Ys Seven PSP

Ys Seven Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 70 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The kingdom of Altago is rebuilding their kingdom around a newfound peace after years of war against the merciless armies of Romn. The classic adventuresome duo, Adol and Dogi, arrive in the harbor of Altago City, and quickly find themselves in a scuffle with the Dragon Knights, theThe kingdom of Altago is rebuilding their kingdom around a newfound peace after years of war against the merciless armies of Romn. The classic adventuresome duo, Adol and Dogi, arrive in the harbor of Altago City, and quickly find themselves in a scuffle with the Dragon Knights, the kingdom's military police body, when attempting to save a local girl from harassment by one of their commanding officers. Upset by the interruption and subsequent humiliation, the commander arrests Adol and Dogi, charging them with espionage. The king of Altago, having known of the duo's pending arrival from an old trusted friend, quickly releases the pair from prison and summons them to his chambers. He tells the men about an ancient shrine that was uncovered after a recent earthquake, and asks for their help in investigating this mysterious new find. Adol and Dogi oblige, unaware that they are about to take the first steps on a long journey to save all of Altago from long-forgotten ancient forces, and to reunite the estranged five tribes who serve and protect the Five Great Dragons – deified beings who may well be the world's last hope. Ys SEVEN is the latest installment in the long-running Ys series which first debuted on PC in 1987. This is the first iteration to be built specifically for the PSP system, taking full advantage of the widescreen format and hardware. The battle system consists of a three-member battle party with enemies engaged on the field map in real-time for fast-paced combat. Old fans of the series and new players alike will be immersed into the rich vibrant world containing over 30 hours of gameplay. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Ys Seven - PC Announcement Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. Whatever notes Ys Seven is hitting, it's doing it right and marrying every smart mechanic in action-RPG gameplay between themselves to create an actually intuitive system that never tires nor lets up - even if it's more of a throwback than anything out today.
  2. The simple fact is that Ys Seven is one of the best RPGs on this or any other console, and it's a true hidden gem for PSP owners.
  3. An old style adventure, carved out a fast paced combat system and a retro feeling that will seduce anyone who ever played a former game starring the red-haired Adol. Not a masterpice for the ones who don't know the series, though.
  4. 80
    The speedy combat is addictive and goes beyond mere button mashing, so while Ys Seven might not be a AAA release, it is a solid title that deserves a shot.
  5. Oct 25, 2010
    80
    Despite these minor miscues, Ys Seven proves that you can tweak a classic game series without ruining it in the process.
  6. The simple purity of hack-and-slash gameplay is Ys Seven's most realized and compelling feature.
  7. If you're willing to use the wonderful fast-forward button and focus your attention on the important parts of the game, then YS SEVEN is well worth the money and your time. On the other hand, if you are foolish enough to take in the entire story, please don't blame me – I tried to warn you.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 17
  2. Negative: 1 out of 17
  1. Apr 23, 2014
    10
    Just finished the game recently and... man. How does a game like this stay under the radar for so long? I only recently got into the Ys seriesJust finished the game recently and... man. How does a game like this stay under the radar for so long? I only recently got into the Ys series and this was undoubtedly the best portable RPG I've ever played. Usually I start to get bored of a game like this around the 30 hour mark, but Ys Seven didn't feel repetitive to me since you're always gaining new powers and each dungeons always introduce new kinds of obstacles. To me the gameplay and length are perfect, my only complaint is that while the story is good, I feel like it could have been conveyed much better. The amazing soundtrack does well to set the mood, but if the game had voice acting and more cinematic cutscenes than people standing in place with speech bubbles, that could've gone a long way. I'm still giving it a 10 though as I thoroughly enjoyed the game from start to finish. Expand
  2. Nov 27, 2014
    10
    First time i see this game, i just like "it's just same like the others RPG games out there" but Ys 7 is totally different than others evenFirst time i see this game, i just like "it's just same like the others RPG games out there" but Ys 7 is totally different than others even the graphic is not good as Final Fantasy but the gameplay is better than Final Fantasy. First of all, the fast strike and dodge system. You can easily dodge the enemy's attack just by a single button and if you charged up your sword and hit the enemy, not just increasing your damage but refill your Sp too. The second one is the boss fight and skill, the music is awesome, the boss is difficult to fight and the battle is just epic! You can learn a new skill when you got a new weapon, level up your skill and you can set the skill up for easily use while in battle. Not to mention it, the party system. Adol is the one who can use three type of attack and it's totally a bless for me. Easy to change the character while in battle to match with enemy's weakness, and if you have a character who using the same type of attack like Adol, you can simply change adol's weapon to change the type of Adol's attack. If you searching for non-type of turn-based RPG, Ys 7 is the answer Expand
  3. Nov 28, 2011
    9
    One of the greatest jewels of the action adventure. It's a game that has been created for the purpose of fun, with no ambitions. the game doesOne of the greatest jewels of the action adventure. It's a game that has been created for the purpose of fun, with no ambitions. the game does not have a highly elaborate story or a pre-rendered animations that make us fall on my ass. We just offer us fun, as was done once before in that the graphics were one of the most important in the mind of every newcomer to the world gamer.

