Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 30
  2. Negative: 3 out of 30
  1. It is easily among the top sports titles available on the PSP.
  2. 90
    The most accomplished tennis simulation I've ever played, and I really liked VT. That says it all, really.
  3. A very solid contender that will give PSP tennis fans more than their fill of racket action.
  4. Smash Court Tennis 3 smashes the idea that tennis games have no longevity.
  5. Like Sega's "Virtua Tennis", Namco Bandai's Smash Court 3 is very easy to pick up and play, but has significant depth beneath its deceptively simple exterior. [Sept 2007, p.79]
  6. Smash Court Tennis 3 is a solid tennis title with enough play modes to keep most enthusiasts entertained for hours. My only reservation is that it can be a bit frustrating at first because of the moderate learning curve.
  7. 80
    As far as portable tennis games go, you're not exactly spoilt for choice. But Smash Court Tennis 3 comes highly recommended for those looking for the most in-depth tennis experience.
  8. The package, then, is balls-out fine. It's a bumpy court to play on at times, but one that's ultimately rewarding.
  9. 80
    The pace of things and the more demanding controls in Smash Court Tennis 3 may bum out those expecting more of an arcade tennis experience, but anyone looking for a truer-to-life sim-style take on the sport should definitely check this one out.
  10. If you have any love for the sport of tennis and own a PSP then Smash Court Tennis 3 is a great game to add to your library.
  11. It's certainly decent enough, but it's not good enough to unseat Virtua Tennis from its position as the best game of tennis on the PSP.
  12. A deep, rewarding tennis game that lacks the fireworks of Virtua Tennis and also some of its fun. You will like it...eventually. [June 2007, p.95]
  13. A good tennis game for the dedicated player looking for a sim-like gaming experience. But for most, Virtua Tennis 3 is more appealing, accessible and, ultimately, fun.
  14. 70
    Smash Court Tennis does a good job of building a functional career mode with sponsors, fan letters, challenges on the court, and an experience point system that allows you to mold your own style of player. It’s just too bad that the actual tennis can’t keep up the same level of quality.
  15. Don't get this game for the variety of modes. Get it for the simulation.
  16. It's a bit strange that the best part is found in the mini-games, but SCT3 manages a decent all-around game that, while it won't set anyone's world on fire, won't disappoint the tennis fans either. [Oct 2007, p.62]
  17. Smash Court wants to deliver a realistic tennis experience; no one shouts anything cute or falls down when the ball hits them, and there is an element of strategy in preparing your shots. That is satisfying, but also a bit frustrating... But if you are willing to work through initial frustrations, the game is worth it.
  18. Smash Court Tennis 3 scores decent marks for its excitement level but loses points on gameplay responsiveness, problematic AI, and a troublesome presentation.
  19. Smash Court Tennis 3 is a decent game that plays it safe and doesn't bring much new to table.
  20. 65
    Sure it has a ton of great options and modes, but it simply doesn't have the action packed excitement of the Virtua Tennis series.
  21. It's a decent enough shot at the title, but there are better tennis games already on court. [July 2007, p.64]
  22. If goofy, over-the-top minigames are appealing, then Virtua Tennis is the only game in town. If you happen to take the sport of tennis seriously and want more of a simulation, then Smash Court Tennis 3 fills the bill well enough. The only problem I have with both of these games is their overall refusal to advance the genre beyond what we've seen countless times before.
  23. Competent, tight and good looking but lacking the satisfying gameplay to make it a must. [July 2007, p.68]
  24. 60
    Smash Court isn't resoundingly bad, by any means -- it just feels a bit irrelevant.
  25. If you don't have Virtua Tennis, that's the tennis game to get. If you have Virtua Tenis and you absolutely must play Pac-Man Tenis, I guess this is the game for you.
  26. 58
    A poorly created tennis sim that just doesn't hold up to repeated play. [Issue#154, p.74]
  27. Smash Court Tennis 3 isn’t an awful game – there’s just not a whole lot here to keep your attention. There is a lot of depth in the game but will you keep coming back to play it?
  28. From the annoying time management of the schedule-based career mode to the ho-hum training minigames, Smash Court feels like a less entertaining "Virtua Tennis" knock-off. [Aug 2007, p.84]
  29. Smash Court Tennis 3 would be a good game overall if it weren't for the bad controls.
  30. Placing your shots feels random. [July 2007, p.109]
User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 4 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. TennisFan
    Jul 23, 2007
    8
    I prefer this to Virtua Tennis, but that's probably because I already play tennis and have some understanding of how the sport should be I prefer this to Virtua Tennis, but that's probably because I already play tennis and have some understanding of how the sport should be played. Virtua Tennis is an arcade game, not a tennis simulation. VT used to make me angry because it's the only tennis game in existence where serving (as opposed to returning serve) is a real disadvantage, particularly at higher levels of play. Smash Court is about timing and preparing your shots well in advance of actually making them, and a good serve can put you in a dominating position right from the start. It's tricky, but definitely not "random" as one of the reviews above suggests. If anything, the game does a really good job of not "scripting" the shots the way Virtua Tennis sometimes does. (VT seems to have set patterns for certain situations, this one doesn't ... or at least it seems deeper.) Hey, this game actually has unforced errors, winners, and aces! What happens depends on you. I like the way you gain experience for winning matches and tournaments, and I love the way you can buy special shots with the experience you earn. It means you can progress very quickly and logically, and it means that your experienced player has some nicely tailored weapons and skills. As for cons, I've run into some framerate issues here and there. Nothing to spoil the game, but it could be smoother in spots. I've also turned off the instant replay option because it was repetitive and annoying. And what's with Roger Federer being ranked Number 31 in the world when you play in tour mode? Does this take place, like, 10 years from now? I also wish the ATP or the Grand Slams could be coaxed into endorsing a tennis game so that you got to play in the real venues instead of reasonable facsimiles. Aside from all that, though, I really like it. I found it a much more pleasing game from a tennis fan's perspective. Full Review »