• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Nov 8, 2005
User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 60 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 60
  2. Negative: 6 out of 60

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JayA.
    Dec 8, 2005
    8
    This is a really solid game. The graphics are good and the gameplay is good. Locking on does make the game top easy.
  2. EliR.
    Jan 22, 2006
    3
    this game has really bad aiming, the story mode is horrible and the scoping is bad.
  3. seal_team_6
    Feb 1, 2006
    10
    i think this is a most have and any one who loved the other ones needs to get this. they put the game together so it fit perfict. the story-line is sweet and the video graphics are like ps2 video graphics. there are cons though the joy-stick is not the best when your tring to aim with a sniper rifle and the auto aim takes some of the skill out of online play but there is still skilli think this is a most have and any one who loved the other ones needs to get this. they put the game together so it fit perfict. the story-line is sweet and the video graphics are like ps2 video graphics. there are cons though the joy-stick is not the best when your tring to aim with a sniper rifle and the auto aim takes some of the skill out of online play but there is still skill needed. them are the only cons i can see in the game its a must buy and if your into online gaming its the best just make sure you buy a head set it makes it more fun
    im the leader of (CQB) blue cell clan send me an email if you want to join ill set up a try-out my socom email is seal_team_six and my personal email is snafubiker89@mymobilemail.com
    Expand
  4. GregoryS.
    Mar 7, 2006
    10
    I had never played Socom before but one of my friends is a Socom junky so when I got my PSP I decide to give this game a shot and I love it! Probably the best game out there for PSP right now!
  5. DjFIL
    May 21, 2006
    10
    This is the best shooter on the PSP (not syphon filter as the rankings would show). It's got the best cameraplayer control, and the best auto-aim system. It's got great single player, and amazing (for a handheld) online 16-player multi. This game should be the standard for how a handheld shooter is created.
  6. TonyS.
    Jul 20, 2006
    10
    this game is awesome, it has the greatest online play ever.
  7. Ditch
    Nov 9, 2005
    10
    What a coup for Sony to have such an incredible FPS like this on the PSP! With its smooth action, relatively short initial learning curve (it will take some time to become proficient), and the major bonus of online (infrastructure) gaming with "voice" capability, at present it has no equals. I've been a handheld gamer for many years and nothing this sophisticated has ever reached the What a coup for Sony to have such an incredible FPS like this on the PSP! With its smooth action, relatively short initial learning curve (it will take some time to become proficient), and the major bonus of online (infrastructure) gaming with "voice" capability, at present it has no equals. I've been a handheld gamer for many years and nothing this sophisticated has ever reached the mobile gamer until now. If you enjoy games such as Ghost Recon or SOCOM for the console, this is an absolute MUST HAVE, plain and simple. I just finished my first day with this (including the headset) and without a doubt, my other PSP games will soon be collecting dust (at least until something as good comes along). Expand
  8. James
    Dec 19, 2005
    10
    This game is easily the best game I have on psp - beating wipeout pure, gta and ridge racer. The online play is simply awesome and the metacritic rating should be higher than 83 - the single player game is massive and the 16 player online needs to be seen to be believed. If you already have a socom game in the series you will know what mean in this review, otherwise try it out and you This game is easily the best game I have on psp - beating wipeout pure, gta and ridge racer. The online play is simply awesome and the metacritic rating should be higher than 83 - the single player game is massive and the 16 player online needs to be seen to be believed. If you already have a socom game in the series you will know what mean in this review, otherwise try it out and you will be hooked forever. 10 / 10 Expand
  9. JonathanS.
    Dec 22, 2005
    10
    Since I've started playing SOCOM, I've played no other games. This is the Killer-ap for the PSP, hands down. The game play is surprisingly fluid. The auto targeting is perfect for the single analog stick. The auto-targeting is not black and white, there are many factors to auto targeting, if you have them in your targets, it doesn't mean your gonna get the kill. If you like Since I've started playing SOCOM, I've played no other games. This is the Killer-ap for the PSP, hands down. The game play is surprisingly fluid. The auto targeting is perfect for the single analog stick. The auto-targeting is not black and white, there are many factors to auto targeting, if you have them in your targets, it doesn't mean your gonna get the kill. If you like this genre of games, this is a must have. See you online! Expand
  10. Reviewer
    Dec 7, 2005
    8
    This is a really solid title the graphics are good the gameplay is fine. The lock on enemy does take some of the difficulty out of the game
