Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 82 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 1117 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Mario Kart 8 introduces new racing circuit designs and antigravity karts that will have players driving upside down. Players will also enjoy a variety of series-favorite features, including the return of 12-player online competitive play, hang-gliders, underwater racing and motorbikes.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 80 out of 82
  2. Negative: 0 out of 82
  1. Jun 12, 2014
    100
    Mario Kart 8 is a return of one of Nintendo’s most beloved franchises, and is just as chaotic as ever.
  2. May 16, 2014
    95
    Mario Kart 8 is a beast: with great track design, plenty of characters, karts, bikes and power ups is the best Mario Kart of all time. Also thanks to revamped online modes and some gorgeous graphics, is the single reason you need to own a Wii U.
  3. May 15, 2014
    90
    With some new great features added to the classic recipe, with beautiful graphics and spectacular races, Mario Kart 8 looks like the killer app the Wii U was waiting for.
  4. Jun 28, 2014
    90
    The best Mario Kart ever. All faults are forgiven when you're drifting the inside of a vertical corner. [Issue#250, p.58]
  5. May 15, 2014
    88
    It’s safe to say that this is the best Mario Kart since the SNES days, and that’s a pretty heavy statement.
  6. Sep 18, 2014
    80
    Mario Kart 8 is pretty great in many ways, but undoubtedly moreso with a collection of friends to play with, or when facing off against other players online.
  7. May 27, 2014
    70
    Despite this game’s gleaming high-definition sheen, there’s little doubt this granddaddy of the karting genre is beginning to show its age.

See all 82 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 14 out of 316
  1. May 30, 2014
    10
    Simply fantastic! Ladies and gentlemen, GO BUY A WII U FOR THIS GAME. Highly recommended for a fun gaming experience. Nothing on PS4 or XB1Simply fantastic! Ladies and gentlemen, GO BUY A WII U FOR THIS GAME. Highly recommended for a fun gaming experience. Nothing on PS4 or XB1 comes close. 10/10 Expand
  2. Jun 3, 2014
    10
    The first thing you'll notice about this game is that it's beautiful. I've liked the look of past Mario Kart games, but this one is beyondThe first thing you'll notice about this game is that it's beautiful. I've liked the look of past Mario Kart games, but this one is beyond compare. Even the remade maps from past systems look amazing. The second important thing about it is that they've made some new innovations, and they all work pretty well. Driving underwater and on walls and gliding are all fun mechanics that are similar enough to fit in, but different enough to make the game seem fresh.
    Overall, I would say this is the best Mario Kart game I've ever played.
    Expand
  3. Jun 6, 2014
    10
    Mario Kart 8 is perfect in every way. The graphics are marvelous, the tracks are fantastic, the online matches are insane, the items system isMario Kart 8 is perfect in every way. The graphics are marvelous, the tracks are fantastic, the online matches are insane, the items system is balanced, the Mario Kart TV is excellent. A masterpiece. Best game of my life beside "The Legend of Zelda, Ocarina of Time". Expand
  4. May 30, 2014
    10
    Simply amazing. This game is not only beautiful but extremely fun to play. I had a huge smile from ear to ear when I was gliding in the airSimply amazing. This game is not only beautiful but extremely fun to play. I had a huge smile from ear to ear when I was gliding in the air passing someone in the race. It's everything I was hoping this game to be, it was well worth the wait. This game alone is worth buying the Wii U, if you don't agree with me then the free download you get for buying this game is worth the purchase of the Wii U (New Super Mario Bros, Pikmin 3, Windwaker HD) are games worth owning the system and will not disappoint. Don't listen to the haters my library includes: Mario Kart 8, Super Mario 3D World, Rayman Legends, Donkey Kong Tropical Freeze, Darksiders 2 (amazing!), Batman Akrham City (Amazing, they have Wii U exclusives), Call of Duty Black Ops II, Call of Duty Ghost, Legend of Zelda Windwaker HD, Duck tales, Mass Effect 3 (wii u exclusives), Need for Speed Most Wanted U (Wii U exclusives), Ninja Gaiden 3 (Wii U Exclusives and amazing), nintendoland (awesome), sonic all star racing, tekken tag team tournament (wii u exclusives), Zombi U and Pikmin 3 with my free download :D. Anyone that says that the system doesn't have good titles, deserves to be slapped in the face. Later this year Super Smash Bros, a Monolith Exclusive, Bayonetta 2 (wii U exclusive).. Nintendo fan for life! Expand
  5. Jul 24, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Very great game. Normally I don't play Wii u games, but Mario's done it again. Customizable karts. From changing the wheels, switching up your parachute, to getting unique karts. They really raised the bar. If you think Mario Kart Wii raised the bar, buy a Wii U and experience the best Mario Kart there is. Expand
  6. Mar 30, 2015
    9
    Very well made racing game with awesome graphics! Nice tracks and a variety of veichles to choose from. The driver rooster could have beenVery well made racing game with awesome graphics! Nice tracks and a variety of veichles to choose from. The driver rooster could have been better where you have characters such as Baby Mario/Luigi/Peach/Daisy/Rosalina, Metal Mario and last but not least Pink gold Peach instead of say Diddy Kong, Hammer bro or Birdo. But apart from that the rooster is fine (but why is Donkey Kong a cruiser weight?). The balance of items are fixed which means you won't get a blue shell up your *ss as soon as you are in first place. Expand
  7. Mar 20, 2015
    0
    Do you really wanna play a game that prizes the worst players? That what happens in ALL mario kart games, and speceally this **** one. TheDo you really wanna play a game that prizes the worst players? That what happens in ALL mario kart games, and speceally this **** one. The last position player have better items to keep "fun factor" of the game. Come on nintendo, GFY Expand

See all 316 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2014

    The Best Videogames of 2014 Image
    Published: December 22, 2014
    We reveal the best and worst games for each platform in 2014.