Call of Duty: Black Ops II Image
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 237 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Black Ops II makes use of Wii U’s second-screen including the ability to view multiplayer maps, call in score streaks and choose load-outs. Players have the option to use Wii U’s split-screen functions to use both the GamePad and the Wii U Pro Controller. Use the GamePad touch screen toBlack Ops II makes use of Wii U’s second-screen including the ability to view multiplayer maps, call in score streaks and choose load-outs. Players have the option to use Wii U’s split-screen functions to use both the GamePad and the Wii U Pro Controller. Use the GamePad touch screen to customize controls in real-time, or switch at any time to use another controller of your choice. Set in a potential near-future, the game thrusts players into a visual landscape in an epic single player campaign highlighted by branching story lines and non-linear missions; a revamped multiplayer introduces players to progressive weaponry and equipment that 2025 might have to offer; and punched up with an all-new Zombies experience running in the multiplayer engine. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Call of Duty Elite - Black Ops 2 Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 31
  2. Negative: 1 out of 31
  1. Nov 21, 2012
    93
    Level for level, gun for gun, the campaign, multiplayer and zombies content of Black Ops 2 on Wii U is almost the same. This version may cut the livestreaming feature, and currently doesn't have Elite, but it makes up for it with some nifty GamePad functionality.
  2. Nov 30, 2012
    90
    Black Ops 2 on Wii U lives up to its Xbox counterpart (that being slightly superior to the PS3 version) in almost every way. The lack of CoD Elite support and live video streaming is irrelevant to your enjoyment of the actual game, and additionally insignificant next to the lack of players at the moment – a limitation that will subside as the user base grows.
  3. Dec 11, 2012
    90
    Overall, Black Ops 2 on the Wii U is easily recommendable. It proves that the Wii U can handle a modern top-tier shooter with ease, and is easily one of the best titles in the launch lineup. Unless you're buying a Wii U for the kiddies this year, you'll want to add Black Ops 2 to your new console's bundle.
  4. Nov 29, 2012
    85
    A great title with the best multiplayer we've seen on this console so far. There are some framerate issues, but if you're a FPS fan, then this is a must have.
  5. Games Master UK
    Jan 15, 2013
    81
    GamePad play doesn't make up for online gaps, but this is the best Nintendo CoD. [Feb 2013, p.77]
  6. Dec 10, 2012
    80
    If you are looking for a decent shooter for the Wii U, then this is the title to get. It offers a single-player, a zombi mode and lots of hours to spend in the multiplayer.
  7. Dec 18, 2012
    30
    A really great game has been demolished by the GamePad, Pro Controller and Wii-mote. All technical specifications and content is up to par with its competitors, but that doesn't matter at all if the controllers ruins the entire experience.