  11. AlecB.
    Nov 7, 2006
    10
    This game in my opinon is the best game that was made for the PSP. I play this game online everyday afterschool and in school because this game kicks so much ass. If you have not purchased this game already go to the nearest electronic store like Bestbuy or Circuit City and buy it because you will not regret it.
  12. IsaacJ.
    Jan 28, 2006
    10
    This game totally rules!!! Online multiplayer is my favorite mode, since I've finish campaign. I was shocked by the awesome graphics the complicity. That makes it all the more fun!! This game is totally Sony at their best. I'm totally hooked on this game.
  13. RussellW.
    Apr 28, 2006
    7
    My second favorite PSP game that I own (second to my recent purchase of MLB the show) and it is packed with lots of fun. For those of you who have played SOCOM on the PS2 its pretty much the same thing, except that you will have to get used to holding 'L' to strafe left and right (which you become accustomed to after a little while) and its pointless to aim and shoot since the My second favorite PSP game that I own (second to my recent purchase of MLB the show) and it is packed with lots of fun. For those of you who have played SOCOM on the PS2 its pretty much the same thing, except that you will have to get used to holding 'L' to strafe left and right (which you become accustomed to after a little while) and its pointless to aim and shoot since the screen is so small and the recoil makes it nearly impossible. There is an autoaim button that almost makes the online play a little too simple and really has no skill involved. Also, you will want to buy a mic ($20) if you want to organize your online teammates because there are lots of kids that will frustrate you by making some bad location decisions (leaving you stuck map after map when you have a noob on your team camping in a far-away corner after you die on Revive). No vehicles in this game either. So why the 7.0? Though the above may seem like reasons not to buy the game, they are really a comparison to the PS2 SOCOM 3, which is unfair because that game is god. This game is a good shooter on the PSP. Expand
  14. JonL.
    May 15, 2006
    9
    Possibly the first killer app on the PSP, Fireteam Bravo is an incredible handheld purchase that sacrifices very little for its smaller size. Veterans of SOCOM, Ghost Recon or Rainbow 6 will be familiar with its pseudo-stealthy run-and-gun gameplay- and it feels as solid as any of the home console versions. The full range of weapons (rifles, SMGs, shotguns, sniper rifles and rocket Possibly the first killer app on the PSP, Fireteam Bravo is an incredible handheld purchase that sacrifices very little for its smaller size. Veterans of SOCOM, Ghost Recon or Rainbow 6 will be familiar with its pseudo-stealthy run-and-gun gameplay- and it feels as solid as any of the home console versions. The full range of weapons (rifles, SMGs, shotguns, sniper rifles and rocket launchers) are available, all of which are upgradeable with a number of scopes, silencers and grenade launchers, and the maps are as large as you'd expect from a full-sized SOCOM outing. The annoying lack of a right analog stick is compensated for by an auto-targeting system- this is very well implemented although does remove much of the challenge (and makes sniping obsolete). The single player mode is very strong- but infrastructure multiplayer is the ace up FTB's sleeve. FTB offers arguably the finest handheld multplayer experience of its genre, with full clan support, multiple game modes and 16 player limit. The auto-aim actually imporves the multiplayer experience as it even gives a total n00b to join in with the big dogs (with a little practise and a lot of luck). A bundled VOICECHAT headset allows complex battlefield tactics to be constructed and changed on the fly, and the (optional) ability for any team member to revive a dead teammate adds an extra level of tense tactical depth. There are a few annoying niggles such as the low-res textures, slightly unstable netcode and occasional clipping issues (esp. in multiplayer), with a little more spit and polish FTB could well have scored maximum marks. In short, FTB represents the finest FPS available on the PSP (even giving the mighty DS Prime Hunters a run for its money!) and represents a peerless handheld multiplayer experience. Expand
  15. MikeG.
    Jul 29, 2006
    7
    I never really felt comfortable with the controls, aiming is either spray and pray, or tap and hope. It IS a beautiful game though, one of the best shooters so far.
