Resistance: Retribution PSP

  • Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Mar 17, 2009
User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 84 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 84
  2. Negative: 9 out of 84
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 9, 2014
    10
    I have played the game over and over again it has a very nice campaign. It is better then the resistance burning skies that came out a while again like 1 or 2 years ago. The main part of this review is to tell you that this game is awesome the game is on psp and i think the ps vita.
  2. Oct 14, 2013
    9
    Roughly five years after release, and Resistance: Retribution still stands as one of the best portable shooters to date. Looking back, Retribution brought the entire package to Sony's original portable. From a lengthy campaign to a robust multiplayer, Retribution brought with it hours upon hours of fun to the portable. While some may argue that the gameplay was crippled by the lack of aRoughly five years after release, and Resistance: Retribution still stands as one of the best portable shooters to date. Looking back, Retribution brought the entire package to Sony's original portable. From a lengthy campaign to a robust multiplayer, Retribution brought with it hours upon hours of fun to the portable. While some may argue that the gameplay was crippled by the lack of a second analog stick, Retribution made up for it with an extremely useful auto lock feature. Once players had adjusted themselves to the Retribution's control scheme, everything falls into place, shaping itself into one hell of a ride. Players are greeted to a game with sharp audio, neat visuals, smartly implemented gameplay mechanics, and an intriguing story. While many Resistance fans may consider Retribution to be inferior to the console titles, I found it to be quite equal. Expand
  3. Jun 14, 2013
    9
    The Resistance series moves over from the PS3 to the PSP in this portable outing, but that's not all that's changed, it's also in 3rd person. Resistance: Retribution is a truly outstanding game with fantastic graphics, an excellent story, and outstanding gameplay. All of this is made more impressive considering the PSPs' lack of great games. TH=he story in this game in this game isThe Resistance series moves over from the PS3 to the PSP in this portable outing, but that's not all that's changed, it's also in 3rd person. Resistance: Retribution is a truly outstanding game with fantastic graphics, an excellent story, and outstanding gameplay. All of this is made more impressive considering the PSPs' lack of great games. TH=he story in this game in this game is excellent. Main character James Grayson is immediately likable and one can easily sympathize with his story. The gameplay is what really sets this game over the top. It may have moved from 1st to 3rd person, but it's still a Resistance title. All of the cool weapons and enemies are here and act just like they did on the PS3. The fact that the controls aren't an issue here is also a big praise. You move with the analog stick and aim with the buttons. It may sound awkward but it feels great, and the games lock on system helps out a lot. This is an excellent game, not just because it's on the PSP which lacks truly awesome games like this one, but because of it's excellent gameplay. If you have a PSP Resistance: Retribution is a must play. If your a Resistance fan it may just be worth buying a PSP for. I'm happy to say that it doesn't disappoint. Expand
  4. May 3, 2013
    10
    *NOTE: This review is for the Vita version of the game.
    After the disappointing Resistance: Burning Skies, Im happy to say that Resistance: Retribution Is a clean breath of fresh air for Vita and Resistance fans alike. With the presence of a second analog stick, you may now control Retribution as If It Is on your PS3. Graphically, the game Is nothing to boast about, although you do have
    *NOTE: This review is for the Vita version of the game.