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 48
  2. Negative: 4 out of 48
  1. Dec 4, 2015
    10
    This is the best shooter on the Wii U. The Wii U adds a whole new dimension to this game. It is a must have if you enjoy FPS. Great game andThis is the best shooter on the Wii U. The Wii U adds a whole new dimension to this game. It is a must have if you enjoy FPS. Great game and better on the Wii U than the other consoles. Expand
  2. Nov 19, 2012
    10
    I have seen all versions of this game. The WiiU has the superior graphics by far. There is a comparison video online that proves this but I'veI have seen all versions of this game. The WiiU has the superior graphics by far. There is a comparison video online that proves this but I've seen it first hand. Now what you think about the game is your own personal opinion. But anyone who is wondering if the WiiU version is worth buying over any other console, my answer is a big fat YES! Expand
  3. Mar 2, 2013
    9
    I very much like this game. It is a very good addition to the Call of Duty franchise, especally the Black Ops series (which is my favorite). II very much like this game. It is a very good addition to the Call of Duty franchise, especally the Black Ops series (which is my favorite). I enjoy the most of the maps, almost all of the guns, and the new features. The 10-points class making system makes you rationalize what you wish to use. The scorestreak system is very well developed. I will say, there seems to be something mssing from the game- something that would make it more fun, even though I do not think it is one certain thing. However, it is amazingly enjoyable to play with friends. And the Wii U version allows for all controllers- the Wii U GamePad (whose features are great, but do not make it too OP compared to the Wii U Pro or Classic Controller Pro), the Wii U Pro, the Classic Controller Pro, and the Wiimote and Nunchuck (though the last one is not as much fun, in my opinion, as it was in MW3, but they have been updating it to be better). I would have liked the Nuketown 2025 map (and i hope they have it for DLC), as well as Season Pass, but i will not complain. If you do not care for DLC, this is the definitive console version of Call of Duty:Black Ops II (which in my opinion, is the best, if not second best game in the series). Expand
  4. Dec 1, 2012
    9
    All I have to say is what a package. The campaign was amazing and such a blast to go through, even though it was quite a short blast. MuchAll I have to say is what a package. The campaign was amazing and such a blast to go through, even though it was quite a short blast. Much like the other games in the franchise after cod 4, it is heavily story oriented. The difference is the branching story line system and customizable classes for single player campaign. They add a good amount of replay value so replaying this game through making different choices will change how the story pans out. Contrary to popular belief, you don't change the path of the story line solely in the 'strike-force' missions (the RTS portion of the game). The way you maneuver, who you kill/ not kill and how you execute your assignments in the normal storyline also affect the story. Speaking of the RTS portion, though they were quite unique and a change of pace in the campaign, I really didn't enjoy them at all bar a select few. It didn't help I did this on the hardest difficulty (veteran). Luckily, you are not obliged to complete these strike-force missions and can continue without but will affect how the story pans out. The best thing about it, none of what happens is too far fetched and is quite believable. The characters are very memorable and you feel empathy for them: friend or foe. For a fictional character (s) that's quite the accomplishment.. Admittedly, the graphics are not mind boggling but the game makes up for that with a very smooth 60 FPS frame rate, something no other console shooter can do. The audio on the other hand is excellent and as far as the score is concerned, Trent Reznor (composer of the main theme) did a remarkable job. 'Tis so chilling and so epic at the same time.
    The multiplayer portion manages to stay true to its franchise and feel completely different simultaneously. Looks can be deceiving. Judging from trailers and what have you, it looks like a carbon copy of its predecessors. It really isn't. It has to be played to really grasp hold of it. The customisation is top notch. None of this cosmetic stuff but tangible benefits of mixing and matching different 'perks' and attachments. Every weapon is unique and have benefits for electing each. Overall, the futuristic maps really help make the game more fresh and the gun play still fasted and hectic.
    I'm going to cop-out of talking about the zombies portion as we could talk all day. It's zombie killing at its finest. One things for sure, the crafting mechanic is a welcomed feature and turns the challenge dial up just a tad. The grief mode (4 people vs 4 people vs zombies) is well... meh.

    Solid 9/10. Not perfect 10 as the campaign was a smidgen too short for my fancy. BUY IT NOW!
    Expand
  5. Dec 28, 2013
    8
    Overall, it's a really fun game. The story was good for what it was, and the graphics are also great. I am a HUGE 'Call Of Duty' fanboy, soOverall, it's a really fun game. The story was good for what it was, and the graphics are also great. I am a HUGE 'Call Of Duty' fanboy, so this is just really fun. But the story drags a little to much for a campaign and the multiplayer is fun to, but it's also very predictable. But overall, it's really fun. Expand
  6. Apr 17, 2018
    7
    Si te lo pillas barato y con la única intención de pasarte la campaña, pillátelo...es entretenido. No he jugado a muchos call of duty pero unaSi te lo pillas barato y con la única intención de pasarte la campaña, pillátelo...es entretenido. No he jugado a muchos call of duty pero una cosa que me ocurrió con este es que la diversión que he tenido de jugar al modo campaña ha sido un de más a menos al utilzar la mismas tácticas y mecánicas una y otra vez...pero bueno, será que tampoco es mi estilo la saga esta.

    AHORA, si tienes como motivación jugarlo online, no te lo compres NI DE COÑA. Si en el momento que me lo compré hace (dos o tres años) los servidores estaban MUERTOS, hoy en día ni os digo.
    Expand
  7. Jan 16, 2015
    2
    This game is like having a crappy job. I get put on "probation" for not playing full matches, because I keep getting disconnected from theThis game is like having a crappy job. I get put on "probation" for not playing full matches, because I keep getting disconnected from the server. My fault? Nay I say. Not to mention that when I get disconnected, none of my achievements or K/D ratio come with me. I can't advance to Prestige...Ever!! This is the only game I have that problem with. Also, by now you'd think that working out all the kinks to eliminate cheaters would be done. Nope. Actually as far as cheating is concerned, it's the worst COD yet. I'm not totally blaming COD makers, how much of a loser do you have to be to cheat at a rewardless video game?? Unless you consider sacrificing your dignity and self respect a reward. I also have a life so I guess I can't relate. Save your money. Although, if you like being disconnected constantly and cheating like a complete tool, than this game is totally for you. Expand

See all 48 User Reviews