Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 80 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 623 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Mario Kart 8 introduces new racing circuit designs and antigravity karts that will have players driving upside down. Players will also enjoy a variety of series-favorite features, including the return of 12-player online competitive play, hang-gliders, underwater racing and motorbikes.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 78 out of 80
  2. Negative: 0 out of 80
  1. Jun 12, 2014
    100
    Mario Kart 8 is a return of one of Nintendo’s most beloved franchises, and is just as chaotic as ever.
  2. May 16, 2014
    95
    Mario Kart 8 is a beast: with great track design, plenty of characters, karts, bikes and power ups is the best Mario Kart of all time. Also thanks to revamped online modes and some gorgeous graphics, is the single reason you need to own a Wii U.
  3. May 15, 2014
    90
    Mario Kart 8 is my favorite series entry since Double Dash, and if it gets arena battle tracks at some point by way of DLC, it will be a near-perfect package. Its vibrant visuals will hold up for years to come, ensuring that the game will withstand the test of time, and it will be a staple in my household for a long, long while.
  4. Jun 28, 2014
    90
    The best Mario Kart ever. All faults are forgiven when you're drifting the inside of a vertical corner. [Issue#250, p.58]
  5. 89
    There is no doubt that Mario Kart 8 is a great game, plain and simple. With the power of the Wii U at their disposal Nintendo has been able to create some really great looking tracks, add a lot more racers for you to compete against, and there is a fairly robust local and online multiplayer component for fans to enjoy.
  6. Jun 12, 2014
    80
    If Super Mario 3D World wasn't enough to make the Wii U that much more of an enticement, this game, now the golden yardstick by which all future Mario Kart titles will be measured, just might do the trick.
  7. May 27, 2014
    70
    Despite this game’s gleaming high-definition sheen, there’s little doubt this granddaddy of the karting genre is beginning to show its age.

See all 80 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 11 out of 203
  1. May 30, 2014
    10
    Simply fantastic! Ladies and gentlemen, GO BUY A WII U FOR THIS GAME. Highly recommended for a fun gaming experience. Nothing on PS4 or XB1 comes close. 10/10 Expand
  2. Jun 1, 2014
    10
    I must say that, this game is perfect, I never could imagine that this graphic could be maked, it's more beautifull than even the real life, it's just amazing.

    The controls are fine, they are like every Mario Kart game, and men... the items are so much balanced, isn't a item rain like in the DS.

    I'm more than right when I give a 10 to this beautifull game... no, it's not only a game, it's art.
    Expand
  3. Jun 4, 2014
    10
    Mario Kart 8 is simply fun. The new anti gravity feature is beautifully inserted into the old tracks and the game is friarly challenging (especially the online gameplay which is really fun). The gameplay itself runs smoothly along with the HD graphics. The tracks and characters are very charming. Very recommended. Expand
  4. May 30, 2014
    10
    Non posso non dare un 10 secco.

    Il gioco è graficamente delizioso, divertente in single player (le gare 50 cc sono molto facili, ma poi
    nelle 100 cc e 150 cc la sfida c'è eccome) e divertentissimo online, dove è praticamente infinito!
    Le gare online sono serratissime e avvincenti, non vi è alcun lag, la grafica non ha nessun downgrade.

    Vale anche da solo l'acquisto della console e, con la promozione del gioco in omaggio, Nintendo ha fatto una grande mossa commerciale e va elogiata e premiata.

    Finalmente WiiU inizia a fare sul serio!

    I voti negativi sono quelli dei poveri hater sfigati, che non vedendo il titolo sulla loro console, vengono a dare un voto negativo...essi non sono veri videogiocatori, ma solo dei poveri idioti frustrati.
    Expand
  5. Jun 10, 2014
    9
    Almost perfect. There are a few niggles that prevent me from rating it 10/10, those being the following;

    You can't change kart or character
    between races, so you have to completely drop out

    You can't invite friends and party up and join online together, so one friend has to join and hope there's enough slots for everyone

    There's a bug that kicks everyone from the lobby if someone leaves without picking a course

    The Battle Mode is awful, bring back the old arenas!

    No on-screen map

    Those niggles aside it's a fantastic game and well worth buying a Wii U for, hopefully we'll see a patch to correct some of these issues and DLC to add more content in the future.
    Expand
  6. Jun 6, 2014
    9
    I need to say, im impressed! The graphics are really great! and the game its a lot of fun! Online matchs are great. i would like too see more options to chat between players before the race starts. i would like to see a way to play on tv and gamepad separately in 2 playes mode, but im really satisfied with Mario KArt 8. Thanks Nintendo! Expand
  7. Jun 30, 2014
    0
    boring. looks like a kid game, plays without any depth, poor graphics at last gen resolution. annoying soundtrack (better to mute). already played this game in the 90s...don't bother with it again. Expand

See all 203 User Reviews