    After the disappointing Resistance: Burning Skies, Im happy to say that Resistance: Retribution Is a clean breath of fresh air for Vita and Resistance fans alike. With the presence of a second analog stick, you may now control Retribution as If It Is on your PS3. Graphically, the game Is nothing to boast about, although you do have to acknowledge that It Is a PSP game. Gameplay in Retribution is what really makes the game a must have. You are given a vast variety of weapons, presented with several long levels, and best of all, one of the greatest portable multiplayer modes on the market. In multiplayer, you can rank up and chat with other Vita gamers without the use of a party or headset. Also, unlike Resistance: Burning Skies, finding matches will take you up to a minute at most. Finally, the replay value in this game is ridiculous. You have a wide range of intel to acquire and "skill points" to earn. SCORE: 10/10
    Expand
  5. Feb 6, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I love the Resistance games. They have an interesting story and great multiplayer. What I realy loved about Resistance Retribution is the main character James Grayson. He is just a pimp. He is this angry sarcastic hardcore British soldier who likes to blow up chimera conversion camps in his spare time. In my opinion Grayson is the most interesting character in the Resistance series yet. I know there has been a debate over there would be a Resistance 4. If it is I hope Grayson is once again the main character because the end of retribution leaves alot of unanswed questions about him and I think the any one who played this game wants to find out what happens to him after the events of retribution. Expand
  6. Nov 28, 2012
    9
    This is a solid shooter for the PSP, it has weird controls like every other PSP shooter but you get used to them quite quickly. The story is interesting and it actually has functional multiplayer! This is a must buy whether you like the Resistance franchise, shooters or both.
  7. Jun 3, 2012
    9
    The most complete package on a psp, Great single player, great multiplayer, ps3 connection, and wrap that up in a great sound and O.K graphics, and you got yourself one of the best psp games around
  8. Feb 12, 2012
    8
    The best part of this game is the online. Work in groups of four and tea bag all over your dead opponents. Very addicting story mode. Collecting all the extras for a few guns seems little worth the reward to replay, only on a harder difficulty unless your a completionist.
  9. Mar 27, 2011
    7
    good. multiplayer is good. story mode is good ,theres still a great online community i still it and ive had for 2 years and have home console. great buy for people with the psp
  10. Aug 17, 2010
    8
    most PSP games i buy are just SRPG's , RPG's and Racing Games . i avoid FPS and most shooters because with out duel analog the experiance is lost . ive tried a few and most just stink because of that reason but resistance like socom has changed that abit. the auto lock on system makes it playable and even enjoyable now this will not replace duel analog by any means but its the best you canmost PSP games i buy are just SRPG's , RPG's and Racing Games . i avoid FPS and most shooters because with out duel analog the experiance is lost . ive tried a few and most just stink because of that reason but resistance like socom has changed that abit. the auto lock on system makes it playable and even enjoyable now this will not replace duel analog by any means but its the best you can hope for on a system with only one anaolog stick . i would recomend you download the demo off of the PSN store and try before you buy to see if this control set up will work for you. now for the rest . the graphics are amazing for a PSP game i was very impressed with it . the story is pretty decent and kept me intrested . the voice acting was fairly well done .the amount of wepons was a pretty good set up and the fact that it more like resistance 1 then resistance 2 with the amount of wepons you can hjold at once is very nice . the game is best described as resisitance 1 meets Resient Evil 4. . this is one of the best action games ive played on the PSP and is a great addition to your collection . Expand
  11. JamesD
    Dec 9, 2009
    9
    Resistance Retribution is one of the best third person shooters I have ever played. It can be a little fiddly at times but the amount of content on a UMD is down right staggering. It also truly replicates a game that tackles the weaknesses of the PSP, what with face buttons operating the camera. Also the fact that it has more content and longevity than its console counter parts, then you Resistance Retribution is one of the best third person shooters I have ever played. It can be a little fiddly at times but the amount of content on a UMD is down right staggering. It also truly replicates a game that tackles the weaknesses of the PSP, what with face buttons operating the camera. Also the fact that it has more content and longevity than its console counter parts, then you know this game is special. Expand
  12. Xaviaz
    Oct 9, 2009
    10
    really good graphics for the PSP and muiltiplayer.The singleplayer is also good and story line, love it.I would recommend it to anyone who has the PSP.
