Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 161 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Developed by WB Games Montreal, Batman: Arkham City Armored Edition is the enhanced version of the game created by Rocksteady Studios. The Wii U version delivers the same impactful story and gameplay as the original title, this time with enhanced gameplay mechanics and features made possible with the Wii U and its unique GamePad. Batman: Arkham City is set in the new maximum security “home” for all of Gotham City’s thugs, gangsters and insane criminal masterminds. Featuring an vast Rogues Gallery of Gotham City’s most dangerous criminals including Catwoman, The Joker, The Riddler, Two-Face, Harley Quinn, The Penguin, Mr. Freeze and many others, the game allows players to genuinely experience what it feels like to be The Dark Knight delivering justice on the streets of Gotham City. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. Feb 20, 2013
    100
    Batman: Arkham City is one of the best games ever created, no matter the platform. It’s engaging from beginning to end, the production values are first rate, and on Wii U there’s an extra level of depth to the experience. You can't go wrong with an outright purchase.
  2. Jan 23, 2013
    92
    Armoured Edition is an excellent superhero's sandbox. The BatGamePad-gadgets work nicely. [Jan 2013]
  3. 90
    Even if you don't play Batman's story again, just the extra content is enough to justify the purchase.
  4. Nov 28, 2012
    85
    The original Arkham City is a great game, so it would have been pretty hard for this version to ruin that. However, a frame rate all over the place and insignificant additions to the experience makes this a hard to recommend version if you have access to other machines. For Wii U only users, it is a fantastic game.
  5. Probably the best superhero game ever made. If you're willing to fight innovations to see the game at its best, this is a huge slab of muscular adventuring.
  6. Jan 11, 2013
    80
    If you enjoyed Batman: Arkham City in 2011, there's really no great incentive to don the superhero costume again. The Wii U version is still a good way to experience and explore Arkham City if you've yet to play the game, though.
  7. Nov 16, 2013
    60
    Batman: Arkham Origins is the tricky type of game that isn’t innately bad, but it recycles so much from its predecessors and does absolutely nothing to improve upon them.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 30
  2. Negative: 1 out of 30
  1. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    This is the best Wii U launch game by so far. Yeah, maybe it's one year later, and it's suppose that there is not going to be anyone to play this one. Anyway, it's the same game, simply the great and brilliant game released on 2011. Nothing changes, even the technical aspect. But if you've played another versions, specially the GOTY one, you are going to waste your money shamelessly. This game is great for those who haven't played the game, or simply are Nintendo-Batman fans. Expand
  2. Apr 26, 2014
    10
    The action gameplay is flawless. The dialogue can be corny, and the Wii U version does experience some framerate drops, but this game was a dream to play in terms of combat, movement, and atmosphere. It improved upon Arkham Asylum in so many ways (which was already a very solid game). I would highly recommend it on the Wii U if you havent played it yet. The added gamepad features are actually kind of neat, and didnt feel gimmicky. Expand
  3. Jan 2, 2013
    10
    It's rare that 3 letters can describe a single game, but that is the case here. Those 3 letters? Wow. I played a little bit of Arkham Asylum and wasn't the biggest fan, it just didn't connect with me very well. I had read the rave reviews of Arkham City but never gave it a try. So when I got the Wii U I figured I would finally give it a shot. Simply amazing. The game is so much fun. It reminds me of a mix between Spider-Man 2 and Grand Theft Auto. Though I would say I enjoyed this game better than those 2. Graphically it is fantastic. I've heard the Wii U version is the best looking though I can't confirm nor deny that. The music is outstanding as well and sounds very similar to the score of the Dark Knight films. Now the controls are where Arkham Asylum turned me off. There seemed to be a lot of strange button combinations to do simple actions. Like pressing A + R, or something similar. The same is the case in Arkham City but it feels more comfortable and natural. They still take a bit get used to, but the Wii U gamepad makes it better. Speaking of the gamepad, the way it's used here is very surprising. I would have expected them to maybe have a map on there or cutscenes like the other Wii U ports. And while they do have those features, it has many more. All of your gadgets are easily accessible by simply touching them on the gamepad. You can even map certain gadgets to the d-pad for quick access. Some gadgets are strictly used on the gamepad like hacking computers and controlling the remote batarang. It works beautifully. Also on the gamepad is character bios, your entire suit upgrade system, and whenever you communicate with somebody via walkie talkie, it's played through the gamepad speaker. It all really gives you the impression that the developers really cared about this Wii U version which really makes it a great version to have. So that's where I'll end things. This has become one of my favorite games of the year and maybe my favorite Wii U game and I really recommend you play it if you're looking for an excellent game that really shows what makes the Wii U a unique console. Thanks! Expand
  4. Jan 9, 2014
    9
    An action game that improves on it's predecessor. Arkham City is much larger and just more fun. The villains are very well represented (the Joker especially), the world is massive, the narrative is well done, the visuals are impressive and the music is great. While i honestly found the beginning a little slow, this game is great in every regard. A great Wii U launch and in all honestly, i don't know why this version got lower rated as it's just great if not better then the PS3 version. Expand
  5. Dec 11, 2012
    9
    This game is awesome...just as good as PS360 if not better
    Batarific: all DLC content.
    Catwoman is awesome to play as
    Sweet skins, animated
    and 70's batman are my faves
    So much to do and explore with engaging side quests from the batman comics
    Pretty awesome to be able to go and play in bed, a room away from the console
    The Wii U controller is very immersiveI love getting calls from the joker, and doing inventory using the pad.
    New game plus that is actually fun
    Great combat that I never tired of The not so great:
    wish it were longer
    minor frame dropping

    A must buy if you don't own on PS360 and support core games for nintendo's next gen core console.
    Expand
  6. Nov 20, 2012
    9
    IF you have already played it, there is no need to play again, but, for people who have not played it, the wiiu is the definitive version of 2011's GOTY, including all DLC, and it looks pretty much the same as the other versions. However, the gamepad isnt really done well. Expand
  7. Jun 27, 2013
    6
    Call me grouchy, but I can't help but feel the quest for flashy graphics and gritty realism is chipping away at what made great action games in the past: the gameplay.

    Case in point: the critically-acclaimed Batman Arkham series. It sure sounds a lot of fun to get to wear the Dark Knight's (or Catwoman's) skin and explore the sprawling "detention block" of Gotham City. The case is even more so when you have all of Batman's gadgets at your disposal. This immersive presentation is where Arkham City really shines, at times making you feel as if you're inside a Batman movie. But the mechanics to make such a thing even possible end up convoluted, to the point where you'll need the game's constant on-screen tips and reminders to even get what you're supposed to do next.

    Arkham City could definitely learn a thing or two from the Zelda Castlevania book of epic adventuring. The most immediately obvious problem with the game is how it completely overwhelms you from the get-go with a plethora of available information, menus and weapons something both the aforementioned series avoid in exchange for a more linear method of getting new items over time and/or upgrading them. The game would greatly benefit from a more spread-out learning curve, perhaps letting you play in Bruce Wayne mode for a while longer, and focusing more on fun gameplay than on the (admittedly impressive) cinematics and cutscenes.

    Once you get the hang of it, though, Arkham City can be a rewarding experience. The combat system is pure old hack and slash, with some added nuance from counter-strikes. The gamepad-based mechanics, such as detective mode and the sonar, are often cute, even if sometimes they feel a bit gimmicky. And of course, Batman's world remains as intriguing as ever.

    If you're a fan of the modern style of action games, you should be thrilled with Arkham City. Otherwise, I'd suggest giving it a try before you buy it.
    Expand

See all 30 User Reviews