Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 82 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 953 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Mario Kart 8 introduces new racing circuit designs and antigravity karts that will have players driving upside down. Players will also enjoy a variety of series-favorite features, including the return of 12-player online competitive play, hang-gliders, underwater racing and motorbikes.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 80 out of 82
  2. Negative: 0 out of 82
  1. Jun 12, 2014
    100
    Mario Kart 8 is a return of one of Nintendo’s most beloved franchises, and is just as chaotic as ever.
  2. May 16, 2014
    95
    Mario Kart 8 is a beast: with great track design, plenty of characters, karts, bikes and power ups is the best Mario Kart of all time. Also thanks to revamped online modes and some gorgeous graphics, is the single reason you need to own a Wii U.
  3. May 15, 2014
    90
    With some new great features added to the classic recipe, with beautiful graphics and spectacular races, Mario Kart 8 looks like the killer app the Wii U was waiting for.
  4. Jun 28, 2014
    90
    The best Mario Kart ever. All faults are forgiven when you're drifting the inside of a vertical corner. [Issue#250, p.58]
  5. May 15, 2014
    88
    It’s safe to say that this is the best Mario Kart since the SNES days, and that’s a pretty heavy statement.
  6. Sep 18, 2014
    80
    Mario Kart 8 is pretty great in many ways, but undoubtedly moreso with a collection of friends to play with, or when facing off against other players online.
  7. May 27, 2014
    70
    Despite this game’s gleaming high-definition sheen, there’s little doubt this granddaddy of the karting genre is beginning to show its age.

See all 82 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 12 out of 288
  1. May 30, 2014
    10
    Simply fantastic! Ladies and gentlemen, GO BUY A WII U FOR THIS GAME. Highly recommended for a fun gaming experience. Nothing on PS4 or XB1Simply fantastic! Ladies and gentlemen, GO BUY A WII U FOR THIS GAME. Highly recommended for a fun gaming experience. Nothing on PS4 or XB1 comes close. 10/10 Expand
  2. Jun 4, 2014
    10
    Mario Kart 8 is simply fun. The new anti gravity feature is beautifully inserted into the old tracks and the game is friarly challengingMario Kart 8 is simply fun. The new anti gravity feature is beautifully inserted into the old tracks and the game is friarly challenging (especially the online gameplay which is really fun). The gameplay itself runs smoothly along with the HD graphics. The tracks and characters are very charming. Very recommended. Expand
  3. Jun 2, 2014
    10
    I really enjoyed this game it is my favourite game from the Mario Kart series and now that they have included an item the can counter thatI really enjoyed this game it is my favourite game from the Mario Kart series and now that they have included an item the can counter that damn blue shell it is a lot more and fast paced...when your not playing 50cc But it is another Nintendo game that will test your friendship especially if you just make it first and then that damn blue shell icon appears but other then that so much fun and the characters and kart designs are just brilliant. Expand
  4. May 31, 2014
    10
    I love this game so much, that I made an account just to give this game a 10/10! XD The stellar game design and the amazing art direction isI love this game so much, that I made an account just to give this game a 10/10! XD The stellar game design and the amazing art direction is more than enough to warrant a perfect score from me. Well, I do have minor complaints with the game (notably the bizarre roster, the battle mode, and the online infrastructure, etc.), they're truly minuscule in face of the amazing and seemingly endless content that this game provides. It shows that Nintendo still has what it takes to make a game that stands out in such a competitive generation... here's hoping for more Nintendo magic in the future! Expand
  5. Jul 3, 2014
    9
    A great Mario Kart entry and my second favorite in the series. The soundtrack is amazing, the retro tracks feel fresh and new with the MarioA great Mario Kart entry and my second favorite in the series. The soundtrack is amazing, the retro tracks feel fresh and new with the Mario Kart 8 physics, the new tracks are extremely well designed and the visuals are hands down the best on the Wii U so far; seriously, this game has visuals that i personally feel are on par with Killzone Shadow Fall & Ryse: Son of Rome for some of the best visuals on a console to date. The online is also very well done.

    I also noticed that this is probably the fastest Mario Kart when it comes to pace. Lakitu is not slow as a snail as he was in the previous games and the new mechanics with the zero gravity enforce aggressive play as many of the physics have speed boosts.

    As for negatives, the roster. The roster is horribly disappointing and uninspired, especially comparing it to Mario Kart Wii and Double Dash (especially the latter). Pink Gold Peach was a completely unnecessary addition and having ALL of the Koopalings as characters are waste of space imo, 3 would have been OK and it would have opened space for other characters like King Boo, Petey Piranha & Funky Kong.

    The other negative, the battle mode. The battle mode is no longer arena based, it's now the race tracks and you go against the opponent there. No longer as strategic as the other battle modes especially now since you can no longer get another item when you are already holding another item, and not nearly as fun. Comparing this battle mode to N64's or even Double Dash's battle mode, they make it look like a complete joke.

    Besides those two flaws, this game is incredibly fun. It improved Mario Kart in almost every single way with mechanics, soundtrack, track design and visuals (seriously they look amazing) but also makes the retro feel fresh and new. Despite the slightly nerfed multiplayer mode and disappointing roster, i highly recommend this game to anyone who has a Wii U (which probably most of you already own MK8)
    Expand
  6. Dec 15, 2014
    9
    This is a great Mario Kart! This game is worth buying a Wii u for. The new anti-gravity feature would be cheap and pointless if it didn't giveThis is a great Mario Kart! This game is worth buying a Wii u for. The new anti-gravity feature would be cheap and pointless if it didn't give you a boost though. This game also doesn't have the new Mario Kart Wii power-ups. It has a good selection of retro tracks and the new ones are amazing! This game is definitely worth buying! Expand
  7. Nov 8, 2014
    0
    When I first played Mario Kart 8, I had very high expectations. However I was met with the most disgusting racing game ever to be assembled inWhen I first played Mario Kart 8, I had very high expectations. However I was met with the most disgusting racing game ever to be assembled in human history. DO NOT BUY!! a waste of money. People should buy a real game, like Corey in the House for the nintendo DS Expand

See all 288 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2014

    The Best Videogames of 2014 Image
    Published: December 22, 2014
    We reveal the best and worst games for each platform in 2014.