  13. [Anonymous]
    Jun 19, 2009
    5
    I feel like I should write a review called "Like beating your head against a wall, but no wall available? Try Resistance: Retribution. It comes so close to being a very good game, but in the end only serves to highlight Sony's mistake in not including a second analog nub. You want it, bad, but it's not there. The cutscenes are gorgeous and there is a lot of nice voice-acting, I feel like I should write a review called "Like beating your head against a wall, but no wall available? Try Resistance: Retribution. It comes so close to being a very good game, but in the end only serves to highlight Sony's mistake in not including a second analog nub. You want it, bad, but it's not there. The cutscenes are gorgeous and there is a lot of nice voice-acting, but it becomes a pretty wrapping on a package full of frustration. The difficulty spikes between boring and "OMG Boilers! Let's start the never-ending respawn cycle!" I could see this having appeal to a few people who can look beyond and trudge through the gameplay, but for a portable title, it should be a little more pick-up and play friendly. Expand
  14. ChomikR
    May 26, 2009
    10
    This is great game. When I play I feel something like the fresh air. That's what i waited for!
  15. RomanT
    Apr 12, 2009
    9
    I just beat this game the other day on the Normal difficulty and I must say this was a pleasant experience. Just about everything, from the graphics, gameplay, storyline, and sound was top notch. Personally, I didn't like default controls that this game uses and would recommend switching to an alternative (aiming with analog stick) option. I only really have a couple of minor issues I just beat this game the other day on the Normal difficulty and I must say this was a pleasant experience. Just about everything, from the graphics, gameplay, storyline, and sound was top notch. Personally, I didn't like default controls that this game uses and would recommend switching to an alternative (aiming with analog stick) option. I only really have a couple of minor issues with this game: first, the collision detection when using a sniper rifle is quite poor, making that weapon almost useless in many situations; secondly, the game is not taking a real advantage of the physics engine - having silly ragdolls is fine, but I believe there should've been more physical interactions with environment and objects. Otherwise, a great game indeed. Expand
  16. AustinC
    Apr 9, 2009
    8
    Today, I went to GameStop with $65, I bought Resistance: Retribution and GTA: Vice City Stories. I have played about 5 minutes of GTA, mostly becaues its glitchy/boring. So, I started playing Resistance in the store, and after 15 minutes through the game I quit, went home, and hit multiplayer online. After getting through the stress of the controls (I switched the controls halfway through Today, I went to GameStop with $65, I bought Resistance: Retribution and GTA: Vice City Stories. I have played about 5 minutes of GTA, mostly becaues its glitchy/boring. So, I started playing Resistance in the store, and after 15 minutes through the game I quit, went home, and hit multiplayer online. After getting through the stress of the controls (I switched the controls halfway through playing), It was surprisingly fun, with grenades, plasma grenades, rocket launchers, machine guns and what not. Also -- Playing with friends on the same WiFi is fun. Although, it's kinda of disappointing there is no Coop. NOTE: You have to upgrade to V. 5.0.3 to play, it comes with it (you don't need internet access to upgrade to 503). Expand
  17. LukeB
    Mar 31, 2009
    9
    Great game! Good graphics, solid game play and story make for a great experience on the PSP. I prefer Resistance to the Syphon Filter series previously done by Sony Bend. The game flows more and the story appeals to me. The game controls are fine, I certainly don't have any issues with it. I am struggling to understand why such a good game is receiving reviews below 8 or 8.5. For Great game! Good graphics, solid game play and story make for a great experience on the PSP. I prefer Resistance to the Syphon Filter series previously done by Sony Bend. The game flows more and the story appeals to me. The game controls are fine, I certainly don't have any issues with it. I am struggling to understand why such a good game is receiving reviews below 8 or 8.5. For those wanting a fantastic game with top graphics, game play, story and hilarious, cheesy one liners (courtesy of Grayson) I would recommend picking up a copy a.s.a.p. For those wanting crappy side scrolling, lame graphics, stick to your DS. Expand
  18. BobDisenfranchised
    Mar 28, 2009
    4
