Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 199 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Black Ops II makes use of Wii U’s second-screen including the ability to view multiplayer maps, call in score streaks and choose load-outs. Players have the option to use Wii U’s split-screen functions to use both the GamePad and the Wii U Pro Controller. Use the GamePad touch screen toBlack Ops II makes use of Wii U’s second-screen including the ability to view multiplayer maps, call in score streaks and choose load-outs. Players have the option to use Wii U’s split-screen functions to use both the GamePad and the Wii U Pro Controller. Use the GamePad touch screen to customize controls in real-time, or switch at any time to use another controller of your choice. Set in a potential near-future, the game thrusts players into a visual landscape in an epic single player campaign highlighted by branching story lines and non-linear missions; a revamped multiplayer introduces players to progressive weaponry and equipment that 2025 might have to offer; and punched up with an all-new Zombies experience running in the multiplayer engine. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 31
  2. Negative: 1 out of 31
  1. Nov 21, 2012
    93
    Level for level, gun for gun, the campaign, multiplayer and zombies content of Black Ops 2 on Wii U is almost the same. This version may cut the livestreaming feature, and currently doesn't have Elite, but it makes up for it with some nifty GamePad functionality.
  2. Nov 30, 2012
    90
    Black Ops 2 on Wii U lives up to its Xbox counterpart (that being slightly superior to the PS3 version) in almost every way. The lack of CoD Elite support and live video streaming is irrelevant to your enjoyment of the actual game, and additionally insignificant next to the lack of players at the moment – a limitation that will subside as the user base grows.
  3. Dec 11, 2012
    90
    Overall, Black Ops 2 on the Wii U is easily recommendable. It proves that the Wii U can handle a modern top-tier shooter with ease, and is easily one of the best titles in the launch lineup. Unless you're buying a Wii U for the kiddies this year, you'll want to add Black Ops 2 to your new console's bundle.
  4. Nov 29, 2012
    85
    A great title with the best multiplayer we've seen on this console so far. There are some framerate issues, but if you're a FPS fan, then this is a must have.
  5. Jan 15, 2013
    81
    GamePad play doesn't make up for online gaps, but this is the best Nintendo CoD. [Feb 2013, p.77]
  6. Dec 10, 2012
    80
    If you are looking for a decent shooter for the Wii U, then this is the title to get. It offers a single-player, a zombi mode and lots of hours to spend in the multiplayer.
  7. Dec 18, 2012
    30
    A really great game has been demolished by the GamePad, Pro Controller and Wii-mote. All technical specifications and content is up to par with its competitors, but that doesn't matter at all if the controllers ruins the entire experience.

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 44
  2. Negative: 5 out of 44
  1. Nov 27, 2012
    10
    I love this game. Being able to actually play the whole game on the gamepad is awesome to say the least. The graphics rock and controls, well,I love this game. Being able to actually play the whole game on the gamepad is awesome to say the least. The graphics rock and controls, well, take a bit to get used to, are great. If Nintendo keeps this up, and encourages fps shooters on the platform and game pad, they will have a Hugh success. Could not be happier with this purchase. Expand
  2. Nov 19, 2012
    10
    I have seen all versions of this game. The WiiU has the superior graphics by far. There is a comparison video online that proves this but I'veI have seen all versions of this game. The WiiU has the superior graphics by far. There is a comparison video online that proves this but I've seen it first hand. Now what you think about the game is your own personal opinion. But anyone who is wondering if the WiiU version is worth buying over any other console, my answer is a big fat YES! Expand
  3. Mar 2, 2013
    9
    I very much like this game. It is a very good addition to the Call of Duty franchise, especally the Black Ops series (which is my favorite). II very much like this game. It is a very good addition to the Call of Duty franchise, especally the Black Ops series (which is my favorite). I enjoy the most of the maps, almost all of the guns, and the new features. The 10-points class making system makes you rationalize what you wish to use. The scorestreak system is very well developed. I will say, there seems to be something mssing from the game- something that would make it more fun, even though I do not think it is one certain thing. However, it is amazingly enjoyable to play with friends. And the Wii U version allows for all controllers- the Wii U GamePad (whose features are great, but do not make it too OP compared to the Wii U Pro or Classic Controller Pro), the Wii U Pro, the Classic Controller Pro, and the Wiimote and Nunchuck (though the last one is not as much fun, in my opinion, as it was in MW3, but they have been updating it to be better). I would have liked the Nuketown 2025 map (and i hope they have it for DLC), as well as Season Pass, but i will not complain. If you do not care for DLC, this is the definitive console version of Call of Duty:Black Ops II (which in my opinion, is the best, if not second best game in the series). Expand
  4. Nov 21, 2012
    9
    A slight upgrade in graphics from my 360 version and the game pad is actually helpful unlike most launch titles. I am about 2/3's into theA slight upgrade in graphics from my 360 version and the game pad is actually helpful unlike most launch titles. I am about 2/3's into the campaign on the 360 version and on the 4th mission on the Wii U. I have encountered 2 glitches on this version but neither were a big deal. The multiplayer is intact except for Elite but there is only a small group playing online right now. Expected from a launch title but this is C.O.D. It supposed to be "The" multiplayer of this gen. Or is the Wii U next gen? Either way that is a disappointment. But this is still the best Call of Duty yet. Is there franchise fatigue? Sure, but it is still a great game and I would say a must buy on the Wii U for multiplayer alone. Expand
  5. Dec 4, 2012
    8
    My view might be a little off as its the first COD I've owned (have played others). I like BF formula better, but picking up my WiiU, I wantedMy view might be a little off as its the first COD I've owned (have played others). I like BF formula better, but picking up my WiiU, I wanted the local multiplayer this offers as well as its online.

    I never have cared for FPS story mode, so it doesn't affect my score.

    The multi-player is a lot of fun and I'm glad I bought it. Additionally, with the various control options you have with this on WiiU, plus the capability to only play on Gamepad (TV off or doing something else), its easy to say this is the best version to own.
    Expand
  6. Mar 16, 2014
    8
    Is this the same recycled Call of Duty crap that everyone trashes? Probably. But I haven't bought a CoD game in years, and so picking this upIs this the same recycled Call of Duty crap that everyone trashes? Probably. But I haven't bought a CoD game in years, and so picking this up for Wii U to have a game that I could play online was a good call because I really enjoy it. The campaign was entirely forgettable, but its pretty addicting to pick up and play online. Being able to play on the gamepad is really neat. I prefer the TV and the Pro Controller, but playing on the gamepad is a really nice feature to have. Using it as a map is also super useful. Overall I am very pleased with it, but probably won't be buying another entry in the series anytime soon since this scratches my FPS itch just fine. Expand
  7. Jan 16, 2015
    2
    This game is like having a crappy job. I get put on "probation" for not playing full matches, because I keep getting disconnected from theThis game is like having a crappy job. I get put on "probation" for not playing full matches, because I keep getting disconnected from the server. My fault? Nay I say. Not to mention that when I get disconnected, none of my achievements or K/D ratio come with me. I can't advance to Prestige...Ever!! This is the only game I have that problem with. Also, by now you'd think that working out all the kinks to eliminate cheaters would be done. Nope. Actually as far as cheating is concerned, it's the worst COD yet. I'm not totally blaming COD makers, how much of a loser do you have to be to cheat at a rewardless video game?? Unless you consider sacrificing your dignity and self respect a reward. I also have a life so I guess I can't relate. Save your money. Although, if you like being disconnected constantly and cheating like a complete tool, than this game is totally for you. Expand

See all 44 User Reviews