• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: May 5, 2009
User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 51 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 51
  2. Negative: 5 out of 51

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 13, 2010
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Critics who say this game is bad are crazy I absolotley would love this game if a few flaws werent holding it back. I didnt by the first game because I wasnt impressed with the demo. Well guess what I loved the demo for patapon 2. First of all the story is great and is perfect for this game. The gameplay is also fairly simple. simply drum a four digit song to command your patapons to battle. Lots of improvements have been made to the game. The most noticable is the look and feel of the game dont set this game down into fever wants you get into fever youll start beating away and siing "pon pon pata pon" with your patapon army. the items you pick up also help enhance the fun of the game. when you first begin the game your patapons are black and white once you get to the final boss youll be firing electric arrowns with fire helms and Ice shields. The game also gets a new character called Hero (default name) this charcter wheres a mask that give him special powers such as iving all of your patapons a temporary shield. These powers vary buy what class your hero is but they definitly help as you proogress thrugh the game. The evoulution system has also been improved to adding a tree to your patapons health to help with a ceatain kind of attack but weakens you to a other type of attack. There is no longer just meat either it cafateris meat and all differnt kinds of meat. you now have to focus on a ceartan level to upgrade a certain type of patapon. As I said in the beggining this game has it flaws such as now start menu. The game does have a menu but it dosent stop your enemy from attacking you patapons the only option you have to stop your game is to turn your psp tottaly off. The game does have multyplayer but is ad-hoc (local) only. Its a big setback since it has an egg system where you can get special items. You can play multyplayer alone but the first couple of times you play cpus will pop out of the egg. If this game had online play id give it a ten but it dosent Expand
  2. Feb 10, 2011
    7
    This game was pretty fun. This game looking so bored but i actually like this game. I didnt know playing this game was going be so much fun. The story isnt all that great but the gameplay make you want more. A great game for everyone. I bought this game when I got my psp go. I played this game for hours. This is game you can play for hours and hours to kill time. But When you have other games to play its kind of hard to play this game since gotton other ghames i havent played this game. This is a good game when you beaten all your other games. This isnt a game I would play everyday. I do recommend this game to everyone. This is still a great game to have in your collections of game. Expand
  3. Jan 2, 2011
    6
    This game gets way too much credit for its pros and enough flak for its cons. Be prepared to have no idea about certain elements of the game as they try to play up the mystery portion of the game. And then enter battles where you could be involved anywhere from 5-35 minutes depending on how well equipped you are. And the only way to get well equipped is to fight the same guys atleast 5 times. For how long it takes to beat this game it gets real repetitive real fast. Its innovatove gameplay and deep custimazation are intriguing for about ten hours but after that you find yourself just wanting it to be over as tapping circle circle square circle about 5000 times is not fun. Expand
  4. Apr 21, 2011
    8
    Patapon's rhythm meets RTS style of gameplay is brilliant. Mix in unique RPG elements and you've got an awesome little music/adventure game that is chock full of personality. Its not all quite as perfect as you may like. There is a lot of grinding to do and the system used to level up your troops is plenty more convoluted than it should be. However, this never stopped me from enjoying very long and very fun game. Expand
  5. Apr 19, 2011
    8
    Totally awesome game. I looked at this game first and thought it was stupid, but when I tried out the demo I was amazed. Seriously, just give it a try.
  6. May 31, 2012
    10
    Probably the best game I've played on the psp. It's almost exactly like the original except improved in every way. It has all the bosses from the first along with a complete array of new ones, and they're just as fun to battle as ever. The game has around twice as much content as the first and will probably take you around 30 hours to complete. The RPG elements are greatly improved on, no more being stuck with that battle axe you picked up, you can return to certain fortress battle levels you've already played to get better weapon pick ups. Haven't played this in 3 years but I'm thinking about doing so soon since it can be played on vita. Expand
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 49 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 49
  2. Negative: 0 out of 49
  1. An extremely unambitious sequel. [Jan 2009, p.92]
  2. Very similar to Patapon, but it just about gets away with it. Partly, that's because there's loads more stuff (units, weapons and consequently strategic depth), partly because the core mechanic is still top fun (albeit exactly half as fresh as before), and partly because it seems ludicrous to criticise a game about dancing, warlike eyeballs for lack of originality. [Feb 2009, p.96]
  3. The little creatures from Patapon are back and well in this sequel that's basically the same game with a few additions that turns the game into a better and more profound experience for those who love music and strategy. We'll enjoy once more a strange but satisfying world at war, in which our only duty is to protect and serve the little and charismatic Patapon warriors.