Prinny: Can I Really Be the Hero? Image
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 45 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 33 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Prinny: Can I Really Be the Hero? is a side-scrolling action game and will have you slashing your way through various Netherworlds.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 45
  2. Negative: 3 out of 45
  1. It's an action game full of great characters, funny writing and plenty of floating platforms. Throw in some devilishly clever level designs and a non-linear story, and you have a game that you'll want to replay over and over again!
  2. 83
    If you think you can handle the absurd difficulty of Prinny: Can I Really Be the Hero?, you'll have fun with it. The charming sprites and modest 3D backgrounds work well with the PSP and the music and voice acting is commendable.
  3. The game is short if you're only into a single run-through, but all the unlockables and multiple endings give this game serious legs.
  4. Prinny's a simple throwback title for gamers who simply like to have fun with their games. Good gameplay, graphics, and sound, along with a decent challenge make this one worth picking up.
  5. Prinny: Can I be the Hero? is a complex platformer with burst of actions where the story is all based upon the Disgaea Universe, offers a pleasing experience for gamers. It is an innovative game of humongous difficulty and limited control, although there is a great sense of humor and a nice artistic touch.
  6. Enjoyable platformer will make you laugh with all the tiny cute graphics and exploding penguins! Do not expect childish difficulty though 1000 lives will not be enough. [Sept 2009]
  7. So, is Prinny worth it? Perhaps if you're into this hard-to-be-hard sort of thing. You masochist. But for the rest of us, the game is going to be too much of a pain to really enjoy.

See all 45 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. OwenA.
    Feb 26, 2009
    10
    Destined to be overlooked and unloved, it'll be a little boxout in articles on the history of Disgaea. It deserves better, because, though of an entirely different genre, it is the equal of its parent game. I don't think there's any higher praise. Expand
  2. ChrisBurket
    Oct 6, 2009
    10
    I am sickened....... deeply sickened by you all. How can you give this game such a low rating just because it is difficult? You guys are a fucking disgrace to the gaming community. This game has great music, great gameplay, great humor and great action but you just sit there and bitch like a bunch of pussies that this game "is too hard." cry me a fucking river you pansies. You mother fuckers are so used to games like bioshock and gears of war and shit thats not even hard. just because a game is difficult, that doesn't make it bad. some people even went so far as to call it "masochistic." masochistic my ass, mother fuckers. you need to learn how to play a fucking game and then come back and make a review. until then, quit whining like a bunch of pussies and bashing a great game just because you have no gaming skill. Expand
  3. KratosChief
    Jun 3, 2009
    10
    Rarely Do I rate games, but I've had so much fun with this one I really felt the need. It really reminds me of the classic NES megaman series, oh so hard to beat but so fulfilling when you do finally beat it. The game provides you with 999 lives so unlike megaman, you get to keep going without the constant need of re-treding old ground. The game also has frequent checkpoints and bonus items to keep you going.

    The only drawbacks I see are the lack of additional weapons and the jumping mechanism. It's a bit tricky and can be frustrating, but probably nessecary to accomplish what the developers were tying to do.

    Great Game, I love it, you should try it.
    Expand
  4. Aug 14, 2011
    10
    This game is pretty challenging, even in standard mode. Jumping seems to be a little bit awkward, but that's what you get for being a Prinny. Some of the bosses in this 2d platformer are pretty tough and unforgiving, but satisfaction guaranteed if you manage to beat the boss, even if you lost 50 prinnies in the battlefield. Luckily, the game gives you an army of 1000 Prinny soldiers at the beginning, so you probably have at least a hand full of them in the end. There are 2 game difficulties here: Standard and Hell's Finest. I chose the first, because I am a n00b. Standard mode gives you 3 hit points, while Hell's Finest is mocking you with a one-hit kill. I bought this game for 10 euro's (in the Dutch PSN store), and Prinny: Can I Really Be The Hero is one of the best PSP games I have ever played. And to answer Prinny's question: "Yes, you can really be the hero, dood!" Expand
  5. ThomH
    Jun 3, 2009
    10
    Great, great game, really reminds me of the NES megaman series. I'm new to Disegea series, but this 2d/3d side scroller was great, great visuals, funny story and a game that was hard enough to make you feel like you accomplished something after beating it.

    Truly one of the best PSP games I have played.
    Expand
  6. Apr 2, 2014
    9
    Highly recommend this to fans of the genre or hardcore players, it is one of the easiest platformers to get into, but by no means the easiest to win. Casual players should not touch this game at all, but for those who are looking for a nice challenge, Prinny will more than do the trick. The graphics are nice, the platforming, while could use a little work, is very solid and almost perfect, level design is unique and cool, story is as you'd expect, but still good, voice acting is amazing, music is also really good, some songs have that little "oomph" to them that you'll just wanna hear again. Overall if you can take the difficulty, Prinny is a masochistic platformer you do not wanna miss. Expand
  7. YHJ
    May 29, 2009
    5
    The game itself is rather nice, with pleasing graphics and interesting music. However, the Jump controls are rather lazy, and really kills the game. Once you jump, you can't change directions. Since the prinny dies the moment it gets touched by almost anything in the game, it's just unfair. Hit an enemy? Dead. Landed on a statue? Dead. The difficulty is quite high, but one of the things that make these kinds of games fair is missing. POWER UPS. There is not a single power up at all. Besides that, the prinny only has one attack. It was a game with lots of potencial. Another thing to slap it in the face is it's length. With less than 15 levels in the game, it's very very short. In the end, it's a game with a lot of interesting promises, but everything just feels lazy, and incomplete. If you really want to find a good old-school platformer, go for Henry Hatsworth in a puzzling adventure for the DS. Much better. Collapse

See all 8 User Reviews