• Publisher: THQ
  • Release Date: Nov 12, 2007
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 25 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 25
  2. Negative: 2 out of 25

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AdamD.
    Dec 4, 2007
    9
    Great game. Plays like fallout, but with destructible terrain. Pros: Graphics, Interface,well designed maps, Mass destruction caused by plasma cannons. Cons: Short single player, Some guns feel over powered but don't negatively effect game play (you can clear a room with one shotgun blast), Camera controlls takes some dexterity to look over rubble (its turn based so theres no rush, Great game. Plays like fallout, but with destructible terrain. Pros: Graphics, Interface,well designed maps, Mass destruction caused by plasma cannons. Cons: Short single player, Some guns feel over powered but don't negatively effect game play (you can clear a room with one shotgun blast), Camera controlls takes some dexterity to look over rubble (its turn based so theres no rush, no problem). Expand
  2. Tony
    Dec 6, 2007
    5
    This game could have been great but instead it turned out average. I'm a big fan of Warhammer 40K and developers of Red Lynx had big boots to fill after the fantastic job from Relic on the Dawn of War series. Let's get one thing straight, this game isn't bad. But, it's not great either. The controls are poorly considered, and the A.I. should be re-classified as This game could have been great but instead it turned out average. I'm a big fan of Warhammer 40K and developers of Red Lynx had big boots to fill after the fantastic job from Relic on the Dawn of War series. Let's get one thing straight, this game isn't bad. But, it's not great either. The controls are poorly considered, and the A.I. should be re-classified as Artificial Stupidity after the number of times my own squad members decided to blow up half my squad on occasion. Then again, it's not all bad, as more often than not the enemy decides to do the same thing to themselves. The game lacks polish and gives the distinct impression of being rushed in order to get on the shelves before xmas. The cut scenes are nice, and it's obviously where most of your effort went unfortunately. Sorry, Red Lynx and THQ, but you get a big F for Fail in the eyes of Warhammer 40K fans everywhere. Collapse
  3. Kon
    May 14, 2008
    8
    this game wow-ed me on the first go, it carries the warhammer 40k universe pretty well and impressive accuracy, even better than the WH40K series on PC (which i have been playing since it's first release till now) i might say, but it's a pity that most of the missions are pretty straight forward kill-em-all runs. other than that, the voice-acting is average, nothing impressivethis game wow-ed me on the first go, it carries the warhammer 40k universe pretty well and impressive accuracy, even better than the WH40K series on PC (which i have been playing since it's first release till now) i might say, but it's a pity that most of the missions are pretty straight forward kill-em-all runs. other than that, the voice-acting is average, nothing impressive can be expected from a hand-held console, but the cut scenes are excellent, probably the one of the best around in warhammer. It seems like a trail in this release to me with the apparently undeniable huge potential Squad Command has - more races, units, mission types, and maybe more depth down in it's gameplay. Expand
  4. BrianK.
    Nov 17, 2007
    9
    Incredible, smart, well paced turn-based strategy. Easy to pick up and learn and a blast to play. Makes great use of the PSP screen real estate and hardware. Wish there were more games like this out there. Best Turn Based Strategy Game for the PSP.
  5. Kevinn
    Nov 18, 2007
    9
    A good tactical/strategy game in the 40k universe. Easy to grasp controls and gameplay.
  6. AlvinC.
    Nov 19, 2007
    9
    Form your own opinions and download the demo from playstation.com. The retail version is same (but with more challenging missions), plus online infrastructure mode. Up to 4 vs 4 matches are supported.
  7. JoshB.
    Dec 10, 2007
    7
    A solid turn based strategy game that has a very X-Com feel to it though it is lacking the depth of it's predecessors in the genre. This game has two glaring problems that keep it from being a top ten game on the PSP. 1. Camera, it's fixed the whole time and after playing similar games with better camera options like Jeanne D'Arc there is no excuse that the system A solid turn based strategy game that has a very X-Com feel to it though it is lacking the depth of it's predecessors in the genre. This game has two glaring problems that keep it from being a top ten game on the PSP. 1. Camera, it's fixed the whole time and after playing similar games with better camera options like Jeanne D'Arc there is no excuse that the system can't handle it. 2. Character growth. In this type of game, a solid RPG element can be added where you develop individual soldiers with different skill sets. This would add tremendously to the intense battles if you are worried about your favorite characters surviving. Instead we just get generic_military unit_101 here. Add those two things to a sequel and your going to have a game that gets a 9.5 instead of a 7. Despite these flaws, the game is still a solid purchase for a fan of Warhammer or the RTS genre. Expand
  8. PaulC.
    Nov 18, 2007
    9
    Incredible strategy game. I own Jeanne D' Arc, FF Tactics, Disgaea, Socom Tactical and I can't seem to put down Warhammer. It reminds me a lot of Jagged Alliance for all you old skool gamers out there. The game is pure FUN.
  9. TomR.
    Nov 24, 2007
    10
    One of the best turn-based strategy games I have ever played. Once you learn the game, its super exciting, and addictive. Really surprised on the low ratings, think this game is something else completely.
  10. Feb 19, 2013
    5
    Many reviewers have commented that Squad Command will appeal more to fans on 40k, who are liable to overlook the clunky interface and lack of plot, and just enjoy the familiar designs and characters of the franchise. This is false. Any 40k player will have to contend not only with wrestling the cursor into position and being unable to move the camera properly, but also with the fact thatMany reviewers have commented that Squad Command will appeal more to fans on 40k, who are liable to overlook the clunky interface and lack of plot, and just enjoy the familiar designs and characters of the franchise. This is false. Any 40k player will have to contend not only with wrestling the cursor into position and being unable to move the camera properly, but also with the fact that the weaponry and armour does not function in a way that reflects how things are balanced in the game, and many critical features of the game are entirely missing. On the contrary, I would say you're more likely to enjoy this game if you have never played 40k, or indeed any good squad-based shooter.

    For example, vehicles take the same amount of damage no matter where they are hit. A blast from a combat shotgun does nearly twice the damage of a volley of bolter shells (not to mention automatically hitting every enemy within range; my record is five chaos cultists with a single shot!). Bolters themselves feel horribly under-powered, requiring at least two volleys to see off a lightly-armoured cultist, and something in the region of ten (around fifty shells) at point blank range to kill a chaos space marine. Because the game doesn't take account of the difference between toughness and armour, a heavy flamer is the perfect weapon to use against terminators (who, incidentally, only benefit from a health bonus of 25% compared to their power armoured brethren they should be more than twice as hard to kill). Plasma guns never overheat. Lascannons do not impede movement, and are actually more efficient to move-and-shoot with than plasma guns. Psychology is not taken into account in any sense (neither, therefore, is squad coherence). There are no squad composition rules, so not only is it possible to give all of your marines plasma guns, it's practically forced on you by the comparative weediness of bolters. The list goes on and on.
    Expand
  11. May 21, 2015
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I do not have to say anything. But i need to write one hundred and fifty characters. i think my score can describe it................................. Expand
Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. 54
    Warhammer fans: the ability to control classic Warhammer units may make this game more appealing to you, but anyone interested in the title should be extremely cautious before investing the time and money. The positive elements just barely outweigh the bad.
  2. Its turn-based tactical squad battles are a pleasure to master, even if they tend to be a bit short and shallow.
  3. Interface issues and the limitations of the PSP take a toll on the otherwise impressive Warhammer 40,000: Squad Command.