Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 82 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 1071 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Mario Kart 8 introduces new racing circuit designs and antigravity karts that will have players driving upside down. Players will also enjoy a variety of series-favorite features, including the return of 12-player online competitive play, hang-gliders, underwater racing and motorbikes.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 80 out of 82
  2. Negative: 0 out of 82
  1. Jun 12, 2014
    100
    Mario Kart 8 is a return of one of Nintendo’s most beloved franchises, and is just as chaotic as ever.
  2. May 16, 2014
    95
    Mario Kart 8 is a beast: with great track design, plenty of characters, karts, bikes and power ups is the best Mario Kart of all time. Also thanks to revamped online modes and some gorgeous graphics, is the single reason you need to own a Wii U.
  3. May 15, 2014
    90
    With some new great features added to the classic recipe, with beautiful graphics and spectacular races, Mario Kart 8 looks like the killer app the Wii U was waiting for.
  4. Jun 28, 2014
    90
    The best Mario Kart ever. All faults are forgiven when you're drifting the inside of a vertical corner. [Issue#250, p.58]
  5. May 15, 2014
    88
    It’s safe to say that this is the best Mario Kart since the SNES days, and that’s a pretty heavy statement.
  6. Sep 18, 2014
    80
    Mario Kart 8 is pretty great in many ways, but undoubtedly moreso with a collection of friends to play with, or when facing off against other players online.
  7. May 27, 2014
    70
    Despite this game’s gleaming high-definition sheen, there’s little doubt this granddaddy of the karting genre is beginning to show its age.

See all 82 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 13 out of 309
  1. May 30, 2014
    10
    Simply fantastic! Ladies and gentlemen, GO BUY A WII U FOR THIS GAME. Highly recommended for a fun gaming experience. Nothing on PS4 or XB1Simply fantastic! Ladies and gentlemen, GO BUY A WII U FOR THIS GAME. Highly recommended for a fun gaming experience. Nothing on PS4 or XB1 comes close. 10/10 Expand
  2. Jun 5, 2014
    10
    Most exciting Mario Kart game yet. New items are awesome, and maps are gorgeous. Even the online play is extremely improved. The only thing IMost exciting Mario Kart game yet. New items are awesome, and maps are gorgeous. Even the online play is extremely improved. The only thing I thought was weird is that green shells seem easier to actually hit people with, maybe I'm just getting better at playing though. Oh, and when you fall off the track there isn't an obnoxious black screen that makes it seem like you just got put to 12th place. You can also unlock things in multiplayer now, which I don't think used to be possible. I've been having so much fun with this game, even by myself! Expand
  3. Jun 6, 2014
    10
    Mario Kart 8 is perfect in every way. The graphics are marvelous, the tracks are fantastic, the online matches are insane, the items system isMario Kart 8 is perfect in every way. The graphics are marvelous, the tracks are fantastic, the online matches are insane, the items system is balanced, the Mario Kart TV is excellent. A masterpiece. Best game of my life beside "The Legend of Zelda, Ocarina of Time". Expand
  4. May 31, 2014
    10
    I love this game so much, that I made an account just to give this game a 10/10! XD The stellar game design and the amazing art direction isI love this game so much, that I made an account just to give this game a 10/10! XD The stellar game design and the amazing art direction is more than enough to warrant a perfect score from me. Well, I do have minor complaints with the game (notably the bizarre roster, the battle mode, and the online infrastructure, etc.), they're truly minuscule in face of the amazing and seemingly endless content that this game provides. It shows that Nintendo still has what it takes to make a game that stands out in such a competitive generation... here's hoping for more Nintendo magic in the future! Expand
  5. Jul 24, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Very great game. Normally I don't play Wii u games, but Mario's done it again. Customizable karts. From changing the wheels, switching up your parachute, to getting unique karts. They really raised the bar. If you think Mario Kart Wii raised the bar, buy a Wii U and experience the best Mario Kart there is. Expand
  6. Jun 7, 2014
    9
    Fantastic, fun, creative, and finally a counter to the blue shell. Need I say more? I hope for DLC characters and new tracks, but thisFantastic, fun, creative, and finally a counter to the blue shell. Need I say more? I hope for DLC characters and new tracks, but this legitimizes owning a Wii U by itself. The roster is a bit of an let down with unimaginative choices like good Mario and Peach, too many babies, and 7 Koopalings. Overall, you need this if you own a Wii U. If you don't own a Wii U, go out now and buy the MK8 console bundle. Expand
  7. Nov 8, 2014
    0
    When I first played Mario Kart 8, I had very high expectations. However I was met with the most disgusting racing game ever to be assembled inWhen I first played Mario Kart 8, I had very high expectations. However I was met with the most disgusting racing game ever to be assembled in human history. DO NOT BUY!! a waste of money. People should buy a real game, like Corey in the House for the nintendo DS Expand

See all 309 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2014

    The Best Videogames of 2014 Image
    Published: December 22, 2014
    We reveal the best and worst games for each platform in 2014.