Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 82 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 1124 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Mario Kart 8 introduces new racing circuit designs and antigravity karts that will have players driving upside down. Players will also enjoy a variety of series-favorite features, including the return of 12-player online competitive play, hang-gliders, underwater racing and motorbikes.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 80 out of 82
  2. Negative: 0 out of 82
  1. Jun 12, 2014
    100
    Mario Kart 8 is a return of one of Nintendo’s most beloved franchises, and is just as chaotic as ever.
  2. May 16, 2014
    95
    Mario Kart 8 is a beast: with great track design, plenty of characters, karts, bikes and power ups is the best Mario Kart of all time. Also thanks to revamped online modes and some gorgeous graphics, is the single reason you need to own a Wii U.
  3. May 15, 2014
    90
    With some new great features added to the classic recipe, with beautiful graphics and spectacular races, Mario Kart 8 looks like the killer app the Wii U was waiting for.
  4. Jun 28, 2014
    90
    The best Mario Kart ever. All faults are forgiven when you're drifting the inside of a vertical corner. [Issue#250, p.58]
  5. May 15, 2014
    88
    It’s safe to say that this is the best Mario Kart since the SNES days, and that’s a pretty heavy statement.
  6. Sep 18, 2014
    80
    Mario Kart 8 is pretty great in many ways, but undoubtedly moreso with a collection of friends to play with, or when facing off against other players online.
  7. May 27, 2014
    70
    Despite this game’s gleaming high-definition sheen, there’s little doubt this granddaddy of the karting genre is beginning to show its age.

See all 82 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 14 out of 320
  1. May 30, 2014
    10
    Simply fantastic! Ladies and gentlemen, GO BUY A WII U FOR THIS GAME. Highly recommended for a fun gaming experience. Nothing on PS4 or XB1Simply fantastic! Ladies and gentlemen, GO BUY A WII U FOR THIS GAME. Highly recommended for a fun gaming experience. Nothing on PS4 or XB1 comes close. 10/10 Expand
  2. Jun 2, 2014
    10
    Ya know, I expected this game to feel like something I've already played. I remember playing the crap out of Mario Kart 64 nearly twoYa know, I expected this game to feel like something I've already played. I remember playing the crap out of Mario Kart 64 nearly two decades ago.

    But this game just feels like a fresh new acid trip of epic proportions. You'd have to be incredibly jaded to not have a blast with this game and a couple of friends.
    Expand
  3. Jun 2, 2014
    10
    It is literally the same title, same gameplay but somehow they out do themselves everytime. More Characters(like 30), same and new powerups,It is literally the same title, same gameplay but somehow they out do themselves everytime. More Characters(like 30), same and new powerups, kart customization; down to the kart, wheels and glider; a coin collecting boost for more speed during that race, ohh and also they brought back old courses; remastered and polished; and brand new ones. I only bought the Wii U for same screen multiplayer games(since it doesnt really exist anymore) like Mario Kart and Super Smash. This game is awesome and a must buy for people who actaully own a Wii U. Expand
  4. May 30, 2014
    10
    This game is fantastic. It is fast paced and has really nice graphics. I remember when video games used to be fun. This one doesn'tThis game is fantastic. It is fast paced and has really nice graphics. I remember when video games used to be fun. This one doesn't disappoint. I'm so glad I picked it up. Fed up of being disappointed at the so called "NEXT GEN" games recently. For fun factor alone, everybody that calls themselves a gamer should get this. Trust in Nintendo to deliver a game that is actually fun and not trying to scam you for more content at every damn opportunity. You'd be a fool not to get it! Expand
  5. Jul 17, 2014
    9
    Perhaps the ultimate multiplayer game. Brilliant graphics, brilliant track design, brilliant fun. The video replays of races (especially)Perhaps the ultimate multiplayer game. Brilliant graphics, brilliant track design, brilliant fun. The video replays of races (especially) against mates in slow motion is a joy to behold. Too good. Expand
  6. Mar 30, 2015
    9
    Mario Kart 8 is the sole reason for owning Nintendo's technically super crap console. The graphics are crisp and beautiful, the game play isMario Kart 8 is the sole reason for owning Nintendo's technically super crap console. The graphics are crisp and beautiful, the game play is amazingly fun, I have very little complaints about this game. Expand
  7. Mar 20, 2015
    0
    Do you really wanna play a game that prizes the worst players? That what happens in ALL mario kart games, and speceally this **** one. TheDo you really wanna play a game that prizes the worst players? That what happens in ALL mario kart games, and speceally this **** one. The last position player have better items to keep "fun factor" of the game. Come on nintendo, GFY Expand

See all 320 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2014

    The Best Videogames of 2014 Image
    Published: December 22, 2014
    We reveal the best and worst games for each platform in 2014.