Pinball Hall of Fame: The Gottlieb Collection PSP

  • Publisher: Crave
  • Release Date: Dec 6, 2005
User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 13 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 13
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 13
  3. Negative: 2 out of 13
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MajorP.
    Dec 27, 2005
    10
    Unfortunately, I think the people who will most likely receive this game this holiday season are those who won't appreciate. It's value-ish price makes it the perfect target for clueless parents who think this will make the perfect give for their kid because "dang gummit, I loved pinball when I was younger!". You're better off getting the kid Burnout or Lumines or Unfortunately, I think the people who will most likely receive this game this holiday season are those who won't appreciate. It's value-ish price makes it the perfect target for clueless parents who think this will make the perfect give for their kid because "dang gummit, I loved pinball when I was younger!". You're better off getting the kid Burnout or Lumines or something. For people who actually still appreciate pinball (all 12 of us) this should be a must buy. Almost all of these tables are wickedly addictive and because of pinball's relatively straightforward, short nature there's gonna be a lot of those "just one more game!" moments that turn into hours long sessions. It's certainly got a pretty narrow audience as far as PSP games go, but if you can understand what would drive a person to spend all their money at the arcade playing pinball, then this is your game. Expand
  2. TheWizardofPinball
    Jan 15, 2006
    10
    OK, I got this game during the Christmas season and was immediately addicted, but decided to write a review after I've played a lot of it (I've beat most of the table goals or bought codes to unlock all the secrets as well) to see how I'd feel about it after extended play. And here I am, about a month after I first started playing it, and it's still all I can think OK, I got this game during the Christmas season and was immediately addicted, but decided to write a review after I've played a lot of it (I've beat most of the table goals or bought codes to unlock all the secrets as well) to see how I'd feel about it after extended play. And here I am, about a month after I first started playing it, and it's still all I can think about. Any one of the 11 or so tables (some are better than others) here can become so addicting that you'll find yourself playing hours long sessions. I just simply still cannot put it down. From the older, more straightahead tables like Big Shot and Central Park to the newer, more sophisticated ramps and objectives on Victory and Tee'd Off, and the exciting multiball frenzy that is Goin Nuts and the double table challenge of Black Hole, this game is the most fun a PSP owning pinball fan can have while not at an arcade. There are some small ball and flipper problems; very very rarely when the ball is traveling at a very fast speed it may pass through the flipper or warp through a part of the table all together, which can cause frustration while in the middle of white hot point streak. However like I said this is rare, and all the problems are far outweighed by how, just like real pinball, this game can become wickedly addictive if you don't look out. Expand
  3. Daniel
    Jul 13, 2006
    10
    This is a great game. Very straight forward and simple, but fun. You are able to jump in for some quick fun without being tied up in a long sequence as you are in many games. The graphics are very good.
  4. J.Max
    Dec 20, 2005
    9
    Great gameplay that is currently consuming a TON of my time. This is a perfect game for a portable platform, and it has a ton of variety with all the different tables, and even some silly novelties. The physics are nearly perfect, and that really makes the gameplay stand out. I wish that there were a few more late 80s/early 90s tables, but many of those were licensed so they are bound to Great gameplay that is currently consuming a TON of my time. This is a perfect game for a portable platform, and it has a ton of variety with all the different tables, and even some silly novelties. The physics are nearly perfect, and that really makes the gameplay stand out. I wish that there were a few more late 80s/early 90s tables, but many of those were licensed so they are bound to not be included. The only complaint I have is the slightly muddy textures for some of the graphics, and the scrolling is a bit too fast for the screen to kepp up in certain places. I hope that Midway gets on the ball and releases a Williams version of this! This is an absolute must-have game for the PSP if you are a pinball fan, and a must-have for anyone who wants some retro fun! Expand
  5. J.Roberts
    Dec 27, 2005
    8
    This is a great game, especially on the go. You can play from over seven different games and won't even notice how much time is gong past! You can spend hours on this and it will never get old. There is also a lot of exciting documentaries on this game that include a picture tour of the gottlieb factory, the history of the game, and so much more. The funnest part about this game is This is a great game, especially on the go. You can play from over seven different games and won't even notice how much time is gong past! You can spend hours on this and it will never get old. There is also a lot of exciting documentaries on this game that include a picture tour of the gottlieb factory, the history of the game, and so much more. The funnest part about this game is that you can have up to 4 players without having to hook up to another psp. Over- all this game is defiitely a great buy for that "old-school fun. " Expand
  6. [Anonymous]
    Mar 19, 2006
    10
    This game totally rocks! Being a baby boomer who can remember the time that only pinball tables were the in thing to do, I can say you will enjoy this pinball game more than you know. It recreates the physics and dynamics of the real thing. Have played it for hours. It totally beats the ds metroid pinball game, hands down superior. This is a reason to own a PSP, if your into pinball, or This game totally rocks! Being a baby boomer who can remember the time that only pinball tables were the in thing to do, I can say you will enjoy this pinball game more than you know. It recreates the physics and dynamics of the real thing. Have played it for hours. It totally beats the ds metroid pinball game, hands down superior. This is a reason to own a PSP, if your into pinball, or even if your not. After playing this, you soon will be. Expand
  7. Jean-MichelD.
    Dec 12, 2005
    9
    Great pinball simulation with about a dozen classic pinball machines, including a never released prototype, Going Nuts, that is actually really fun (time-based concept). The only drawback I have found so far is that it can be a bit hard to judge where the ball will hit the flippers when scrolling is going too fast. But once you get to know a machine, it gets much easier. Anyway, I really Great pinball simulation with about a dozen classic pinball machines, including a never released prototype, Going Nuts, that is actually really fun (time-based concept). The only drawback I have found so far is that it can be a bit hard to judge where the ball will hit the flippers when scrolling is going too fast. But once you get to know a machine, it gets much easier. Anyway, I really like it. Great buy that you are unlikely to regret. Expand

Awards & Rankings

#47 Most Discussed PSP Game of 2005
#33 Most Shared PSP Game of 2005
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 27
  2. Negative: 1 out of 27
  1. Pinball Hall of Fame delivers some accurate re-creations of some of Gottlieb's classic pinball tables, but the graphics get a little muddy in spots.
  2. 85
    Some may start a game of Central Park and laugh at the amusing graphics and simplistic gameplay, only to find themselves losing the game within two minutes. Seriously, some of the games look easy, but are deceptively hard.
  3. I would pay big money to see a two-hour pinball documentary that also included simulated, digital versions of each machine to try out. We get a taste of that in Pinball Hall of Fame but what I really want is a meal, dammit.