• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Feb 16, 2010
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 51 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 51
  2. Negative: 1 out of 51
  1. Fireteam Bravo 3 is definitely not a flawless portable experience, however that doesn't mean that it's not a ton of fun to let your team breach and clear rooms full of terrorists.
  2. SOCOM 3 is a very impressive shooter for the PSP, and fans of tactical military shooters would be remiss in passing this one up. I’ll see you online, Tango.
  3. 85
    Socom is a solid package; it looks good, has loads of options with a detailed single player and extensive multiplayer. It moves at a good speed, never gets boring, has boatloads of content and the core gameplay is not just well executed it's also a hell of a lot of fun to play as well.
  4. 84
    Fireteam Bravo 3 is a very, very nice package. I could do for some more diversity – the story gets lost in the shuffle, the weapons all feel the same, and you’re really just using the same tactics mission to mission – but that doesn’t spoil the experience.
  5. 83
    SOCOM: Fireteam Bravo 3 is an excellent shooter, with fluent controls, wonderful graphics and a smooth campaign. The overactive auto-aim and the immortal team members limit the challenge though and make tactical choices unnecessary. This is countered with ease in the online co-op and the custom missions. The competitive multiplayer is well-designed, giving you hours of fun.
  6. Thanks to its many improvements and additions, Bravo 3 has everything what fans have been loving about the series, and then some.
  7. This is hands down the best Socom to date, despite not being revolutionary, but it does improve the Fireteam Bravo series. It is a must boy for every series fan with friends nearby and ready for action.
  8. If you are looking for a solid third person shooter on the PSP then you will find it here. But, if you only intend to play the single player campaign you really shouldn’t buy this one, maybe rent it instead. The real meat of the game comes from multiplayer co-op.
  9. A decent shooter at heart. It really comes into its own with regular comrades to play with. [Apr 2010, p.66]
  10. SOCOM has finally opened out onto a new field of battle, with a more set piece designed gameplay which is just perfect for travelling. The only downside is that the game is short, clocking in at around 5 hours, you just start getting into it as the credits roll. But as an experiment, it works and feels so much better than previous titles in the franchise.
  11. SOCOM: Fireteam Bravo 3 is an eloquent example of tactical shooter. The single player mode is immersive and the wonderful competitive multilayer is really amazing. PSP needs more of well-packed games like this one.
  12. While playing this game, I got a wave of nostalgia from my early SOCOM days on the PlayStation 2, and this was a good sign – if the servers stay loaded with a good chunk of players, this will be played for a while to come.
  13. Fireteam Bravo 3 manages to be fun in spite of a decided lack of challenge.
  14. Fireteam Bravo 3 reminds us that the PSP is still capable of a fun and engaging third-person shooter. If you can deal with the controls and don't mind the no-frills level design, you'll find a game worth spending time with, especially with friends.
  15. It’s as good a shooter as you’re going to get on the PSP until Sony find room for a second thumbstick.
  16. Sony and Slant Six Games offer a brave addition to the SOCOM U.S. Navy SEALs franchise in PSP, with an intense chapter that delivers us to Koratvia to stop a terrorist group. Great online features and a vibrant campaign.
  17. This chapter confirms Socom as one of the best PSP exclusives.
  18. 80
    Despite slight confusion with the command system and occasionally lacking difficulty, the game is a well-oiled military machine that'll entertain you, particularly if you bring a few friends along for the ride.
  19. Equity is also earned via a cool custom-mission creator. [Apr 2010, p.78]
  20. The game confirms its strengths and its limitations at the same time. The auto-aim places great emphasis on action rather than strategy, but ends up making the firefights really too easy. The single player campaign lasts only a few hours, but multiplayer modes work great for up to 16 players with voice chat. Fans of the series will not be disappointed, definitely.
  21. Fireteam Bravo 3 is the best SOCOM title Slant Six Games has produced thus far, but it’s a much better multiplayer experience than it is a single player game.
  22. SOCOM: U.S. Navy SEALs Fire Team Bravo 3 is one of the best co-op-games on the PSP and has superb controls. A job well done!
  23. SOCOM: US Navy SEALs Fireteam Bravo 3 for the PSP is a strong attempt at bringing tactical, multiplayer third person shooting on the road. Poor controls hamper the experience, but its robust package compensate nicely.
  24. Few titles on the PSP can match its online content. [Apr 2010, p.96]
  25. Fireteam Bravo 3 is a funny action game. Lots of action and explosions, an easy story and solid action.
  26. 77
    This third part in the PSP franchise isn’t a brand new kind of game. It has a few improvements in comparison with the second part. It’s got a nice five hour single player, but the real gameplay is the multiplayer and the co-operative mode. The game is at the visual and audio aspect one of the better games, but the AI isn’t very good. This also counts for the cover system and the story isn’t great either. But if you liked the previous ones, then this is a nice third part.
  27. Slant Six Games and SCEA have put out a solid third-person shooter for Sony's portable system. It has a large variety of weapons, solid online play and a single-player depth that puts Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 to shame.
  28. SOCOM: U.S. Navy SEALs Fireteam Bravo 3 for the PSP is a game that most action fanatics should enjoy.
  29. While the game’s single-player campaign isn’t as fleshed out as we would’ve hoped and the mechanics have been overly simplified, the game’s solid multiplayer definitely gives it some long-lasting legs.
  30. There may not be any major advances to the series in Fireteam Bravo 3, but for those looking for a fun multiplayer game on the PSP, FB3 is a genuine SOCOM experience.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 18 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 3
  2. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Nov 10, 2012
    8
    It's a good "Call Of Duty" style 3rd person shooter for the PSP and PSV. However, even on the hardest difficulty, the game can be too easy...unless you make your own rules to add some challenge. The way I play single player story mode, is I make it a mandatory goal to complete my missions with 0 seal revivals. This way, I cant just send my team to kill everyone for me; I actually have to make the best use of them without getting them gunned down. Custom missions sound like an added bonus, but contrary to what one might think, the replay value here is almost non existent. Multiplayer was the main appeal of this game, but unfortunately the servers have been taken down since September 2012. A lot of folks claim that the campaign mode was too short, but with the challenging way I was playing it, it took me about 6 to 7 hours to finish on average. Full Review »
  2. Nov 26, 2010
    8
    Fun, with a modicum of re-playability. The campaign isn't anything like long, and though I was a bit disappointed when I finished the game, I shrugged my shoulders, and continued to play through every level until Admiral, and the final battle exhausted my interest. The game looks a hell of a lot better than it used to, and team you are given aren't as stupid as in previous games. Full Review »
  3. Nov 23, 2010
    6
    When I bought this game i really had somewhat high expectations, and I was a little disapointed after playing through. The campaign isnt great and the online isnt either. Graphicaly this game looks good but the gameplay is painfully slow even on the online mode. The PSP socom series has never really had a good campaign mode, but online has been great, until FTB3. Its not to bad, but its slow and there are only 8 maps to play on. After hours of playing online on Socom FTB1, SocomFTB3 really felt like a step backwards for Socom online multiplayer. All in all Socom FTB3 is decent, but if you are looking for that great socom feel, you will probably be disapointed. Full Review »