User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 30 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 30
  2. Negative: 7 out of 30

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mudd
    Jun 15, 2007
    8
    Fun. I have played RS since the beginning and this is a decent addition. The content is toned down a little but that should be expected for the handheld. Only real complaint is that the online gameplay is a little laggy. Good game overall. (One of the best for the PSP).
  2. jefftinith
    Jul 8, 2009
    9
    this game blew me away when first got it i think it is one of the best games for the psp systems the only thing i wish is that you had is that you would get to have the extra two people that you where supposed to find in the mission so you could have to back you up and have there mouth move when they talk other wise it is an awsome game i am always online trying to find players but i neverthis game blew me away when first got it i think it is one of the best games for the psp systems the only thing i wish is that you had is that you would get to have the extra two people that you where supposed to find in the mission so you could have to back you up and have there mouth move when they talk other wise it is an awsome game i am always online trying to find players but i never can because no one plays this game anymore but is an awsome first person shooter i highly recomend this game go online Expand
  3. AaronH.
    Jun 18, 2007
    8
    To be honest, these "professional" reviewers really need to wake up and have some coffee and try reviewing this title again. Those reviews are very bias with a sprinkle of idiotics for good measure, as it is a bad idea to compare a totaly different game designed for staionary entertainment machines such as the PC or the consoles, let alone the fact Ubisoft made it rather clear this was a To be honest, these "professional" reviewers really need to wake up and have some coffee and try reviewing this title again. Those reviews are very bias with a sprinkle of idiotics for good measure, as it is a bad idea to compare a totaly different game designed for staionary entertainment machines such as the PC or the consoles, let alone the fact Ubisoft made it rather clear this was a totaly different game in focus and design from its console/PC bound brother. With that in mind, and the hardware limits of a portable device, the game serves up a very fair FPS engagement for fans of the PS2/Xbox Rainbow Six 3 titles. The weakest links in this game stems from a online experience that lacks co-op, a few stiff controls few new commers, a learning curve to those used to the simplified RV6 servings of the console/PC edition, and a few bugs. The stark complaint about this title's graphics verus the homebound edition is funny due to the poor choice of comparisons. First, the PSP is not an Xbox 360 nor a PS3, so please take the complaints of previous reviewers with a grain of salt as they fail to compare it to other PSP titles in the same genre serving. Establishing my opinion on that, this title stacks up rather well to SOCOM Fire Team Bravo 1 and 2 as a decent title for graphics and a far better FPS engagement than Coded Arms. It's apparent, though, that this game's a bit goofy to those playing for the first time. There is a mild learning curve to those who are used to the simplified health and kit system in R6V for the Xbox 360/PC/PS3. Health does not regenerate, and gernades must be equpied before tossing, just like prior franchise installlments such as Rainbow Six 1 all the way up to Raven Shield (PC)/ Rainbow Six 3 (consoles). This, coupled with the shapes buttons (circle, square, etc) are bound to camera control and the analog stick bound to movement. For those not used to playing Nintendo 64 shooters such as Goldeneye, Duke Nukem 64, Turok Franchise, or Perfect dark then this is going to be a very akward situation and a very annoying one to contend with. The weakest part of this game stems from its multiplayer serving of only Survial (deathmatch) and Team Survial. None of the award-winning gametypes exist here, such as Hostage Rescue or Attack and Defend. Also MIA is Co-operative play with other people, considering I'm not the most anxious of people to play a match against others these days, I generaly hover around Co Op like a moth to fire. Sadly this is one of the few Rainbow Six titles to lack co op in any way or form, for the moment. I just hope there is some direct community backlash at the lack of co op and a direct request to make a content patch. Expand
  4. SteeveL.
    Apr 13, 2007
    8
    Really honest game, it deliver a good Rainbow Six experience. Great addition to the PSP console. Interesting stories with some small hook and good online/AdHoc game mode.
  5. jedIANR
    Jun 16, 2007
    8
    Fans of SFDM , Medal of Honor, and the Socom games will love this game. Great handheld game!
  6. WesS.
    Jan 24, 2008
    9
    A great game overall. The graphics are good but not spectacular. One thing this game is missing is more online players.(Only 4 players) I would recommend this game.
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 20
  2. Negative: 2 out of 20
  1. Over complicated and visually lacklustre - this is a disappointing outing for Rainbow Six. Stick with "Medal of Honor Heroes." [Jan 2007, p.76]
  2. A well-implemented control system and great sense of tension make this a joy to play. [Jan 2007, p.50]
  3. A bland, ugly and dreary game - which goes against everything you're used to after playing the series on PS2. There's a certain compulsive quality to sniping but after a couple of levels, you'll develop a strange sense of deja vu and wish you were playing a better shooter.