    Gameplay + Music, here is the definition of this game ... Moreover, the whole saga.
    Expand
  4. Apr 17, 2014
    9
    An all-around excellent game, and a perfect follow-up to Ys: The Oath in Felghana. The gameplay is fast-paced and engaging, the story isAn all-around excellent game, and a perfect follow-up to Ys: The Oath in Felghana. The gameplay is fast-paced and engaging, the story is compelling with constant twists and turns, and the translation is top-notch. The only critique I have is that, compared to Felghana, this game is too easy. I recommend playing it on Hard mode if you've played Felghana, because Ys Seven's Normal mode is nowhere near as challenging as Felghana's Normal mode. Expand
  5. Aug 18, 2010
    9
    A lot of the PSP RPGs you pick up at your local game store are ports from other platforms. So, as soon as I heard that Ys Seven was beingA lot of the PSP RPGs you pick up at your local game store are ports from other platforms. So, as soon as I heard that Ys Seven was being made from the ground up for the PSP, it became an instant day one purchase for me. What's the difference between a port and an original game for the PSP? Load times are fast, the graphics look amazing, and gameplay designs can be implemented with the PSP in mind. That's the case with Ys Seven. Ys (pronounced like the eace in peace) Seven is actually the 7th game in the line of Ys games, but you don't have to play the prior ones. It's a standalone title made for people who may not be familiar with the series. The gameplay is fun and takes place in real time. You will travel the world and encounter and fight with enemies without any changes. You swing by hitting X, open up menu by hitting triangle, etc. The game is sort of an action RPG that's more RPG than action.

    If you are an RPG fan looking for something new to play on your PSP, you can't go wrong with Ys Seven. For 30 bucks, the amount of game you get is astounding especially considering it's an RPG and built solely for the PSP.
    Expand
  6. Aug 17, 2010
    8
    Great game. On a technical level, loading times are nil, framerate is smooth, menus and buttons are user-friendly. The gameplay is the starGreat game. On a technical level, loading times are nil, framerate is smooth, menus and buttons are user-friendly. The gameplay is the star here and it's fast, furious and fun, and perfect for a portable system. Think Secret of Mana but refined and much faster, and you have an idea of the gameplay. Quick-switching between characters is a breeze and very fun, and the boss battles are epic. Music, as with most Falcom games, is excellent, though not quite up to the standard set by Ys I & II Complete. Only negatives would be slightly grainy visuals and a slightly saggy plot, but Ys games have never been about huge narratives, instead focusing on tight gameplay and great music. Expand
  7. Oct 22, 2010
    2
    Ys Seven was a huge graphical downgrade from its predecessors, the story was long-winded, and the sound effects were very annoying inYs Seven was a huge graphical downgrade from its predecessors, the story was long-winded, and the sound effects were very annoying in comparison to past entries in the series. Adol also traded his jumping ability for a roll, which, while it worked, not being able to jump made the animations go all funky when he would go down a slope, etc. The gameplay was no longer as action packed as it had been before, either. And last but not least, the translation was horrendous and throwing gamers names into the game because of some stupid contest Xseed ran really pissed me off because it made the world of Ys look so ridiculous as the names were completely out of place. I can't recommend this game to those who have played the other games in the series. Collapse

See all 17 User Reviews

Trailers

Awards & Rankings

13
6
#6 Most Discussed PSP Game of 2010
10
#10 Most Shared PSP Game of 2010