OutRun 2006: Coast 2 Coast Image
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 12 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: OutRun 2006: Coast to Coast features a choice of 15 fully licensed Ferrari models, featuring the all-new F430 and F430 Spider, as well as the dazzling Superamerica and the stunning 550 Barchetta. Power your way across 15 new American themed environments from the "OutRun2 SP" arcade experience. Race from coast to glorious coast with a fresh new mission structure, a license mode and online play, with up to 6 players for a thrilling head-to-head journey. [Sega] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. 93
    Smooth, slick and sexy, setting a bench mark for PSP. [Issue#139, p.102]
  2. 90
    The inclusion of connectivity to the PSP was a stroke of genius that I hope other developers take note of and use in the future.
  3. Bright, highly polished, massively desirable and built to impress. OutRun 2006 shows the same class as the Ferraris it lets you race. [Apr 2006, p.112]
  4. Instead of a sense of "been there, done that" it will be a wave of comforting nostalgia, like a sea breeze taking you back to days gone by. OutRun 2006 is a lot of fun, it's just that you have to know exactly what to expect from the series.
  5. Nothing short of stunning – for the greater part. Depth, longevity, looks and some fantastically booming old-school sound schemes (complete with satisfyingly throaty engine tones) are all accounted for here.
  6. Outrun 2006 Coast 2 Coast offers a fun, accessible experience to racing fans who just want to jam on the accelerator and go.
  7. The hardcore arcade-style gameplay may be a huge turn-off for some, but if you've always like the Outrun games--even back in the day--then, surely, you won't be disappointed with the face-lift. [Jun 2006, p.103]

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Jeeb
    Apr 1, 2006
    10
    This game is possible the best racer available for PSP at the moment, it's pure brilliant! The fact you can play online just makes the deal even sweeter - there's so much to unlock, so much to do and so much to see! The cars are sweet and so are the tunes. Nothing to complain about - barre minor slowdowns, but heck, it's worth it for this! Goodnight Ridge Racer - Good morning Outrun. Expand
  2. Dec 25, 2011
    10
    Easily one of the few and best racing game on PSP out there.
    One of the very few games on PSP that got everything that console version have.

    Not to mention graphics,easily one of the best looking racing game on PSP right behind Midnight Club 3.
    Almost lose nothing in graphics department from PS2 to PSP.
    Being such a gorgeous looking game it does have some slowdown it may not run at 60fps all the time but it's more than enough.
    Lots of events and items to play and purchase.
    Outrun 2006 coast 2 coast got everything that the king of racing game on PSP ridge racer had.
    And it offer you so much more Content,Graphics,Gameplay,Fun!
    Outrun 2006 Coast 2 Coast is definitely the new king of racing game on PSP!
    Expand
  3. DjFIL
    May 15, 2006
    9
    There is no wonder why this game is getting such good reviews across the board. It's simplistic, yet very fun and still challanging, gameplay makes you come back for more. And with the natural layout of Outrun being in bite sized races (2-5 minutes each race), this is a perfect fit for a handheld. And the graphics look great... and 6 players online is lots of fun. Great game. Expand
  4. BenD.
    Jul 9, 2006
    9
    At first when I played this game i wasn't sure if I hated it or loved it, once I learned the controls and mastered the "drift" it's been the only game in my psp since I bought it. No it's not the best graphics or the the best in in game music however it delivers non-stop pick up and play enjoyment. I recommend this game to old arcade players and anyone into racing games, if you liked burnout legends then you will agree that Outrun 2006 coast to coast is awesome. The controls are nice and easy, you have the gas and brake, you can use the directional pad as well as the analog for steering. Automatic and manual driving options, tons of goodies to unlock 60 racetracks available, 30 then that 30 reversed. Nice and bright graphics breath life into your psp. This game is among my favorites in my psp game library. Play it on the bus, dentist office waiting room, play it in your back yard as the sun goes down. $29 well spent. Expand
  5. Apr 11, 2012
    8
    I see that the game is pretty good. But it gets boring for me . Repetetive and stuff.
  6. Bruce
    Nov 9, 2007
    7
    I'd place this game on a par with Ridge Racer. The graphics are appealing, but frankly the PSP can do better - and has on games such as Burnout. The music is a mixed bag. A few of the driving tunes are rocking, but some are downright annoying. The steering controls are a bit sloppy, but make do. Overall Outrun is good, but not great. If you just want some simple minded arcade style racing, Outrun will do the trick. Expand
  7. Jan 8, 2013
    6
    Yep. It's an arcade-style racer for the PSP. That's about it. Good for casual players or anyone who has never played Outrun, or the dozens of games just like it. There's fun to be had here, but it's the shallow sort. Collapse