  16. MikeH.
    Jan 1, 2007
    10
    A good overall game but without the online play this game would only deserve a 8.5 or a 9. Great buy.
  17. TraeH.
    Feb 9, 2007
    9
    It could have been better by making it easier to unlock the players and guns but other than that the game is perfect I give it a whoppin 9.
  18. JustinD.
    Apr 27, 2007
    5
    This game is to hard to control giving yur teammates orders its to complicating actually really complicating....same with the other ones and the newest one that game out I got so frustrated it unbeleive able i mean i barely got passed the first mission but still why make it so hard for teen's i understand maybe making it adult or something for me its just confusing next time u make a This game is to hard to control giving yur teammates orders its to complicating actually really complicating....same with the other ones and the newest one that game out I got so frustrated it unbeleive able i mean i barely got passed the first mission but still why make it so hard for teen's i understand maybe making it adult or something for me its just confusing next time u make a game like this give better instructions and way more easier missions like its just so complicating and hard to understand the first misssion i was sitting and thinking for one hour well whatever next MAKE A EASIER SOCOM VS NAVY SEALS. Expand
  19. BrandonJ
    Nov 10, 2005
    10
    This is the best game for PSP to date. The controls may have a high learning curve, but once you get used to it the game play is fun, and the multiplayer is a blast, and even supports voice communication. Absolute handheld perfection.
  20. Lars
    Dec 31, 2005
    9
    Wow. I was totally blown away by this game. i started with the single player, and I was fairly impressed, but I booted up the onliine, and i havent played the songle player since. Buy this game for the online, you wont be dissappointed.
  21. sandman
    May 16, 2006
    10
    This game is asome the best i have ever played.
  22. DavidS.
    Nov 13, 2005
    10
    Like it better than the console versions. Great online.
  23. ChrisB.
    Dec 16, 2005
    10
    The psp version of one of the greatest games ever is AWSOME it even has online gameplay.
  24. Apr 11, 2012
    7
    The frame rate is kind of avarage. But still playable and pretty interesting.
  25. Jan 13, 2013
    10
    A great game that is better than Call of Duty. Great scope, great story, great graphics, every thing is pitch perfect to the max. Really good and must be bought.
  26. Jan 13, 2015
    9
    Spend some time getting used to how the game works - use tactics rather than brute force... and this game becomes very compelling and great fun... even if you jump straight into a mission without reviewing what you actually have to do or customizing your weapons etc. the game still provides an excellent experience. Because you learn what your objectives are as you play though the mission,Spend some time getting used to how the game works - use tactics rather than brute force... and this game becomes very compelling and great fun... even if you jump straight into a mission without reviewing what you actually have to do or customizing your weapons etc. the game still provides an excellent experience. Because you learn what your objectives are as you play though the mission, which includes things such as; capture enemy leaders, rescue hostages, search and destroy enemy equipment or vehicles, find and disarm bombs and more... you also get a teammate that follows you around and is primarily controlled by AI, but you can also give him orders to help you both succeed. --- Overall this is one of the best games I've played on PSP. Expand
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 44 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 44
  2. Negative: 0 out of 44
  1. The real 'Must-Have' game of the year for anyone who owns a PSP. It’s single-player game will steal your heart but it’s the perfect multiplayer mode that will steal your soul.
  2. 83
    With 16 players via either Ad-Hoc or Infrastructure mode, the game has excellent potential for a very long-term multiplayer lifespan. The singleplayer aspect is great as well, and with the addition of the Instant Action mode, also has quite a long life for itself.
  3. 85
    Fire Team Bravo is amazing simply because it's broken through first. The team at Zipper have done an admirable job of shrinking their larger-than-life, third-person shooter package onto a PSP without losing much in the translation.