How to Train Your Dragon 2 Wii U

Metascore
47

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 4 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 4
  2. Negative: 2 out of 4
Buy On
  1. Jun 27, 2014
    50
    The developers missed a trick here. In my opinion, the game could have been so much more quite easily. The flying is brilliant, allowing you to bank so harshly and attack means that we could have had a game that set island against island in numerous battles. However, we are stuck with an ok racer dragged to mediocrity by idea of the “Dragon Games”.
  2. Jun 18, 2014
    50
    If you're a big fan of the movie and you can take advantage of the multiplayer with your kids, the exploration aspect of How to Train Your Dragon 2 is a soothing, enjoyable romp through a detailed island gameworld accompanied by a triumphant soundtrack. As a retail game, though, it's a steep asking price for a dragon adventure with repetitive minigames and little depth.
  3. Official Nintendo Magazine UK
    Aug 8, 2014
    48
    Underwhelming. [Sept 2014, p.90]
  4. Jul 18, 2014
    40
    After the first 20 minutes I though “Hey this ain’t so bad.” But since the second, third or fourth 20 minutes give you exactly the same content as the first 20, I changed my mind. It is quite bad.
User Score
4.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 7 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 2 out of 3
  1. Nov 28, 2014
    3
    I am so glad I rented this game instead of buying it. This game would be a decent buy for $10 max! Unfortunately, no one is selling it forI am so glad I rented this game instead of buying it. This game would be a decent buy for $10 max! Unfortunately, no one is selling it for that price yet.

    I played it for maybe 30 minutes before I gave up on it. Flying around on the dragons was fun but the mini games got old fast. Controlling the dragons isn't difficult but children will struggle to maneuver the dragon through the ring mini games. The biggest problem with the game is it is so limited in what it offers a player. There is no story/campaing mode. There is limited multi-player action available.

    It feels like the developer spent a lot of time trying to get the visuals to look nice and the controls to not be broken and they ran out of time to make an actual complete game. I feel bad for any parent that bought this game for their child and then had to see their kid quit on the game probably immediately.
    Full Review »
  2. May 29, 2016
    1
    The only good thing is the music BUT the music was taken straight from the movie's soundtrack. Just another cheap cash-grab from a really goodThe only good thing is the music BUT the music was taken straight from the movie's soundtrack. Just another cheap cash-grab from a really good animated movie. Full Review »
  3. May 27, 2016
    10
    Best game of the 21st century. if you like cheese this game is for you. What we at Galliant Reviews mean is that it gives you all the goodnessBest game of the 21st century. if you like cheese this game is for you. What we at Galliant Reviews mean is that it gives you all the goodness of a "cheesy" game! haha... It does for some odd reason make you crave dairy products, cheese specifically.

    Yours truly, - Galliant Reviews
    Full Review »