaotic at times. It's pixel art, much like games of yesteryear and even playing in on my PS3 on a 1080p HDTV(it's built for the PSPs 480x272 resolution) it looked great - very retro.

    If you've got a PSP or PS3, get this game! I got it for free, but I would of gladly spent $5 for it at the least.
    Expand
  6. Sep 21, 2011
    9
    Are you an fan of zombies? Do you own a PSP or PS3? Then OMG-Z is the game for you. Itâ
  7. Nov 24, 2013
    8
    A pretty well done mini. This game is more strategy than action, so if you're big into games like L4D or L4D2 (left 4 dead or left 4 dead 2)A pretty well done mini. This game is more strategy than action, so if you're big into games like L4D or L4D2 (left 4 dead or left 4 dead 2) and are/is expecting that same action, you may not like this as much.
    Gladly this game KINDA has a story, but it is mostly non-existent, the zombie sounds, difficulty, and music however are what make this game GREAT! But, For a better quality: Get this on the PSP!
    PS Plus gave me this a while back before the stopped with the minis and themes, and I didn't get too into it at first! REMEMBER: This game is more of a zombie puzzle action game.
    Expand