    Wow, how dissapointing can the PSP get? I am not expecting anything grand. A simple game, say a well done side-scroller of gameboy graphic quality would even appease me. Unfortunately, even with decent graphics and impressive sound, many PSP games are entirely not worth $40. This game, with horrid controls made for the skills of a 3rd grader, is not worth more than $12. All hype and Wow, how dissapointing can the PSP get? I am not expecting anything grand. A simple game, say a well done side-scroller of gameboy graphic quality would even appease me. Unfortunately, even with decent graphics and impressive sound, many PSP games are entirely not worth $40. This game, with horrid controls made for the skills of a 3rd grader, is not worth more than $12. All hype and desperate reviews, this game dissapoints. The previous two Siphon filter games are better, and even they were lacking. I get the feeling that many PSP Official Sites give such lackluster games high praise so they can keep there jobs. Example: This game. Looks horrible (even for PSP standards,) plays horrible, and is downright tepid. God, please inspire gamemakers to use the PSP in a suiting fashion...please cause them to make a worthwhile game. Collapse
  19. JamesM
    Mar 28, 2009
    8
    A good effort by Sony Bend to create a succesfull FPS on the PSP. Overall the game is pretty good, the aiming is simple, the graphics are excellent and the campaign is enjoyable. The main problem for me is a recurring problem with FPS titles on the PSP which is the controls but that is mainly the fault of the psp rather then the game. The storyline was rather tedious and hard to enjoy A good effort by Sony Bend to create a succesfull FPS on the PSP. Overall the game is pretty good, the aiming is simple, the graphics are excellent and the campaign is enjoyable. The main problem for me is a recurring problem with FPS titles on the PSP which is the controls but that is mainly the fault of the psp rather then the game. The storyline was rather tedious and hard to enjoy with the main protagonist bearing such a horrible fake cokney accent. But overall a great game and certainly worth the purchase Expand
  20. WillS
    Mar 27, 2009
    10
    The more I play this game the more I love about it. It's a perfect shooter experience for the PSP that is developed to work perfectly with the portable controls. Single player is challenging but not frustrating. Multiplayer is an added bonus that works extremely well and is very addictive to the point of taking me away from PS3 MP games while I'm home just to get more R:R time in.
  21. SimG
    Mar 24, 2009
    8
    Resistance Retribution is nothing new for anyone who played Syphon Filter Dark Mirror and Logan
  22. MatthewS
    Mar 17, 2009
    9
    This is about as good as a FPS could possibly be on the PSP. The aiming works so well you won't even miss the second nub. Sound is fantastic with an orchestral score that not only sets the mood, but warns you of approaching danger. Graphics are at the same level as God of War: Chains of Olympus with great water and bloom lighting effects. The only disappointing part was with the This is about as good as a FPS could possibly be on the PSP. The aiming works so well you won't even miss the second nub. Sound is fantastic with an orchestral score that not only sets the mood, but warns you of approaching danger. Graphics are at the same level as God of War: Chains of Olympus with great water and bloom lighting effects. The only disappointing part was with the character animations, which moved stiffly at times and when the characters spoke their mouths didn't match the words. Overall I think its the third best game on the system under Chains of Olympus and Final Fantasy VII: Crisis Core, which is highly underrated. Expand

Awards & Rankings

#5 Most Discussed PSP Game of 2009
#9 Most Shared PSP Game of 2009
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 67 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 56 out of 67
  2. Negative: 0 out of 67
  1. 80
    Catering to a portable game console and still keeping Resistance fans happy is a tall order, but at the end of the day Resistance: Retribution pulls off these difficult tasks with flying colors.
  2. Resistance: Retribution is just what the doctor ordered - groundbreaking multiplayer, slick visuals, and an action-packed campaign make this one of the most impressive PSP games to date.
  3. Much like Resistance 2, Retribution is more than the sum of its parts. The single-player campaign may be linear and stagey, but it's also effortlessly fun and incredibly polished. The multiplayer doesn't contain many surprises, but it does a better job of matching the online modes of "proper" consoles better than most rivals in its genre. Annoyances are minor and fleeting in nature, and the game punches above its weight with a substantial and coherent feel that too many handheld offerings lack.